We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Idylic days”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Hotel Belair has wonderful views across the bay from the bar, the restaurants and all the rooms.

The rooms were of a good size and the beds especially comfortable.

For 5 days the clientelle helped the ambience of the place, primarily couples but not exclusively so, who were friendly and socialable, but above all respectful of the other guests

The staff, like so may Italian hotels are first class. Very friendly and extremely helpful. Mario in the restaurant was exceptional, he even stood in as barman on his day off when the usual barman couldnt make it in.

The breakfasts provide something for everyone. From cereals, fresh fruit, fresh bread, eggs, bacon to cakes &tarts. Coffee, tea, fruit juices.

We were on half board and the Hors d'oeuvres gave such a wide choice and represented a meal in itself. After consumming this you still have 3 more courses to go! Eaten far to much!

I have read the comments about reserving sunbeds but it wasnt a huge problem at any stage during our 2 weeks stay. We always got 2 beds in the sun.

I note some have said the walk is more than 15 minutes. I didnt time it but it cant be much more. It is a leisurely stroll, slightly uphill coming back but hardly Everest.

I entitled this review 5 Idylic days (even though we stayed 2 weeks) so here is the significant down side of our stay.

Sorrento in general is relaxed and not a 'wild' party place. The clientelle are genteel and generally, although not exclusively so, older. Unfortunately, for our final week or so the hotel was taken over by a large group attending a wedding. They had no respect for anyone or their surroundings. They also had no volume control. Shouting to one another even when close by and hollering up to the rooms from the pool. Totally spoiling things for others but also seemed oblivious.
They even boasted about leaving a bar in the town without paying. Shocking!
They were 18-30 holidaymakers but i refer to weight not age. Most had tattoos, and that was just the women!
The hotel in my opinion should not allow groups of 25/30. I am certain they will fill the place with couples, friends and small family groups. It is a small discreet hotel afterall.

Frankly it took the edge off our holiday and unless the hotel could guarantee there would be no large groups then i wouldnt return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinerGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Belair has a fantastic view across the bay of Naples. The service was excellent. The rooms are nice. But the food, in our opinion was below that of a 4* hotel and, surprisingly, not particularly Italian. The major drawback is that although the hotel claims to be a 15 - 20 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento, this is very optimistic in July when the return walk is uphill for the last three quarters of a mile. The proximity to the centre of the resort, from where everything happens, definitely warrants a courtesy bus, which other hotels provide from just a couple of hundred yards further up the hill. The local bus service which runs past the hotel "every 20 minutes" is very unreliable and we experienced waits of 45 minutes and 50 minutes the only 2 times we endeavored to catch the bus. The result for us was that most evenings were spent on the hotel terrace, which brings as back to "The Belair has a fantastic view across the bay of Naples"

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful view, but avoid rooms on level 3 which have balconies with table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deltranet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Really good value for somewhat expensive sorrento. Breakfast terrace with most stunning views of the bay. Lovely fresh fruit and tasty fresh bread. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Good helpful advice!! Good sized room and balcony, again with amazing view. Very overlooked by other balconies. Small pool often crowded, but steep stairs down to marina grande is much better for swimming anyway. Short walk into town and nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Would definitely stay again if we returned.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbbieLightbulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel was a pricey stay but worth it for the views. We had a huge terrace (room 212) the room was very clean and well appointed. The service was good, staff was friendly. It did seem that the hotel catered to older clientele. The pool closed at 6 which we felt was rather early. We had been traveling along the Amalfi coast for 12 days and just wanted to lay at a pool all day and relax. The pool is interesting in that people go out and reserve their chairs early (even though you are not supposed to as there are signs stating this). If you plan on using the pool make sure you get there early during high season or you won't have a chair.You need to make sure you get a towel from the front desk (1 euro per towel per day, if you don't mind reusing your towel just hang it up on your balcony) The pool attendant is very nice and helpful and you can order food and drinks while you relax by the pool. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from town which we didn't think was a big deal but some people may not enjoy this. We felt the view of Sorrento was well worth staying on Via Capo. I really can't give this hotel a bad rating other than the fact that they do not prevent people from reserving their chairs at the pool. Our room had breakfast included which was lovely- with made to order coffee, fresh fruit and pastries. A lovely stay overall. I would highly recommend room 212 if you can get it. The terrace is huge.

Room Tip: room 212 had a very large terrace with table and chairs as well as 2 chaise lounges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopgirl1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for a week half board in July 2013 with Thompson. Hotel couldn't have been better and we are keen to come back. Rooms exceptionally clean and the whole hotel spick and span and very well looked after, have seen some reviews commenting on the decor - it's not "modern" it's true but has lots of character and we loved it. It would be a great shame to change it. Every room and the bar, restaurant and pool have breathtaking views across Sorrento and the bay. Staff were lovely, food great, pool lovely. The walk into town is about 10-15 minutes along the road (theres a narrow pavement) or 5-10 mins down the steps from the pool bar to Marina Grande, but without the walk you wouldn't get the amazing view!!

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views and a balcony and all face the bay so get morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Belair in July 2013 and we wish that we would have stayed longer! upon arrival we were a little confused because you dont see the actual hotel. From the street its an elevator inside of a glass room. To our surprise the hotel is built into the cliff and offers the best views around! We took the elevator down into the lobby and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was very nice and had a comfortable bed. The balcony and view is amazing! Hotel belair left a bottle of champagne and a congratulations note for our honeymoon and we enjoyed it on the balcony looking at Sorrento and the volcano! There is about a 10-15 minute walk into the center of Sorrento but it wasnt bad at all. The location is quiet and the view is worth the walk. The breakfast was great and the staff was very professional! Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Every room has a balcony with the same view. The upgraded rooms had a bigger balcony but the normal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VinnyH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

As everyone says, Superb view. Very helpful staff, particularly Monica on reception, example, we booked a trip to visit Herculaneum on line(expedia) which meant we would need to catch the bus in the town centre early in the morning, so Monica phoned them and got them to pick us up from the Hotel. We decided to book the rest of the trips through her.
Food is good at the Hotel too. I'd highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book a superior room. It's worth the extra. The balcony was massive with sun-loungers plus tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £159 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set on the cliff tops and a 15-minute walk from the centre of Sorrento, Hotel Belair offers an outdoor pool, à la carte restaurant and elegant-style accommodation with a sea-view balcony. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing