We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this beautiful hotel!”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved this beautiful hotel!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My partner booked this hotel as a surprise holiday for my 21st Birthday in June this year. I had read all the good reviews on here and was so pleased that the hotel lived up to and exceeded my expectations. The staff very extremely helpful and chatty and the whole hotel was so clean and tidy. The view from the room and restaurant were completely stunning and the pool was a great place to chill- although get down their early to grab a sun lounger- they soon get reserved. The hotel itself is only a 10 minute walk from the town centre and has a lovely little harbor below it with a nice selection of restaurants. The main thing people seem to mention is that the main age range of hotel visitors is OAP's, which is quite right, but actually if your looking for a relaxing and quiet (no kids!) holiday then this is for you! The best thing to do locally is the excursion to Capri (book it through reception) they pick you up from your hotel and take you and a few others on a private boat tour around the island- you get the chance to swim in the sea and then get some time to explore on the island! I would absolutely recommend this hotel and really hope to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    274
    70
    17
    6
See reviews for
161
903
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

the pictures do not give this hotel justice!
the rooms are stunning, very clean and typical italian decor. the balconys are fantastic with one of the best views i have ever had on holiday. \the service was great - all staff were eager to help and they even gave us a bottle of champagne when they heard we were recently engaged.
the location is great - 10 minute walk down to sorrento. its better being just outside of the town, its far quieter and more relaxed - the town is a bit touristy and busy. the views are also better by being on the cliff as well.
the breakfast was great, lots to choose from and all of great quality. the only thing i could comment on is the lack of lunch/snacks throughout the day. when we tried to order a sandwich the staff replied saying i wouldn't get one here, the food is horrible'. this gets a little annoying when youre sat by the pool all day and get hungry - walking into town in the heat gets a little frustrating.
in addition - the pool size is small with sun beds getting taken up quickly. by 3pm shade covers the pool area however this isnt all bad and gives you an excuse to get up and do some sight seeing.

Room Tip: ask for one away from the pool - we were just above it and felt a little encroached on. all rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My son and I stayed at the Belair Hotel Sorrento from July 23- July 31, 2013. This is our third visit to the hotel and will not be the last. We had a beautiful room overlooking the Bay of Naples. The staff of the hotel from the manager(Francesco) - and the rest of the office staff - Monica and Gianluca were terrific!

But the attentive service begins there and continues with Lillo and Stefanno - who will provide whatever you need around the pool - and my favourite porter Tonino!
Also, the restaurant staff made my son's birthday very special - thank you Michelle who runs the restaurant! - the hotel had a singer as we dined on the night of his birthday - they provided a delicious chocolate nutella cake and to top it off there were fireworks on the night of his birthday.

I cannot mention all of the staff member's by name - but there service is very much appreciated.
My son and I, took the advice of the office staff and hired a boat for the day, and went on a tour of Capri and the Amalfi coast - it was a fabulous adventure!!! thank you - Hotel belair staff!!!

Robert

Room Tip: Follow the advice of the hotel Manager - Francesco
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casuccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Whilst our son holidayed in Ibiza, my wife and I decided to tick off one entry from our 'bucket list', namely, visit Pompeii and Herculaneum. Sorrento seemed the obvious resort to stay to do this. We decided on the Belair having read reviews and we are delighted with this decision.
The views across the Bay of Naples, every bedroom has a sea view I believe, are gorgeous with Sorrento in the foreground and Vesuvius across the sea.
The staff, from reception to restaurant to bar staff to chamber maids and porters, are exceptional.
The food is excellent. The pool is small, but big enough, and refreshing.
I should say that the hotel is not suitable for children, with no activity programme, but that suited us perfectly on this occasion.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms have sea views and so have superb views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel Belair from 2nd to 8th August; we booked through Thompson’s Holidays.
By the time we arrived at the hotel it was quite late, but the dining room had been kept open for us and other travellers from Glasgow so we were able to have something to eat without leaving the hotel. We appreciated this very much.
Our room was lovely with great views across the bay to Naples and Sorrento. The room was immaculate and very spacious. The room was cleaned each day and the cleaner always ensured we had plenty of towels etc. At night our room was also given a quick tidy and towels again replenished.
The food at the hotel was fantastic with plenty of choice and the staff in the restaurant were extremely nice and very friendly as were all the other staff we spoke to during our stay. Nothing was any trouble to anyone and everyone should be very proud of the customer service they provide.
The walk into town is about 10 minutes and even in the extremely high temperatures at the time we were there, none of us found it a problem.
The other guests at the hotel were lovely and it was a pleasure to meet so many nice people. Particularly appreciated was the number of people who congratulated my son on passing his exams, which we just heard about during our stay.
Thank you to all at Hotel Belair. We had a great holiday and this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We are already looking forward to coming back next year.

McCallum Family
East Kilbride

Room Tip: All room have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snowbound50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Hotel Belair has amazing views across the bay of Naples and Mount Versuvius . The rooms in the Belair are decent sized and traditionally decorated but with a few modern touches. Service our party received was first class and staff catered to our every need and want . Being in Sorrento for a wedding reception we couldn't have asked for any more from the Belair staff , The food in the hotel was outstanding and really couldn't be faulted. In general the clientelle the Belair attracts is of the older category but with our stay we found some guests to be very highly strung and extremely rude . One particular couple that we came across sat at the pool everyday with faces like snarling Rottweilers and would huff about the young kids in the pool being too loud ( obviously they don't have kids of there own) and male in this couple complained about every small detail but we never let this ruin our stay and to show how much of an imbecile this male was he sat in the pool with a kindle and complained when another guest splashed a small amount of water onto it when stepping into the pool by accident , anyone with common sense would clearly keep electronics away from the pool and may I add that the women in this couple wasn't much better and would also moan at every opportunity and would look down her nose(may I add that she had a nose like Frank Bruno on his worst night ) at other guests for maybe talking a few decibels higher than she thought was exceptable

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marcdonnelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We used Trip Advisor in the planning stages of our holiday and found that some reviews of hotels sounded false so we wanted to share our experience of the lovely Hotel Bel Air...

We stayed in room 101 for the first three nights of our trip in Italy and were blown away by the beautiful sea view. The room was spacious, stylish and clean, and came with a balconette area- perfect for reading a book and admiring Sorrento town. The staff were very friendly and helpful- special thanks to Monica who advised us on the best local restaurants and our day trip to Capri! Breakfast was served on a balcony overlooking the sea and offered fresh fruit, pastries and authentic Italian coffee. For dinner, try nearby eateries such as La Fenice and a tucked away Pizzeria that doubles up as a bowling alley for fresh, stonebaked pizzas. Hotel Bel Air was the perfect way for us to unwind and get into the holiday! Thanks guys!! x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alg_and_Els
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing