We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty hotel but don't expect a good night's sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel but don't expect a good night's sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

The main part of this hotel is beautiful - decorated in gorgeous colours and full of plants and flowers. The outside is similarly pretty, with a stunning view of mount Vesuvius. Our room was pretty with a nice little balcony and the bathroom was clean and a good size. But we didn't use the balcony because it was very close to the main road, which was constantly clogged with traffic and the accompanying noise and fumes. Our room (402) was also right next to the pump room for the swimming pool so I got very little sleep with the constant sounds of the pump and running water. It was like a having a waterfall in your bedroom. When I complained, the guy on reception was utterly uninterested, saying he couldn't move us because the hotel was full. Some of the staff were really nice (especially the waiters) but two of the receptionists were downright nasty and quite unhelpful. Food was disappointing - mainly canned fruit, which I thought was shocking considering the bounty in the local shops, UHT milk, stale bread and really nasty coffee. It's a 15 minute walk into Sorrento town centre down the busy road with a very tiny pavement so I wouldn't recommend Minerva to anyone elderly/infirm/with small kids. Oh yes and the air con is only on some of the time - not at all at night so again sleeping was nigh on impossible. And the satellite TV signal is sporadic. Not that we watched TV that much but when we wanted to it was frustrating that the signal kept going.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emilenecoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    184
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
165
662
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband and me had a great one week stay at the Minerva. The room was good sized, no frill but very comfortable furniture, great mattrasses (we like it medium-hard). The balcony (indeed a terrace) is extremely pleasant and wide (+/- 18 m²), and from there the v iew on Vesuvius, Naples, Sorrento and the sea is quite breathtaking. The room and bathroom was always spotless clean, I could comfortably venture barefoot on the tiles.
The huge terrace on reception floor was very welcoming with chairs, lounge chairs and little sofa's, I could have stayed there the whole day, just reading, sipping a drink, and looking at the view. The barman (whose name I am sorry I forgot) was a charming, smiling young man who could remember what I had ordered the day before, quite a feat since I myself had forgotten. We did not have half board, but ended up eating at the hotel restaurant most of the evenings. Professional and caring personnel, friendly without exaggeration. The menu was varied enough, and the maître offered to prepare something to our own requirements, which we did not need after all. The pool and terrace on the top floor (with a pergola for snacks) was also spotless clean and very pleasant.
At the reception Signora Antonietta and her staff were always pleasant, attentive and ready to give good advice for trips in the region. They never seemed bothered even if they were working and I just wanted a friendly chat.
The walk to Sorrento was 10 minutes to go and 15 to come back, just what we needed after an abundant supper. Anyway, the town bus service is very good with a stop just in front of the hotel.
I can pin only one negative thing. We were given a room on the second floor, and the noise from the street is too much for comfort. Luckily the air conditioning system was so good that we could sleep with closed windows, contrary to our habits. We settled it on 22° on the first day and never needed adjusting for the whole week, No noise and no blowing on our necks, quite an outstanding airconditioning system. I would recommend to insist on a higher floor. On the whole a memorable stay which I would gladly recommend. Grazie Signora Antonietta!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italybelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

With the help of a travel agent we booked this hotel two weeks before we travelled, ensuring we checked on Trip Advisor first! With awesome views over Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples, the terrace with its Jacuzzi Pool and dining room could not be faulted. With an aversion to half board to overcome, we had anticipated eating out on a few occasions but the food was so good at the hotel we didn't bother. Great choice, beautifully cooked and presented with great service. Worth having a cocktail on the terrace at sunset. If you're not sure what to choose, simply tell the waiter your preferences and he'll make something up for you! The Gala dinner was terrific with a brilliant singer doing all the Italian classics with a spot of Dire Straits thrown in for good measure. The pool on the roof top was stunning with plenty of sunbeds, umbrellas, quieter areas and a small bar for drinks and snacks. There were very few children at the hotel; mostly couples rather than families so the pool was never overcrowded. We had a room on the fourth floor with a balcony which was lovely. Rooms on the 6th and 7th floors had bigger balconies with sun beds but were not so private; so state your preference when booking. There was quite a hefty supplement for a balcony but well worth it. We had a couple of evenings of local wine on the balcony before dinner enjoying the beautiful view from our room. The bed was a little on the hard side but the room was clean and spacious and had a lovely bathroom and staff were extremely quick to respond when we had a small problem in the room. Sorrento is a beautiful town, just a 10 minute stroll away. We managed Pompeii on the train (really easy), Positano on the bus, returning by boat, (again really easy - we bought the bus tickets at Reception) and took a couple of organised tours to Vesuvius (worth the climb for the awesome views), Herculaneum (different to Pompeii and really well preserved) and to the beautiful island of Ischia where we went to a Thermal Spa - an interesting experience swimming in bath water temperatures and cooling down in the sea water pool. We would have liked to have gone to Capri but ran out of time but this was also easy to do by boat. There are plenty of bathing platforms around the hotel (10 minutes walk away and had to be paide for) if you fancy a dip in the med and a couple of very small public beaches. If you are looking for long beaches with golden sands Sorrento is not the place to go! Sorrento was quite expensive so we were pleased to have taken half board. Overall a lovely hotel which we would (and have already) highly recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

A superb hotel. We stayed here for one week but wished it could have been two, purely for the fact that there is so much to see and do here.
Because of the location of this hotel you need to enjoy walking, this involves steps and gradients, however do not let this put you off as the views from this hotel are outstanding.
We did the tour operators trips to Vesuvius and Pompei and also the Amalfi Drive, these were good value and ensured that you did not miss anything of importance. We did Capri ourselves by taking the hydrofoil from the Marina, worth doing as Capri is so pretty, however be wary of the prices on the island.
We couldn't have chosen a better hotel, exceptionally clean in all areas, the views were fantastic and meals excellent. Outstanding, friendly and professional staff who could not do enough for you. The whole experience just makes us want to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

"O Sole Mio " right below our window overlooking the bay of Naples. On Saturday and Wednesday nights they have an opera singer in the outside lounge who was amazing! What a beautiful view and an even more beautiful staff. We enjoyed to rooftop pool and had excellent recommendations from the front desk staff. The room was big and clean but simple. The hotel has a number of balcony rooms that were probably even better! We took a taxi from the train station with our luggage, but walked every other time into the town for a very brief 10 minutes. I stayed here for three nights with my 18 year old niece at the end of a 10 day tour of Italy and couldn't have been happier or more relaxed. Great choice!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpediemgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

This hotel is every bit as lovely as it looks and reads from it's reviews already posted. Immaculatley maintained, service is very good, our room was lovely with a great balcony. Make sure you ask for a higher up room if you can and with a balcony for sure. The jacuzzi pool is great and there's a normal pool on the roof too. We did notice that the guests were all a bit older than us (middle age +) and there was rarely anyone at or manning the bar...also the room service was a surprise as it's only from 6-9pm. We have always been used to having that option and had to trudge back into town at 930pm one night to get some dinner...anyway, cetainly not a reason to not stay there just worth a mention. Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

The Minerva is excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner are excellent. We were on the top floor just below the pool and the views were astonishing. From the balcony we could see Naples, Vesuvius and a picture postcard view of Sorrento. Our room was large, beatifully but simply decorated and had a large balcony with sunbeds. The pool area on the roof was spotless and it was nice to have a snack lunch there. A ten minute walk to the centre of Sorrento. Overall, a great experience. I recommend a trip to Vesuvius (not for the faint-hearted or the unfit) and to Pompeii.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidanWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing