We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as we remembered”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My wife and I first visited this hotel ten tears ago and did not mean to waIt so long before returning. One of my abiding memories of that first visit was the tremendous view from our balcony and another was the excellent service we experienced in the restaurant under the watchful eye of Michele, the head waiter. While we knew that we would see the view again we were pleasantly surprised to find Michele still there and as efficient as ever.

The decor has a quirky, romantic charm about it and the amenities are more than adequate for a comfortable stay.

The pool area is relatively small but during our stay in September we had no difficulty in getting a sunbed when required. As some other reviewers have mentioned it is important to remember that after 2 to 3 pm the pool is in shade. Although the pool is very cold I've been in colder and personally I found it very refreshing.

The restaurant food was as good as we remembered and Michele helped me choose some excellent wines.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful making our stay another memorable one. So much so that we intend not to make the same mistake twice and will visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glenif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

The best thing about this hotel was the view without a doubt. We had a cute balcony which opened over an almost vertical drop down to the shore so that there was nothing to distract us from the beautiful view. The night view of Mt Vesuvius with lights glittering around its base, and the Bay of Naples sweeping around - if it had not been so chilly in October I would have stayed there all night just soaking it up!

The room was very clean, and the housekeeping was immaculate. The only gripe was the smell coming from the drain hole in the bathroom.

Via Capo is a 10 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento but I think it is the best place for the view. There is a bus stop just outside which takes you into the town, or up along the Amalfi Coast. I have also stayed at the Hotel Minerva just opposite - to compare, the views of Belair are undoubtedly superior, the Minerva has more sun exposure on the pool and more friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zzjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We arrived in sorrento by train, not the best option! We then took a taxi to the hotel and we were greeted by a fantastic view of the sorrento coastline. The hotel was beautiful and immaculate and the staff were very friendly. A really nice place to stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank andrewdmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The views of Sorrento in the morning are just incredible and it is such a picturesque city. You could also see Vesuvius and right across to Napoli.

The property is about 1.25km from the centre of town up a hill, but we were easily able to walk that to go into town (say 20min to the main square) and the views really made up for that.

We had a great balcony. The pool and the restaurant also have great views. You can also take a 10 minute walk directly below you to the "great marina" which is actually like the quaintest possible fishing village.

There are some really nice shared spaces to be in in the hotel eg a large lounge fitted with french antique style chairs etc; another long cafe with seats right up against a window. also the top of the hotel outside bar.

We enjoyed the pool also.

The restaurant staff were really very kind and friendly. The food was good, but not exceptional, and you could certainly get better value in town. Because of the walk we did elect to eat there at night.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms roomy and well fitted out. The rooms were quiet at night.

Staying here was for me the best thing we did in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better balconies than others. we were in 209, which has a bigger balcony. there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank openeyes187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Great rooms and views with free parking and a very agreeable front desk staff!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Strick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My partner and I stayed in a double room for 7 nights. The views from our balcony were breathtaking.

The room was a very good size, and although the furnishings were a bit dated, the room was always very clean, and comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size.

Staff were very helpful, especially when we asked them to recommend restaurants. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was very good. Once again, the views from the hotel dining room, and balcony were fantastic.

The pool was a good size, but for some reason it was icy cold, eve though it was 34 degrees !

Ideally located for the town, a pleasant 10 minute walk into the centre. Access to the sea was by very steep steps behind the pool, and whilst it only took a few minutes, it was hard going walking back up.

I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penheale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just returned from the hotel Belair. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed on half board and the breakfast was good quality continental. The evening meals were very good with choices to suit all tastes on each course. The candle lit dinner on our last night was very impressive. We were on the third floor in a superior room which was very clean and had great views from the balcony across the bay in all directions.The hotel itself is a 20 minute walk down a hill in to Sorrento along a path with bus stops right outside the hotel. There is a train station which is 30 minutes walk away that we used to visit Pompei and Mount Vesuvius. The main bus station is located next door.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NEIL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £171 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing