We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a memorable family holiday”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Belair with my teenage children and parents, partly as a celebration for my mothers 70th birthday. I was anxious that the hotel and location in general worked for everyone but I needn't have worried; the hotel was excellent, all staff warm, welcoming and extremely helpful in all regards. Michelle and his team in the restaurant were lovely and it was great to see and hear the pride they took in their restaurant, food and country. The complimentary celebratory wine left in my parent's room on arrival was a lovely touch and the gala dinner on our final evening was a great memory with which to finish off our stay. Our rooms were on the 1st floor and were spacious, clean and comfortable, the views across the Bay of Naples stunning and I wouldn't hesitate to return. We visited most of the usual tourist destinations in the area and the only caution I would offer is if you hire a taxi and driver to take you along the Almalfi coast, do your homework on restaurants for lunch rather than relying on the driver to choose a good one. The one we were taken to close to Ravello was poor quality and poor value and I really wish we had checked with the travel company rep and/or reception first.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views, ours were great, comfortable, clean and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in a superior room on 2nd floor. The views are spectacular! Breakfast was lovely, even better on the sunny days we could sit outside in the sunshine :-) The staff were nice & friendly. The walk to & from hotel initially looked a little steep but was actually very pleasant - and I am heavily pregnant.
As others have said...the rooms have zero soundproofing. It generally wasn't an issue until guests upstairs arrived in high heels for 2 days which became annoying at night - also we were next door to the lift which seemed to be on the go from 6am and quite noisy! We enjoyed the pool area - pool was far too cold to go in but its low season.
All in all very lovely setting.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank elektrogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Clean, classic hotel with great views, very helpful staff. I have no complaints about the hotel and would stay there again on our next visit to Sorrento. The restaurant is another matter. You are in Italy, the menu was all Italian food, but the cooking is 100% British. Pasta pomodoro was made with steamed tomatoes, no olive oil, no herbs. I understand that a lot of people are all right with pasta made this way, but it is a travesty to try and pass it off as Italian. I would have given Belair 5 stars if the restaurant either made it clear that their Italian menu was not in fact resembling Italian food at all, or if they actually focused on British food. It was a case of poor expectation setting and a hefty price tag to boot.
There is very little sound-proofing and the doors sound like cannon shots in the middle of the night. I can't imagine how frustrating that would be if the hotel is booked solid. But this is small quibble in an otherwise fantastic stay.

Please do stay at Belair. Just know what you are getting into when you decide to eat there. Do yourself a favor and go into town to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

very nice cliffside hotel approx one third mile from center of town. room nice with excellent view accurately represented from website. breakfast area also well situated on deck overlooking the bay of naples and the isle of capri

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfweiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have been to Sorrento 3 times, but this was by far the best Hotel ever . The staff very attentive always willing to help in any way. The food fantastic, the head waiter Michel was perfect nothing was a problem. The location, views are superb, over all this is a beautiful hotel and we are looking forward on our return next year.

Room Tip: Large and sunny, no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would use it again. The staff were helpful, the room was spacious (superior) the food was good and the views amazing! We found the walk to town took about 10 mins. and another 10 to the station .It was a perfect base for sightseeing. If it had been high summer we may have found the outside space rather limited. As it was the beginning of the season it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerbyshireItalyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with great service, excellent food and fantastic views. It is situated a short walk from the centre of Sorrento and has stunning views of the bay from all of its rooms. Bedrooms are large and spotlessly clean. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant staff lovely. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite for extra room and half board. The food is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 590David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £159 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set on the cliff tops and a 15-minute walk from the centre of Sorrento, Hotel Belair offers an outdoor pool, à la carte restaurant and elegant-style accommodation with a sea-view balcony. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing