We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise on a cliff”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“paradise on a cliff”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

What luxury coming straight from the train from Naples. We really thought we had lucked out with this hotel. We travelled with our two kids aged 9 and 11 who loved the choice of pools and watching the goings on in the ocean way down below. The restaurant and breakfast buffet were both very good. The kids grumbled a bit about the walk up the hill from town but i found it invigorating. The views from the rooms and terraces are spectacular, beds comfortable, rooms clean and furnishings modern.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogwatch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    185
    34
    13
    11
See reviews for
167
668
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This hotel really was lovely and the staff could not do enough for us. We were only going to be staying at the hotel for 3 nights but we did not want to leave so we stayed for an extra 3 nights.
The first room we stayed in (715) was amazing with a lovely balcony and views over the bay and the second was a free upgrade to the honeymoon suite, which again was beautiful.
All of the staff were so friendly and would do anything to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2009

The Minerva is a beautiful hotel, with the most stunning views over Sorrento and the bay of Naples. The staff are very friendly and helpful and will do their very best to make sure you are happy with your room. The food was very enjoyable and there was live music nearly every evening after dinner. We have been going there for many years and will continue to do so. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonnienJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Hotel Minerva was a fantastic hotel, with great food, lovely swimming pool and fabulous location. In fact, it's the location and the view that are second to none!! Even from the pool you will have an impressive view of the whole town and the bay of Naples, with Mount Vesuvius clearly seen in the distance.

The food and service was excellent. We stayed half-board and you have a good choice of food for both breakfast and dinner. One of the highlights was enjoying a lovely dinner on the terrace overlooking the bay!! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times, and always smiling!

The only downside to our stay at the hotel was our room. We booked a 4 star hotel purely to have that bit of extra space and comfort. However, upon checking into our standard room, what we got was a small, not very clean, noisy room at the side of the hotel. Our window opened out to the building next door and was very dark even during the day. When we complained, we were afforded the chance to change to an upgraded room - at an extra cost however. When we moved to a room at the front of the hotel we did get the view and a small balcony, which was great. However, the room was no bigger, and still not as clean as you'd expect. And on top of that we could hear the water in the plumbling gurgle every time somebody flushed a toilet anywhere in the block!! It was ridiculous. I should mention that both of these rooms were on the 1st floor - other rooms are more than likely much better.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aido_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The main part of this hotel is beautiful - decorated in gorgeous colours and full of plants and flowers. The outside is similarly pretty, with a stunning view of mount Vesuvius. Our room was pretty with a nice little balcony and the bathroom was clean and a good size. But we didn't use the balcony because it was very close to the main road, which was constantly clogged with traffic and the accompanying noise and fumes. Our room (402) was also right next to the pump room for the swimming pool so I got very little sleep with the constant sounds of the pump and running water. It was like a having a waterfall in your bedroom. When I complained, the guy on reception was utterly uninterested, saying he couldn't move us because the hotel was full. Some of the staff were really nice (especially the waiters) but two of the receptionists were downright nasty and quite unhelpful. Food was disappointing - mainly canned fruit, which I thought was shocking considering the bounty in the local shops, UHT milk, stale bread and really nasty coffee. It's a 15 minute walk into Sorrento town centre down the busy road with a very tiny pavement so I wouldn't recommend Minerva to anyone elderly/infirm/with small kids. Oh yes and the air con is only on some of the time - not at all at night so again sleeping was nigh on impossible. And the satellite TV signal is sporadic. Not that we watched TV that much but when we wanted to it was frustrating that the signal kept going.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emilenecoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband and me had a great one week stay at the Minerva. The room was good sized, no frill but very comfortable furniture, great mattrasses (we like it medium-hard). The balcony (indeed a terrace) is extremely pleasant and wide (+/- 18 m²), and from there the v iew on Vesuvius, Naples, Sorrento and the sea is quite breathtaking. The room and bathroom was always spotless clean, I could comfortably venture barefoot on the tiles.
The huge terrace on reception floor was very welcoming with chairs, lounge chairs and little sofa's, I could have stayed there the whole day, just reading, sipping a drink, and looking at the view. The barman (whose name I am sorry I forgot) was a charming, smiling young man who could remember what I had ordered the day before, quite a feat since I myself had forgotten. We did not have half board, but ended up eating at the hotel restaurant most of the evenings. Professional and caring personnel, friendly without exaggeration. The menu was varied enough, and the maître offered to prepare something to our own requirements, which we did not need after all. The pool and terrace on the top floor (with a pergola for snacks) was also spotless clean and very pleasant.
At the reception Signora Antonietta and her staff were always pleasant, attentive and ready to give good advice for trips in the region. They never seemed bothered even if they were working and I just wanted a friendly chat.
The walk to Sorrento was 10 minutes to go and 15 to come back, just what we needed after an abundant supper. Anyway, the town bus service is very good with a stop just in front of the hotel.
I can pin only one negative thing. We were given a room on the second floor, and the noise from the street is too much for comfort. Luckily the air conditioning system was so good that we could sleep with closed windows, contrary to our habits. We settled it on 22° on the first day and never needed adjusting for the whole week, No noise and no blowing on our necks, quite an outstanding airconditioning system. I would recommend to insist on a higher floor. On the whole a memorable stay which I would gladly recommend. Grazie Signora Antonietta!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italybelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herfordshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

With the help of a travel agent we booked this hotel two weeks before we travelled, ensuring we checked on Trip Advisor first! With awesome views over Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples, the terrace with its Jacuzzi Pool and dining room could not be faulted. With an aversion to half board to overcome, we had anticipated eating out on a few occasions but the food was so good at the hotel we didn't bother. Great choice, beautifully cooked and presented with great service. Worth having a cocktail on the terrace at sunset. If you're not sure what to choose, simply tell the waiter your preferences and he'll make something up for you! The Gala dinner was terrific with a brilliant singer doing all the Italian classics with a spot of Dire Straits thrown in for good measure. The pool on the roof top was stunning with plenty of sunbeds, umbrellas, quieter areas and a small bar for drinks and snacks. There were very few children at the hotel; mostly couples rather than families so the pool was never overcrowded. We had a room on the fourth floor with a balcony which was lovely. Rooms on the 6th and 7th floors had bigger balconies with sun beds but were not so private; so state your preference when booking. There was quite a hefty supplement for a balcony but well worth it. We had a couple of evenings of local wine on the balcony before dinner enjoying the beautiful view from our room. The bed was a little on the hard side but the room was clean and spacious and had a lovely bathroom and staff were extremely quick to respond when we had a small problem in the room. Sorrento is a beautiful town, just a 10 minute stroll away. We managed Pompeii on the train (really easy), Positano on the bus, returning by boat, (again really easy - we bought the bus tickets at Reception) and took a couple of organised tours to Vesuvius (worth the climb for the awesome views), Herculaneum (different to Pompeii and really well preserved) and to the beautiful island of Ischia where we went to a Thermal Spa - an interesting experience swimming in bath water temperatures and cooling down in the sea water pool. We would have liked to have gone to Capri but ran out of time but this was also easy to do by boat. There are plenty of bathing platforms around the hotel (10 minutes walk away and had to be paide for) if you fancy a dip in the med and a couple of very small public beaches. If you are looking for long beaches with golden sands Sorrento is not the place to go! Sorrento was quite expensive so we were pleased to have taken half board. Overall a lovely hotel which we would (and have already) highly recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: Via Capo 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minerva Sorrento
Minerva Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing