We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for 3 days for our 10th wedding anniversary. We could not fault the service from our check in when someone came to our car to help with our bags to the excellent waiters at breakfast, including the head waiter who served us on our special day and had a lovely cake for us as a surprise. We would like to especially thank Michele, Gianluca and Monica for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    274
    70
    17
    6
See reviews for
161
903
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

A perfect location for a romantic getaway for couples particularly if you want to spent lots of time in your room and enjoy a drink on the balcony with spectacular views during the day and at night. The staff were efficient and professional. The view from the breakfast balcony is wonderful. Well located for best views of town across the ocean. just a 10 min walk down the hill into town a bit more energy required on the way back up hill. Would return for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaySpaCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crewe, cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Writing this from the balcony, waiting to check out, been here for ten days and not found a fault, staff exceptional, friendly, helpful and extremely courteous, the dining room staff rate a special mention, mario, luigi, guiseppe, michael the maitre d is so professional, very lucky to have staff of this calibre.

will definitely return to this lovely hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Amazing hotel. Staff incrediably attentive and very helpful. Room very large and overlooking the bay! Best views of Sorrento can only be seen from the top of the hill where the Belair hotel is located. Easy stroll to the town. Bus outside the hotel which was useful if you were tired in the heat and did not want to walk the 1/2 mile from the centre of town.

Pool was fantastic and plenty of sunbed. No towels were allowed to reserve spaces and the hotel actually removed towel of customers if they were not using the sunbeds. I could go on an on about this hotel, many clients have returned time and time again, I understand now why.

Fab place and highly recommended! Everything about the place was perfect!

Room Tip: We had a room in the 3rd floor which I requested weeks before the visit, just over the pool and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I spent a week here at the beginning of September.

First of all - location. Truly breathtaking views from all levels of the hotel, over the town of Sorrento, across the Bay of Naples and over to Vesuvius. If there is a better view from a hotel in Europe,then it must be exceptional to beat this.
The hotel is built into the side of a cliff and is a 15 minute walk down a gentle sloping but busy road into the town.However , and this is my first BUT - all the balconies in the hotel are in shade by noon, the terraces an hour later, and the pool by 3pm, by which time the whole hotel is in shade. Therefore if you are a sun worshipper, you will need to make outside hotel arrangements for most of the second half of the day. Having said that, there are loads of fantastic places within easy reach to visit - Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii,Herculaneum ( a must), etc etc

Second - the hotel itself.Immaculate and very well maintained, and beautiful dining rooms and terrace area for meals and, lunches and drinks.

Third - the staff. Without exception, very helpful, courteous and professional, nothing too much trouble for any of them.

Fourth - the rooms. We stayed in a junior suite - room 307. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and had a wonderful terrace and views. However and this is my second BUT - It had a locked inter-connecting door with room 308.Unfortunately it soon became apparent that normal sounds and voices could clearly be heard and at approximately 10pm I went to reception to ask for another room. I agreed to leave this until the following morning. As it turned out we had a very peaceful night's sleep. The following morning reception phoned me to inform me that "technicians" would be working to make the interconnecting door more sound proof. I didn't see what the technician did as the work they did was on the other side of the door in room 308. However I know bit about soundproofing and knew that the problem would not be fixed by an hour or so's work. Although we didn't get to discuss the issue with our next door neighbours, I think both of us made the best of an unsatisfactory situation and took consolation in the remarkable views from the terraces.Third BUT - our junior suite was a right hotch potch of a layout. Comfortably appointed but had 2 armchairs facing the fridge, with the TV facing nothing ( not that we watched it). My impression was that thisroom has been altered at some point and been left the way it was . It couldn't possibly have been intentionally designed the way it is.

Fifth - the food. The hotel provides a very good continental buffet breakfast with a wide variety from which to choose. We had the occasional lunch ( which was extra to our HB terms) on the terrace and again there is a wide choice reasonably priced ( more on drinks prices below).
However and this was my biggest BUT - I was distinctly underwhelmed by the dinner experience. This is waiter served.There was nothing wrong with the quality of the food. In fact the soups were delicious. The variety offered for starter and main courses was also perfectly satisfactory.The first problem was the quantity of food served on the main courses. Now, I understand that a well run hotel will have a price per weight of food policy. However this is clearly set too low here.The amount regularly served was no more than a child's portion. consisting of a plated meat, fish dish etc with 2 very small portions of vegetables.( I should have complained but didn't want to sound like Oliver - "please may I have some more sir ?" !)The second problem with dinner was the choice offered for dessert, which amounted to no more than ice-cream, fruit salad or thinly sliced cake.
Given the beautiful setting of the dining room, the actual food experience was a real let down.You will not put weight on, however, from the dinners here !

I may have emphasised the negatives at this hotel. However I notice that enough reviewers have praised it's fine qualities, with which I would agree.Given that there is always room for improvement, wherever you stay, it is important that future intended guests are aware of the full picture.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

What a fabulous place. Our room (and I believe all rooms) have a balcony overlooking the sea, big doors that you can leave open to bring the view inside, and spacious accomodations. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the free breakfast tasty, and the walk to town only a couple minutes (if you are in town you have less of a view than being on the hills). Just delightful. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a wonderful 1 week vacation at the Hotel Belair in late July. We had a 3rd floor room, with a large balcony and a fantastic view! Every moment we could we spent on the patio/balcony viewing Mt. Vesuvius and Sorrento! The staff was beyond friendly...so nice and accommodating. The breakfast was perfect and again, what a view from the restaurant! The wait staff were enjoyable to talk to and looked like they really enjoyed their work!
We did take the treacherous steps down to the water from the hotel, which was fun, but challenging on the way back up. The walk from Sorrento to the hotel was a little tough uphill at then end of a day of sightseeing, but we got so much exercise we could eat whatever we wanted during the day! It was nice at the end of the day to go back to this oasis on top of the hill away from the activity of the town. If you want to treat yourself, this is the place! Thank you, Hotel Belair!

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a 3rd floor room with large balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdpk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing