We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

We only stayed here for three nights. I say only because this is the kind of place where one should stay at least a week.

Simple but spacious and clean rooms. Comfortable bed with great sheets. The double room has limited extra furniture for sitting around but that was ok, especially since we had a very large balcony with great views. Also, the main floor of the hotel has lots of comfortable areas to lounge around very comfortably. It also has a very large common terrace with lots of chairs to relax and enjoy the views.

Bathroom was clean, spacious and functional.

The entire hotel is open and airy with most rooms all on one side with a view of the sea. Large windows and open access to the terrace.

Staff were all friendly and useful.

The breakfast buffet was fine but not certainly not overwhelming. The room and the view made up for whatever I felt was missing from the offerings.

Location was great. Outside the town but not very far. The view from the side of the cliff is well worth the little walk and the limited parking availability (the hotel has a very small garage that fills up rapidly next to it).

Sorrento in general is a great place to use as a base and explore the area at your own rythm. Staying at the hotel for an entire day is something I regret not having done. It is a perfect place to just do nothing and enjoy it.

Not sure about the restaurant beyond the breakfast. There are lots of good place to eat around, so we never used the hotel to eat otherwise.

Internet connection did not work from the room (we were at the far end of the hotel) but was okay near the lobby.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foubrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    183
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
166
659
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights over Easter and were very glad we'd selected this hotel. Following the advice of others, we asked for an upper floor room. Although we did not have a balcony, we had a spectacular view of the bay of Sorrento and could go to sleep with the twinkling lights of the city below. There are huge, beautiful balconies with scenic views, as well as lovely lounge areas with views that we enjoyed using, as well. Hardly any people seemed to be using these areas when we were there. They also had a pretty "jacuzzi" on the public area terrace--really a whirlpool, not a hot jacuzzi, though, and it seemed to be more for summer dips than for April, so we did not use it. We enjoyed the tremendous breakfasts and the very helpful staff. There is parking and we ended up leaving our car in the garage most of the time, save for the two days we drove down the Amalfi Coast and around the Sorrento penn. The walk into the heart of Sorrento was easy--a ten minute walk which was very scenic (and all with sidewalk--a little farther up the hill the sidewalk ends so we were glad we selected this hotel and not one farther up the road). Staff surprised our daughter with a giant chocolate Italian Easter egg (with a surprise gift inside the chocolate egg), We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onmehols
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

We used this hotel as a base while we were geting married in sorrento, We had visited sorrento a few times and this hotel is by far the best in the town, the Staff are the friendlist we have encountered in sorrento they catered for anything we asked them for and were kissed and hugged us when we got married, even the pool attendent congratulated us, some of our wedding guests stayed with us and they were looked after and were very happy with the level of service, the rooms are always very clean and the beds are comfortable. the scenery from this hotel is the best in sorrento.
some of the reviews complain about the lack of parking but if you know sorrento, you should know its pointless driving. i highly recomend you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onmyhols48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2009

The most amazing place we have ever stayed in, built into the cliffs and over looking the bay of Naples, wonderful staff and excellent food, just minutes from sorrento town center.
will recommend to all

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquih54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2008

This is an absolutely lovely hotel, though I should warn you now that if you don't like a lot of highway traffic right under your room balcony, then make sure you get an upper level room. It is worth phoning the hotel about in advance, because this hotel is situated right on the highway leading out of town. It is a beautiful hotel with stunning views, but if you get a first floor room, all you are going to hear on the balcony is traffic passing right below you. We booked through Expedia and were really upset with the first floor room we got because of this. The staff, however, were very helpful and got us into an upper floor room the next night, which was much better.

Aside from noise issues, this really is a great place to stay. As mentioned, the views are stunning, looking over the Bay of Naples. There are beautiful sundecks where you can enjoy the views as well: one on the main level with reception that includes a small hot tub, and one on a top floor that has a small pool and snack bar. It really was lovely.

Breakfast is included and it was one of the best breakfast buffets we had in Italy. You can get pretty much anything you want: fruit, breads/pastries, eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal, you name it. You can have dinner at the restaurant in the evenings, and it is excellent food. The service at this hotel is also excellent.
Depending on the weather, breakfast and/or dinner is served on the patio or inside.

Internet service is available at a small fee.

The location of the hotel is nice, in that it is high on a cliff side with great ocean views, but it does take about 5 - 10 minutes to walk into the centre of town. I didn't have a problem with this and enjoyed that it was slightly separate from everything.

The staff are very helpful and accomodating, speak excellent english, and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable.

I would consider staying here again, provided I could get a room on the top floor.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Littlebear0023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

Have just returned, sad to say, from a wonderful holiday at the Hotel Minerva, in Sorrento. I am finding difficult to describe how wonderful our stay was. It was so good it is hard to put it into words, fabulous, magnificent, spectacular, words really fail to do it justice.

Sorrento was breathtaking, the views sensational. A classic town, with style and charm.

We usually visit France and stay in gites, so a hotel holiday was something of a new experience for us. The moment we stepped inside the Minerva, we were made to feel one of the family, A superb hotel, wonderful friendly service, fabulous food, unbelieveable views, it was all that you could wish for from a holiday, but lots more. It was simply a faultless, gorgeous holiday made even more enjoyable by the brilliant staff at the Minerva.

Thank you Nino, Antonio, Nello and everone for making our staff so enjoyable, the memory will stay with us forever and we will be back.

The Hotel Minerva, Sorrento, do yourself a favour, visit it.

Many thanks again.

Pete & Anita McDonnell

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank freedomwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

This hotel was probably as far out of town as it was comfortable to be, the walk to Piazza Tasso was 15 minutes down a slight incline.

The rooms we had were very large and clean. Ours was on the third floor (303) and had a balcony and a sea view. The view from the breakfast terrace on the 5th Floor was spectacular. I didn't even see th pool on the 7th floor.

Service was efficient and the concierge service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They even organised a minivan to pick up 8 people from Pompeii, haven taken aboard our luggage at the hotel on the last day of our trip.

They also gave good advice especially about going to Herculaneum ("Ercolano") train station to pick up a taxi to take us up to Vesuvius.

The hotel is very down to earth and unimposing which could be considered by some a disadvantage.

Nevertheless it represents excellent value and you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — The distance from Piazza Tasso
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HastingsBanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing