We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Break and wow the views”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break and wow the views”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I have never written a review before but felt inclined to do so with this hotel. I booked the hotel as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday and it was worth every penny that i spent. At the last minute i upgraded to a superior room (room 104) and was so glad that i spent the extra per night. The room was huge, light and modern but with some old italian pieces (desk, chair, lights etc) that gave it an authentic feel. We were given use of a standard room to get ready in as our flight was not until late and we were so glad that we had upgraded. The reception staff had been brillaint and organised everything i asked for as a surprise i was very grateful. The view from our room was the best from the hotel it was amazing we sat on our balcony with a glass of Prosecco every night trying to memorise it for when we came back to our flat in the middle of busy London!

The breakfasts were fresh and there was a great deal of choice, the staff was so friendly and helpful in teh restaurant and bar; we had lunch twice as well and could not fault the food (i don't really now how people can complain about this at all i think they must be crackers!).

Plenty of sunbeds - all very new; nice towels given to you by the lovely pool man, some people do "save" their beds with towels which is irritating but that happens everywhere.

The much spoken about walk up and down the hill in to town on other reviews is something i wanted to comment on; yes it is noisy (sorrento is a busy town and this is the main road out of it) but seriously i do not know why this bothers people.... just look at the view on your way down or see how many people they can squish onto the front seat of the trucks its funny - enjoy it the whole walk only takes its only a 5-10 minutes!!

We took a ferry to Capri and hired a boat for the day whcih we drove ourselves round the island is was such a cool thing to do - highly recommended. You must go to teh Marina Grande one night too its as if you have stepped back in time.

We are really lucky to go on quite a few holidays so when i say this was one of my very best it truly was, we were only there 4 days and we were so sad to leave we will definitely go back and stay at this hotel, it was brilliant - go you will have a fab time.

Room Tip: Room 104 - the view is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara7883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    272
    67
    17
    6
See reviews for
158
892
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2012. It was a special occasion and we therefore wanted something a little better than average. This place ticked all the boxes. The service was excellent; the room was well furnished; and the staff friendly and helpful. It is a small family run hotel paying attention to the comfort of its guests. The food was very good and the majority of it waiter served. All guest rooms face the sea which give the most stunning views across the Bay of Naples. Additionally meals can be taken on the balcony which again overlooks the Bay. The setting is little short of magnificent. The Hotel is about 15 minutes walk to the centre of Sorrento although there is a bus stop directly outside the Hotel for those unable or unwilling to walk. Many of the guests we met during our seven day stay had been going back to this hotel year after year. Although many guests dress fairly casually most make the effort for the evening meal and the hotel requires gentlemen to wear long trousers; so expect a degree of formality. There is a gala dinner each week and many of the female guests dress accordingly. For those wanting something a little bit special this is the place to come.

Room Tip: I believe that the third floor is the most recently renovated. Some rooms have private balconies; o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMFettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Returning to the Belair probably exceeded our expectations as the staff all remembered us and gave us a big welcome back. We will definitely return again for the quality of the food, easy access to town, the friendliness of the staff and the views to die for!

I have a couple of comments which would improve it slightly - it is easy to get lost on the different staircases and a few signs would be good, you could only get the free wi-fi in some areas which was puzzling, and a shower screen rather than a plastic curtain would have improved the bathroom. These are all minor points, however, and will not put us off returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandm012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the Belair at the end of May and had a wonderful time. The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is spotless. The views are amazing and all rooms have a sea view. The pool area is small but we had no problems getting a sunbed but that may change in peak season. The only downside was that the pool was so cold that you would have to be extremely brave to go in!
Just a 10 minute stroll from the hotel to lovely buzzing Sorrento.
I would recommend this hotel for pure relaxation and stunning views.

Room Tip: I think 2nd floor would be the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This hotel is fabulous, the views are breathtaking, the food is fantastic, the staff are brilliant, helpful, attentive, nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend anyone to go, it is clean, and just a lovely place for a holiday.

Room Tip: Our room was for three and was enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil130353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

A short walk from the town centre but fantastic views and great service. Spacious and clean rooms. We got a sea view room with a private balcony with breathtaking views of the Vesuvius and the sea.
The pool is slightly small for the number of rooms so grab a lounge chair early.
The beach is a 15 min walk down the cliff.
Service was friendly and prompt.
The hotel got us a fantastic boat tour of the islands which was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ud_skr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe, cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Spectacular views. Extremely clean. Very helpful and friendly staff. The food was sometimes a little bland but on the whole very nice. 10 minute walk into town along a busy road, however, all the roads in Sorrento are busy, so it really doesn't matter.
I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. We had a fantastic holiday. Certainly on a par with the Sorrento Hilton Palace where we usually stay. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We were in room 101. Three ladies. We had plenty of room although I didn't see the suites. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crewephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing