We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and staff”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is great,
Excellent location away from all city center, but just about 15 minutes walk.
Room was great and very comfortable, breakfast in excellent and the dining room is overlooking the sea.
Not expensive, excellent staff. Free parking and WIFI.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple (38 & 42) and had a lovely holiday.

Negatives:
-for the standard of hotel a welcome pack would have been nice. Bottled water and fruit for example.
-the hotel descends into shade around 3pm. Clearly they can't do anything about this but something to note if you're a sun bather
-depending on your age/fitness it is a walk out if town. For us it was worth it and without this you would lack the views.
-I personally thought the hotel was expensive. We had a junior suite and transfers included with 10 nights HB. £3600 for a couple was very expensive.

Positives
- yes fab views over the bay
- Pompei is truly amazing
- lovely walk into the town
- trips to Capri , Amalfi, and Ravello are well worth it

Overall a lovely first visit to this part of the world.

However, unlike the many who clearly do I wouldn't rush back. Nothing specifically but just couldn't put my finger on it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1975richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Perched on a cliff overlooking the bay, on a clear day you can see Mount Vesuvius in the distance. The décor is typical Italian Sorrento-style with ornate tiles everywhere. Our standard room overlooked the bay and was clean and nicely furnished - not overly so. The pool area was small. However we never had a problem finding a spot at the pool. The dining rooms were well appointed and the breakfast was plentiful. One had the option of sitting out on the patio as well for breakfast - spectacular! The service from check-in to departure, was friendly and efficient, particularly the wait staff in the dining room. The walk to downtown, while a little longer than other hotels, was an easy stroll. Definitely recommend the Belair!

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms are good, if it's a view you are after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_regular_traveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Had a wonderful time in sorrento topped off with my stay at the hotel belair ithe views from the rooms over the bay are so special. We stayed in a standard room all of which are sea facing and viewed some of the more superior rooms all of which were spotlessly clean. We were loaned a small kettle for the room which are standard in the superior rooms and ought to be inall rooms but that was our only negative comment. The hotel is up on the cliff on the south of the bay and as a result the sun hides in the late afternoonbehind the mountain resulting in the pool being in the shade but allin all a superb stay enhanced by the lovely staff who were adorable

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutty2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have just returned from having a superb time at the Belair. with our son and his fiance.
The hotel staff were very friendly helpful, and cheerful. The waiters ( under the supervision of Michele ) were especially attentive and amusing- and they made our stay very special.
And of course you have the view- a spectacular Vesuvio sleeping in the distance, the light changing constantly , so look away and you have missed it. A thunder storm over the volcano is quite something!
Dispite the Belair being on a busy road, due to its position it is surprisingly quiet.The boats in the bay are heard rather than traffic.
The hotel is near enough to the town to walk to on an evening to experience the low key night life, but far enough out to be quiet. The road is busy and the path narrow but just take your time.
The food was lovely, having breakfast on the terrace is quite special.
We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for 3 days for our 10th wedding anniversary. We could not fault the service from our check in when someone came to our car to help with our bags to the excellent waiters at breakfast, including the head waiter who served us on our special day and had a lovely cake for us as a surprise. We would like to especially thank Michele, Gianluca and Monica for making our stay such a memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triposo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

A perfect location for a romantic getaway for couples particularly if you want to spent lots of time in your room and enjoy a drink on the balcony with spectacular views during the day and at night. The staff were efficient and professional. The view from the breakfast balcony is wonderful. Well located for best views of town across the ocean. just a 10 min walk down the hill into town a bit more energy required on the way back up hill. Would return for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaySpaCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £161 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set on the cliff tops and a 15-minute walk from the centre of Sorrento, Hotel Belair offers an outdoor pool, à la carte restaurant and elegant-style accommodation with a sea-view balcony. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing