We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it- only one thing dissapointing...”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it- only one thing dissapointing...”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Me and my family aged 47,45,14,16 stayed in hotel Belair from the 15th July to the 25th. We had an AMAZING time. Food in the hotel is brilliant nd just as good as the food elsewhere in sorrento. Although if you have young kids the menu may not be suitable for them as it offers each night different mains and starters that are quite sophisticated. However, the staff are the moat friendliest people you will ever meet! And if you don't like the meal they will change it with no hassle and you can also ask for things for your main such as spaghetti carbonara, or just bolognese. One night I couldn't decide between smoked cheese and veal in the end I decided to go with the veal but when I got my veal the waiter said he put both the cheese and the veal on my plate! This is a demonstration of how kind and nice the staff are! It is free wifi which I don't think they mention on the website, so just ask at reception when you get there about a password and username. The lunch prices are reasonable and the pizzas are great value and you can ask for anything on them for €5.50!:) they also offer sandwiches and toasties down by the pool which are the same price and taste nice. The problem with the pool is that at around 5pm all the sunbeds go in the shade. You have to get up really early to select the sunbeds that don't go in the sun till later as most of them go very quickley into the shad at around 3. The view from all rooms is stunning!! And while your eating you always have a view of vesuvious and the bay if sorrento. Another problem that really annoyed me was that the hairdryer in the room is crap it takes about 20 mins to dry your hair but the hairdryer is so weak and is on a timer of 10 minutes your hair is never dry...so please I advise to bring your own!! The cleaners and maids are always making your beds and bringing fresh towels which is brilliant! I loved this holiday too because sorrento was very nice and you can choose lively or quiet places in the town to go. The walk to the town isn't uphill or downhill and doesn't take too long but be prepared. I think it was a nice walk and you can get some exercise on the holiday after the amount of food you eat. PLEASE book this place now!! You will love it:D xxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth999118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    271
    67
    17
    6
See reviews for
158
890
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have been to Sorrento a number of times, but this hotel was the tops. The room was enormous (by Italian standards), the food was excellent and the service was first class. The only problem we had was to stopeating at the buffet breakfast where the choice for a continental breakfast was extraordinary, even Bucks Fizz one morning. The special nights were excellent in the restaurant, with two pudds!
Best of all was the magnificent view of Vesuvius and Naples Bay from the balcony (from each room).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayNailsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The ideal place for two persons not too interested in the world around - walking distance from city center, silent and peaceful. Spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and Sorrento, breathtaking and stunning. Nice restaurant where the head waitor runs a tight and clean ship, food is good and not to pricey. The swimming pool is nice and clean, very hot place in july/august, but the sun dissapears already at 1700-1730, so they close the area at 1800. The staff is extremely firendly and helpful and you can "smell" the good atmosphere with everybody working there. Wi-Fi is ok, but a little old fashioned with passwords and limits, should be free and open at all times for guest. Honeymooners and english/americans dressed up in not the latest fashion/evergreens, polite, well mannered and predictable. 5 minutes steep starways down to Marina Grande (open 1000-1800) is perfect for a swim/sun bathing - either at Tony's Beach (kids and oldtimers) or at Delfinos (excellent food and sundeck for the in-crowd). All in all an excellent anti-stress, ambient holiday at a wonderful hotel in the vibrant city of Sorrento.

Room Tip: Room with sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This hotel is superb. The view itself is worth the stay. The pool was excellent. Friendly and helpful service, clean comfortable rooms and not over-the-top expensive. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

With terrific views, friendly staff and a lovely pool I would recommend this hotel. Unfortunately though, this hotel is not great for young children. Its situation right beside a busy road could prove problematic for families with young children. Its location though, also has its benefits. Situated just outside Sorrento, this hotel gives you a nice break from the hustle, bustle and noise of Sorrento. The breakfast here is outstanding, but if you want eggs in any way shape or form, ask the waiter for them and they will cook them for you any way you request. I would easily recommend and return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theroamersofcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

What a wonderful hotel and experience! We have just returned from our 10 day honeymoon at the beautiful Belair Hotel which started on 1st July 2011. There are not enough words to describe just how wonderful this hotel is. The location just a leisurely stroll into the main town of Sorrento with stunning views along the way. The hotel - stunning, bespoke, individual, peacful, relaxing, magical with an abundance of Italian decor and charm. Truly exquisite. Perfectly located on the cliff face overlooking the magnificent Marina Grande, the mesmerising blue blue ocean and Vesuvious in the distance. ALL the staff were fantastic:) Particular thanks and praises for Monica at Front Desk who was truly lovely & so helpful and Michele, the Head Waiter & all of his team - who truly made our dining experience inforgettable - the food is second to none, we ate out a couple of times but nothing compared to the hotel food, it was exceptional and we will be returning next year for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. Thank you sooooooo much xx Louisa & Michael O'Donnell

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to discuss the room choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We went to the Belair for our Honeymoon (June 27th 2011). The hotel was fantastic, full of italian charm with beautiful decor and views. The hotel is situated facing the sea and every morning we would wake up to see little fishing boats passing by and the sun beaming into our room. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, towels were changed every other day and our bed was turned back every evening. One thing to be careful of is the mini bar in the room, its chargeable, we didnt notice the price list tucked at the back until it was too late. The staff at the hotel are fabulous, they couldnt do enough for us, especially Rossino the barman, he was full of character and fun. The food was superb, you must stay half or full board otherwise you will regret it, lots of fruit, danish, ham and cheese etc for breakfast and a good choice in the evening, note: gents must wear trousers in the restuarant during the evening!! The pool was very clean and plenty of sunbeds available during the first week but we struggled on the second week people started putting towels out at 7am however management soon put a stop to it. My hubby enjoyed the gym which was fully air conditioned and complete with bar, mmm!!!There are steps from the hotel down to the marina but dont attempt to go back up them unless you are very fit!! We went on the boat trip called the blue trip I think), it was superb, you go to Capri, Possitano and Amalfi, good value but very cramped on the boat.
I would recomend the Belair, it was fantastic, we were very sad to go home.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorraineBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing