We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of budget luxury”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #22 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon. When we arrived we were greeted with a warm, friendly welcome. Nothing seemed too much trouble. As it was our honeymoon, we had some complementary bubbles in our room. The was a standard room. It is quite basic, but perfect for what we needed. The room was very clean and the view is stunning. The little table and chair on the balcony overlooking Mount Vesuvius was perfect for relaxing with a drink. The staff were all charming, especially the evening bar staff and pool attendant.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly be returning!
Thank you Hotel Belair!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belair
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday at the Belair, during which we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. We had a junior suite which was awesome. It had one of the largest balconies on site with stunning views over the bay of Naples and Mt Versuvius. We had a 4 poster bed, Sky TV and free Wifi which is throughout the hotel. The bathroom and our bedroom were both huge and they were always nice and cool, even without using the air con.
We were half board and the food was excellent. The breakfast was a mix of continental and hot, with various types of eggs cooked to order.(our usual was scrambled with crispy bacon) followed by fruit or sweet treats (yummy cakes).Evening meals were always traditional Italian fare and the Maître de was always on hand to assist with advice regarding wine. I have to make special mention of the staff as a whole. They all work long hours (some never seem to go home!)and they are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Even the pool guy takes pride in what he does.
The hotel is traditional with modern touches. It is very grand with tiled floors and baroque style decor but it makes you feel like a million dollars (even if you don't have it!). It does have some entertainment evenings, but they are in keeping with its style and are relaxed and laid back. (If you are looking for agadoo try so where else....please!) The pool itself does follow a 'no reserve on sun beds' which is great and it is spotlessly clean. You can rent pool towels at 1euro a day which cuts down on luggage weight!
The hotel has a well stocked bar and a cool terrace overlooking the bay to enjoy a nite cap.
Part of our holiday is always 'eating out' on the odd occasions, because we enjoy new experiences and Sorrento town is an easy 15 min walk down a slight hill. I have commented on our favourite restaurant 'Caruso's' on its own review site, but it really is a must.
All in all the Belair was one of the best places we have ever stayed and we are already looking to book again for next year.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paulxshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Spent the past two weeks enjoying the comfort of Belair. We only had a standard room but it was big enough for our length of stay. It was cleaned daily and new towels provided each day. Added little touches like turning down of the bed covers were appreciated. The view was outstanding. The food was excellent and facilities well maintained. What really comes to the fore though is the staff. They were welcoming, eager to please and very accommodating. It is a ten minute walk to the town which comes to life at night or you could use the hotel steps down to the beach - walking back up though is a little challenging! I'd heard good things about Sorrento and Belair before we came and were not disappointed.
My only criticism would be the lack of evening entertainment. After a long day out it would have been nice to stay put. The hotel description said it had music daily. During out two weeks we had one evening when a tenor sang and 2-3 evenings of piano music, which must be said played music decades out of date and dull enough to put you to sleep, so most guests seemed to venture into town. Maybe something they could improve on in the future. Overall a lovely relaxing time was had.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be overlooked when out on your balcony, then ask for a room on -1 floor.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DSHOW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Pros
Amazing service & attention to detail, small hotel makes it's easier for staff to remember everyone and it shows.
Breakfast is cold buffet style but you can order eggs any way you like, without or without crispy bacon.
We were on half board basis, the evening meals varied each night with a choice from a cold buffet starter and then ordering two further warm courses from the menu. Always a veggie option and always a veal dish! Head waiter Michele was very good at advising accompanying wines (drinks paid for separately) and menu choices too. He was also keen to teach us new Italian phrases each day! Dessert was also buffet style, all made in house by the chef and options changed daily. My favourite was the pistachio profiteroles, to die for!
When it comes to decor think Downton Abbey meets Italy, chintzy but very in-keeping with the place. Lots of ornaments in china cabinets dotted around, the tv/computer room was decked out in period reproduction pieces (covered in plastic rather than leather to protect them from sunscreen!) and lots of fresh flower arrangements on the lounge/bar/dining room (although these may have been left over from a wedding held at the weekend).
Reception staff went out of their way to assist with any tourist/maintenance/housekeeping issues and the lifeguard cum pool bartender, Stefano, was very attentive too
There is a 'Shortcut' down to the marina grande, which consisted of 241 steps cut into the cliff face. I know, I counted! Ok on the descent, the ascent took a couple of rest breaks though! The opening times for the gates to the steps are the same as the pool times, which is a good idea as the steps would be rather precarious 1. In the dark & 2. With the local wine on board!
People are politely asked not to reserve sunbeds and this is adhered to by the English & other guests by and large. However, the Italians didn't seem perturbed by this and would quite often reserve more than one bed, one shaded, one in the sun!
All in all, a fabulous place to stay if you don't want to be in the centre of Sorrento but in easy reach. Would definitely recommend, and return if ever in Sorrento in the future


Cons
Sun worshippers: pool open from 8-6 but sun disappears just after 4pm. Shame as sun doesn't set til after 8pm and there's still plenty of heat in it. However on the plus side, you get to view lovely sunrises!
Slightly foisty smell on gym level.
Rooms on floor one are below the restaurant so you may hear chairs scraping on the tiled floor above you.
Coffee at breakfast isn't the best, comes with separate hot milk froth, but order a cappuccino instead, which is much nicer

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Lweeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just returned from holiday,we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary while away when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a bottle of wine cooling in our room.The room was beyond our wildest expectations we had stunning views over the Bay of Naples,the service was excellent from beginning to end of our stay.
I have to follow a Wheat and Dairy free diet the Hotel helped me with this and whenever we went for a meal I was advised quietly what was suitable on the menu and what else they could cook for me so I never felt awkward.
The hotel was kept spotless all the time,we had clean towels every day and the sheets were changed twice during our one week stay which is very unusual,we could not fault the hotel every single member of staff was polite and took the time to speak to us and ask if we were having a good time,we had room 101 which was on a corner so we had fantastic views.The walk into Sorrento was about 10 mins you do have to be careful as the pavements are narrow in some places and the road is very busy we wished that we could have stayed longer and will be more than happy to recommend the hotel to friends and family and would love to go back.

Room Tip: ask for room 101 it has a large room next door which is an area where you sit and relax so you only...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cle0cat186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very spacious room ten minute walk into town , twenty minutes back.

very attentive friendly staff breakfast lovely including complimentary bucks fizz some people abused this not english I may add which was a tad embarrassing not english I may add. Eggs and omlettes to order delicious

lovely view of the bay lots of photos online to admire small but clean pool sun only in the morning though for you sun gods

small gym

restaurant quite formal and a touch pricey better value to be had in the town for a special occasion would reccomend

Free wifi every where
one hour from the airport by taxi 100 euros !

overall a nice place its not a budget holiday but very very nice

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is holiday heaven we visit every year the staff views food service is 110 % you cannot ask for any thing else .the minuet you arrive the warmth is transparent they will do anything to make holiday perfect eg my husband forgot a prescription drug within half a hour of arriving we had them Lelo have been to collect them ,Gianluca helped with a dental emergency we feel at home there . The view are spectacular you can reach so many beautiful place with so much ease ie Positano by local bus service capri by ferry lots to do lots to see also lot of lovely restaurants to visits but the food at hotel is excellent nothing is a trouble Michelle the matre de is so wonderful rembered about allergies etc the waiters Luigi Luigi Mario Gessepi are excelent have fantastic sense humor make meal time fun x it would take a lot to find a hotel with such a wonderful staff ambiance its home from home it has a special place in our hearts many guests return we meet many good friends on our visits ti this idle Mariella (the owner ) is always around loves a chat likes english fashion Monica too as far as we concerned the hotel deserves six stars for reason that are not asked or on trip advisor stefano is a fountain of knowledge he make relaxation by pool comfi we are booked for next two years roll on next summer x

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank harla95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £150 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing