We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2009

This hotel is every bit as lovely as it looks and reads from it's reviews already posted. Immaculatley maintained, service is very good, our room was lovely with a great balcony. Make sure you ask for a higher up room if you can and with a balcony for sure. The jacuzzi pool is great and there's a normal pool on the roof too. We did notice that the guests were all a bit older than us (middle age +) and there was rarely anyone at or manning the bar...also the room service was a surprise as it's only from 6-9pm. We have always been used to having that option and had to trudge back into town at 930pm one night to get some dinner...anyway, cetainly not a reason to not stay there just worth a mention. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    195
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
177
691
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The Minerva is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are excellent. We were on the top floor just below the pool and the views were astonishing. From the balcony we could see Naples, Vesuvius and a picture postcard view of Sorrento. Our room was large, beatifully but simply decorated and had a large balcony with sunbeds. The pool area on the roof was spotless and it was nice to have a snack lunch there. A ten minute walk to the centre of Sorrento. Overall, a great experience. I recommend a trip to Vesuvius (not for the faint-hearted or the unfit) and to Pompeii.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidanWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Charming hotel, with good location and a fantastic view. This is the best place to stay in Sorrento! Very helpful staff, and the restaurant at the hotel is also fantastic. Our room was clean and spotless, with a huge very comfortable bed, and a georgeous view from our balcony (ask for a balcony and upper floor!). Our best holiday ever!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbearnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles, MO
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Minerva Sorrento (www.minervasorrento.com ) for six nights from May 20th until May 26th, 2009, based on Rick Steves’ recommendation and reviews in Trip Advisor. The hotel is on the main road out of town about a 15 minute walk from the town square. We had arranged for a seaview room with a balcony that had a great view of Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. The room was large and very clean. The Hotel staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. Breakfast menu offered a large variety of choices. We had dinner at the hotel on two nights when we were exhausted from sightseeing. Again, the menu offered a variety of reasonably priced items and portions were ample. The sun terrace is amazing with great seating and excellent views and it is large enough for their restaurant, bar, and a nice seating area and a small pool. Singers provided music on the terrace two evenings we were there. We would definitely recommend the Hotel for anyone seeing Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast and attractions around the Bay of Naples.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We had originally planned to stay at the Hotel Bellevue Syrene but changed to this hotel and we are so happy we did. Our room was large and lovely with a huge balcony. The view was incomparable! But I think the best part of our stay was the way the hotel employees made you feel at home and special. It was by far the best experience we had in our travels in Italy and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

I loved the restaurant and the rooftop pool was great after the 2 weeks of intense sightseeing we had been doing.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank canuckhappytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We had only 2 nights & 3 days at the Minerva, but I plan to return. It's in a gorgeous situation with fabulous views over the Bay of Naples. Rooms are comfortable (we faced the bay with a balcony to sit out on), staff are very good - professional, helpful and pleasant to deal with; food great, and it'snot too far from town.

A lovely spot to sat if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This hotel is lovely - The staff are so lovely & helpful & really friendly.
The views are superb - our room overlooked the sea & had a balcony which was fantastic....
Their pool is really nice & all very clean.
The brekkies are great - nice restaurant & again the staff just lovely - so nice having brekkie in the sun over looking such great views - worth getting up b4 10 for!
Our room was a good size & really clean.
The location is nice - about a 15 min walk into the centre which is nice - views & is a good way to try & walk off the pizza & wine!!
Sorrento isnt a beech place - they do have a odd beach but not really one i would bother with...so if your a sun worshipper then a good pool is a must & this hotel had just that!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemhlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
2,426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing