We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, Very good and much more than "the view"”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have just returned from our holiday in Sorrento where we stayed at Hotel Belair for 8 nights. This hotel met or exceeded our expectations from the start. The price, the service, the location and the intangibles combined to make our long overdue vacation exceptional.

The view is indeed amazing. The countless photos here simply will never convey reality. I believe that every room has just about the same panorama of Sorrento and Marina Grande with Vesuvio presiding, as alway, over it all. We stayed in room 307 which was a fine Junior Suite. Our traveling companions were in 301 which, while a larger suite by a small margin, did have a primary view of the hotel pool. I believe that just about any room or suite at Belair will meet your expectations. Spotlessly clean, well stocked and above all comfortable!

We only dined at the hotel restaurant once and, while a bit formal with presentation for our tastes, the meal was good and the service very attentive by Euopean standards. Try the risotto and the ravioli, you won't go wrong. We booked Bed & Breakfast and the morning "spread" was adequate if repetitive. My wife and I did appreciate the Mimosa bar that was made available each morning and the various breads, fresh fruits, meats and cheeses along with cooked to order eggs never left us hungry as we started our day's adventures.

While Belair is located some distance from the main square (Piazza Tasso), the walk was never unbearable and we could be in Tasso in 10 to 15 minutes at the most. Sorrento is a very walkable city and we never missed having our own car during our stay. Should you choose (as we did several evenings) to walk all the way down to Marina Grande for an evening meal by the water, you may decide hiring a cab to bring you back up to Belair is worth the 20 euro we paid twice. Maybe it was the wine, maybe it was the delicious meals we enjoyed or maybe it was just that we were on vacation afterall but that seemed a small price to pay!

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, despite my very weak attempts at Italian. Mario, Monica, Francesco: Grazie mille! Your advice never steered us wrong.

Some minor issues that perhaps prevent me from a "five circle" rating start with an overall "loud" hotel. Everything is tile and stone and marble so when housekeeping starts at 8:00 each day there is really no way for even a heavy sleeper to, well, sleep. The necessary work of the housekeepers really echos throughout the hallways and rooms so if you wanted to sleep in it would be difficult.

The rooms, while kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay, were a bit tired and some of the furniture was a bit worn out. Also, if you are expecting a true "king" bed you will probably be a bit disappointed that it is two twins pushed together. I found myself sleeping "in the crack" quite often. Not a huge deal but still...

All in all we were very pleased with our choice of Hotel Belair and would not hesitate to recommend it to just about anyone. I am sure one could spend quite a bit more and probably get closer to city center and/or the sea but I seriously doubt Hotel Belair would disappoint most any traveler.

Safe travels and PEACE

Room Tip: spring for a Junior Suite if you can. The extra space and larger balconies make the choice an easy o...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belair
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. This was a perfect hotel and we could not have asked for a more beautiful view. Here is my review:

Staff: Very friendly and helpful and very knowledgeable

Room: we had a large room with a private balcony on the first floor. The first floor is the highest floor possible (other than reception) and has the best views. It looked like there were three types of balconies, private: with high walls separating the neighboring balconies, semi private: with about hip height walls separating the neighboring balconies and open balconies: where there is no wall separating you and your neighbor. The room was large with a mini living area which is nice for longer stays. The rooms also had a tub and separate standing shower.

Sleep quality: As per previous reviews you cannot sleep in in the morning at this hotel. It is very, very noisy in the morning. Our room was under the restaurant and you clearly hear every time someone moves their chair or table. As there is no carpeting, the noise does not get absorbed well. The only reason why I am not giving this hotel 5* is because of the noise level in the morning.

Location: The hotel is located about a 10-15 minute walk from the heart of Sorrento. I expected the walk to be very 'hilly' as per some reviews, but its not all. Returning back from the centre of the city to the hotel does not feel like you are even walking up hill so no worries there. There is also a bus stop right out front of the hotel which runs every 20 mins to the centre.

Other: We did not have dinner at the hotel as its a pleasant walk to the centre with many restaurants. There is a computer free for use including internet. You can book many excursions through the hotel but we decided to do our own at a cheaper rate. The hotel has evening musicians playing in the reception until about 10pm and its very nice to sit out on your balcony over looking the coast and listening to beautiful music.

Overall it was a fantastic hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnes1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at the Belair in September 2012 and were delighted with the hotel. Choosing this hotel took us over our budget – but we didn't regret a penny of the overspend. The hotel is on the seaward side of the road and below it, so traffic noise isn't a problem, but the main thing about the Belair is the fabulous view from all over the hotel. I could have spent the whole week on our balcony just watching the comings and goings in the port, with Vesuvius always in the background. The view from the dining room and its balcony is equally stunning.

We had a standard room which was quite compact but spotless, recently redecorated, and well laid out with plenty of storage.

We wanted a hotel which combined views with accessibility and this hotel is close enough to town for it to be easy to walk in during the day and back to town again for the evening, despite the narrow pavement and the traffic. It's around 15 minutes to Piazza Tasso with a gentle uphill slope on the way back (but we never walked straight there – there were far too many distractions!). It was no hardship to allow 40-45 minutes to walk to the station or the Marina Piccolo because it's an interesting walk. (That's a cautious time, but we didn't know our way and had tickets to buy.) There's a little shop on the way into town where you can buy water and pannini for trips.

We went bed-and-breakfast only following recommendations here so we only had one dinner at the hotel on a wet night. There doesn't seem to be any alternative to the 40 euro dinner which is the same menu as the half board dinner. We enjoyed the pasta and hors d'oevres, but we thought the main course was a bit bland, and would agree that the flexibility of a bed-and-breakfast booking is best. Breakfasts were good.

The best bargain all week was lunch at the hotel the day we arrived. Two plates of yummy pasta looking at the views from the dining room balcony for 6 euros each!

Note – the hotel doesn't seem to charge extra for booking tours through them – the prices they advertised were the same as the ones shown online. (We had booked direct, so we don't know whether the hotel would have added a surcharge to the bill – but even if they had, booking through the hotel would have been much easier and more reliable.)

We did the Amalfi Coast Select tour which we booked direct with Golden Tours. We were glad we'd chosen that tour even though it cost 105 euros (each!) because it was the only one that went into Positano and they use a 16 seater minibus so it can return along the Amalfi Coast drive, which the big coaches aren't allowed to do. Even so it was worth sitting on the right of the coach to see the best views while the commentary was going on and we were stopping for photos.

Having seen Positano, Amalfi and Ravello; we were surprised to find that we preferred Sorrento and were glad to be staying there. Sorrento is full of other tourists but for us that didn't detract from the buzzy sophisticated feel of the town, and with the stunning views of the bay of Naples from Sorrento we definitely weren't missing out on views.

We found the Belair through Sunvil who also offered the much more convenient British Airways flight times. It's the first time we've used Sunvil, but everything went very smoothly including the airport transfers by Mercedes and the information they gave us, which was brief but comprehensive. We would certainly use Sunvil again – they seem like a quality operation.

Did I mention the views from the Belair? Waking up to Vesuvius by sunrise with a couple of cruise liners jockeying for position in the port? Watching the fireworks, not just in Sorrento but twinkling miles away around the bay? Getting a room with a view is worth every extra penny it costs, even in this expensive town.

We can't wait for our next trip to Sorrento – and we'll definitely stay at the Belair again!

Room Tip: All rooms have the view. We liked our standard room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaydr3amer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Belair to celebrate his birthday and we couldn't have found a better place. We had a lovely spacious room with an unbelievable view over the Bay of Naples and always found the staff really friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice on the menu and the breakfast buffet really good. The decor is typically Italian which is a lovely change from all the international hotels which are the same all over the world.
I would highly recommend the Belair for couples looking for a romantic break as sitting on the terrace sipping a nightcap whilst listening to a pianist softly playing and a tenor singing is a real treat! Sorrento is busy, even in October, and the position of the hotel about 15 - 20 minutes walk from the centre is ideal. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cowsallowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Belair on the last two nights of our fourteen day tour of Italy. In all honesty, If we had started at The Belair, we may never have left to visit any other city. It was by far the most wonderful, friendliest and most romantic of all the hotels we stayed. We had a lovely complimentary bottle of Champagne waiting for us ... as it was our honeymoon. The room was spacious, the service was beyond incredible ... and the view of the Bay of Naples is breathtaking. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here on every visit we make to Sorrento ... and we will definately be back. The restaurant was inviting and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. The evening entertainment in the lounge was a special treat! I can't mention enough that the service staffs are eager to please and should be commended at every level. The pool looked inviting, but we really did not have time to enjoy it. Although we visited in October, it was very warm and wished we had brought lighter clothing (most others were in shorts and sandals). The hotel is located a little out of the hustle and bustle of the City, which is great! A short ten minute walk took us into the city shopping area and another ten minutes to the water front. If you ever have the opportunity to visit the southern areas of Italy, make the Hotel Belair the place you begin and end your visit. It is romantic, it is beautiful and it is welcoming. You will love it here!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!!! We stayed in #210 and could not have been happier. The only suggestion...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband & I stayed at Hotel belair for 10 days on our honeymoon in August 2012 and we really fell in love with the place!

Some say that the decor is outdated, however it is very Venetian/Italian styled. All the floors are tiled to help control the heat. Our room was very spacious & our bed was the biggest size imaginable. We had a small balcony which over looked the whole bay of Sorrento...gorgeous!! We noticed that room cleaning happened sometimes twice a day which was convenient. There was also a TV in our room, but as you can expect it was all in Italian.

The amenmities were just perfect - the pool was clean and there were plenty of deck chairs available. The location of the pool was just right as it caught the morning & afternoon sun. The main restaurant served the most amazing food - highly recommended. They also have a opera singer there on Sunday nights.

The hotel staff & reception staff were very friendly and were able to help us with general tourist queries. The breakfast staff were really lovely too - I've read some reviews about them being very quiet/snobbish, but if you just speak to them & draw them out then they are very pleasant. Breakfast was very Italian...a lot of meats, cheeses, bread & cakes, can't complain!!

The walk into the main town is roughly 10 minutes from Hotel belair, and it's very scenic.

The only issue I would bring up is that the chairs from the restaurant do make a loud scratching noise which can be heard if you are staying on level -1.

I'd recommend this hotel to couples who are looking for the full Italian experience with the comfort of a great hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on level -1
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahHarrisWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Fantastic quiet location within easy walking distance of main Sorrento cafes etc. Beautiful views from every room, clean spacious rooms and pool area. Friendly and incredibly helpful staff. Good breakfasts, very reasonably priced bar. Only drawbacks would be no direct sunlight on balconies or pool after lunchtime, and if you're in the rooms directly under the terrace the scraping of chairs at breakfast can be quite loud.

All in all though a very good hotel where you feel welcome and comfortable, would come back happily. View is pretty outrageous!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank A E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,617 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £149 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing