We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, helpful, friendly, amazing view, lovely breakfast, facilities brilliant”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, helpful, friendly, amazing view, lovely breakfast, facilities brilliant”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Stunning view of Bay of Naples and sorrento. 20 minute walk to sorrento town centre. Very clean, very friendly staff. We only ate breakfast here but it was fine- meat/cheese/fruits/cereal- all the usual what people would want.
Highly recommend this if you are visiting sorrento

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahsmith6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    280
    70
    17
    6
See reviews for
166
918
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

You will not be disappointed with this hotel. The view from all the rooms (they all fce out to see from what i can tell) is incredible. The breakfast was great, you can even make your own buck fizz and the added bonus is that they do not charge for car parking which we found out later, as we decided that it was too much hassle to train/bus it after the flight a taxi would cost the same as car hire for the week so it really is a bonus, some hotels charge 10euro+ a day for that.

The town is walkable in 10mins. I would say the room fur ishing could be improved a bit but you get a superb view, bath/ shower and flatscreen tv. You have to ask for a kettle to be put in the room though (which they can do no problem)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drummingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Belair for our final 4 nights in Italy. And what a beautiful finale it was! Every day we had a free view of Mt. Vesuvius from our very large balcony. Balconies are located rather close together, so there was not much privacy. We were located in a Junior Suite Room 307. Our room was large enough for us to spread out after 12 days of living out of suitcases. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Many of them have been there over 20 years, which speaks to the longevity of the staff. One of the waitstaff told us he felt privileged to be able to come to work every day for the fabulous view. The hotel was getting ready to shut down for the regular 5 month shutdown for the winter.
The breakfast was very nice. Finally on our last morning we were able to eat outside, as it rained every day prior. Eggs can be made to order, and we enjoyed delicious omelets every morning.
Excellent hotel with stunning views, and we hope to return someday.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and a view. Junior Suites are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary , it was our second trip to Sorrento and we had a great time. The Hotel was all we had hoped for , very comfortable, great views and lovely food. The meals on the balcony each night were a real treat. The staff were very good and the Head Waiter was excellent. We would recommend this hotel very highly it is also very close to the town and easy to get in for trips to Capri and along the Amalfi Coast.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlueBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We chose this hotel because we knew its location having stayed across the road at The Bristol 7 years ago (which was a very nice hotel) but we fancied a change. They are very similar in standard - in fact they they are owned by a husband and wife team - she runs one, he runs the other.

The rooms are quite simple but stylish and they all have a balcony with views across the bay to Mt Vesuvius and down to Sorrento. Absolutely stunning and as good a view as you can expect anywhere.

We took a half board package and so we used the excellent restaurant twice a day. The waiters were very good - discreet, courteous, friendly and very efficent. Head waiter, Michelle, deserves a lot of credit here. He is very approachable, charming, engaging and funny.

The pool looked very nice though we didn't use it. We're not sun worshippers and in any case the sun disappears behind the mountains by lunchtime. It did look as though it could have done with an extra dose of chemicals as there were light patches of algae growing on the bottom.

Location-wise, it's probably the best for views but the price you pay for these is the walk up and down the hill to the town centre, about 15 mins walk. Worth it in my opinion.

Overall, this is an excellent 4 star Sorrento hotel and you will not regret choosing staying there, in fact you will leave feeling very good about the place.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view as the hotel is set in to a cliff (there are no rear windows). I'm 99.9% s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetop1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our fourth visit and yet again we were not disappointed. I for one like the retro décor and the view from any room is one of the best you'll find anywhere. The food is excellent and all of the staff are friendly and helpful. I don't bother choosing the wine as I trust Michele to pick the right bottle for our meal and he didn't disappoint. Thanks also to Rossano at the bar who can make a great cocktail - I can recommend his Manhattan in particular. Stefano at the pool will look after you if you need a drink or sandwich and the reception staff are always prepared to help. Gianlucca, for example, gave us some good tips for our visit to Naples. I could go on because, for me, the staff in this hotel is one of its chief plus points. I certainly intend to be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I would just stay on a bed and breakfast basis as the dinner is pretty mediocre.

Positives: The most amazing view (and every room has one!) Comfortable beds; generally good helpful staff; Lovely communal/reception areas (Great quiet bar room at level -5 with huge windows to enjoy the view and comfy lounge on level -1). Hotel is very clean throughout.

Negatives: Basic rooms for a 4* hotel; poor complimentary toiletries provided (bring your own); balconies do not have much privacy from neighbouring room balconies. Restaurant food is mediocre.

About a 10-15 minute walk down to Sorrento town which wasn’t a problem for us (except when it rained and we got soaked!). The cliff side location affords a spectacular view of coastline, Bay of Naples and Vesuvius with ever changing skies.

We booked through Thomson and paid an extra 300 odd pounds to upgrade to a junior suite which when we arrived looked a lot less impressive than website picture – decent size room but lacking in pictures or any kind of soft furnishings that would reduce the austere feeling. Good size balcony – big enough for loungers but none provided just the same bistro set that the standard rooms have (some junior suites do have loungers but there does seem to be a variation in the standard of junior suite). The bathrooms are very clean but the level of luxury is not what you might expect in a 4* hotel. On check-out day we were given the use of a courtesy (standard) room and this was okay (obviously smaller than junior suite) but still a little austere with a very small balcony (just about big enough for small bistro table and 2 chairs).

The breakfast was average with fruit, cereals, cold meats, pastries etc – but a lack of hot food choice. At dinner, there was a good cold hors d'oeuvre buffet with plenty of tasty choices and in addition you can select 3 courses from the daily menu - the hot food always came out promptly and the waiters are all very nice and helpful but the food is pretty mediocre so we ate out a few nights (would recommend Ghibli restaurant on Marina Piccolo (they will collect and return you to hotel) and Bagni Delfino (on Marina Grande).

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at this hotel and found it represents reasonable value for money for the Sorrento area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the -3 looked the best - we were on -2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laineylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing