We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
LI, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This place is all about the views. It's overlooking the bay of Naples. The room we had was a nice size. The absolute BEST part was our own private balcony that looks straight out over the bay to Mount Vesuvius in the distance. We sat outside with a bottle of wine and a chunk of cheese and chips. What fun. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy, with eggs made to order and an assortment of meats, cheeses and pastries. The staff was helpful and courteous.

The only drawback is that the location is quite a walk from the town and it's all uphill. The taxis are expensive here - from the train station with tip cost us 25 Euros.

Room Tip: It was our anniversary. We had told them when we made our reservation, and they upgraded us to a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbk1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    266
    67
    17
    6
See reviews for
155
879
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at Hotel Belair at the beginning of April - the first day or two after re-opening for the season. The views from this hotel are what I'd expect from a place double the price. Absolutely amazing views from the balcony with a very good sized room compared to the rest of Italy. The hotel is an easy walk to town and all the restaurants and shopping you could ask for. Although the train station is walking distance, plan on a good 30 to 40 minute walk to get there.

The staff here are always helpful and do all they can to make your stay memorable and speaking English was an added bonus for us! If we ever get back to Italy, Sorrento and Hotel Belair are where we'd definitely plan to spend more time. If you plan to go to Pompeii, Positano and/or Amalfi, Sorrento is a good base.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blu_h2O_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed with my family (6 total) at the Hotel Belair in the beginning of April and had the most wonderful experience. The view is by far worth the short walk into town. I was a little hesitant to stay here only because of the walk but after doing it once, it was very quick into town (maybe 5-7 minutes). The rooms had all been updated and painted, new modern decor, etc. The beds were great and all the rooms had a spacious balcony with the best view in Sorrento, seriously! We are from NY and hard to please but for the money this hotel was amazing. We only paid $118 a night on priceline which was the cheapest hotel we had for a twelve day trip all around Italy and we all agreed it was our favorite hotel. The breakfast was also fantastic! Definitely a five star breakfast with all sorts of cereal, meats, pastries, and I believe you could even order fresh made eggs. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with restaurants. We hope to return next year and spend more time here! Don't forget to try the olive oil for breakfast!! It was the best one we had throughout all of Italy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grapegrl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coppell texas usa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is delightful with a beautiful view of the ocean from our balcony. We enjoyed the peace and quiet from the hussle of the city. Yet it was an easy stroll to the city. Staff is friendly and the rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaradtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Belair Hotel. We had a lovely holiday and found the hotel to be great. The location, whilst a 15 minute walk from the center of Sorrento, had wonderful views of the bay from your balcony or terrace. Many of the hotels in the area appear to charge supplements for sea view/balcony but these seem to be standard at the Belair. The bus stops outside the hotel for routes around the penninsular and so is great for gettng about and doing some beautiful walks. As the rooms are below the road level, you are protected from the noise of the coast road. The staff will go the extra step to ensure you make the most of your stay. From the general manager, reception team, bar and restaurant staff and maids, everyone was always patient and willing to help with my many queries. .

The food is excellent and if you don't like your choice at dinner, the staff will have a long discussion about what you would prefer without it being any trouble. The barman will kindly lend you his reading glasses to choose drinks ( I forget mine a few evenings).

The sun does pass over the hotel in the afternoon but I managed to stay in the sun until 4pm by the pool - this is not heated.

The hotel achieves a high standard and "does things properly" without being too formal/stuufy. We would recend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern viginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Belair the last week in April and enjoyed the very good April rates.
We have stayed here once before, one other hotel in Sorrento, one in Amalfi, and about 20 in Europe. We stay in the 150-250 Euro price range. We were in room 309, superior room.

Overall - This is my best value hotel in Europe, great location, view, service, room.

Room - Very good sized room and bathroom. Very attractive. Overall perhaps 12 ft by 28ft, Very nice tile floor and bathroom, Safe, mini frige, new 32 in Samsung TV. Huge terrance, We requested a large
terrance on the 3rd floor and that is what we got. Room was kept super clean.

Hotel - Excellent service, Unlike some hotals in Europe or USA, they will gladly do anything
within reason to help you out. Outstanding service at the front desk, room service, and breakfest.
Other reviews have talked about the killer views, I was told by management only one room has no bacony. Breakfest is excellent, you have to ask for made to order eggs and cappicino and both are worth asking for.

Stay here, you will not be disappointed, Special thanks to Gianlucca, you are the best.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have the biggest terrances and perhaps are a bit more quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuriNorthernViginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

nice hotel couldent fault ,,staff all helpfull and pleasent ,,enjoyed our 30th anniversary there ,

Room Tip: we were in 206 nice size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing