We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and Staff”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #23 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel and Staff”
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Just had a fantastic stay at the Belair with friends. The staff were very helpful, particularly Monica and Francesco. Although the hotel is on a busy road, the rooms are very quiet and the views across the bay are stunning. An enjoyable breakfast can be taken on a terrace overlooking the bay of Naples, infact the breathtaking view can be seen from most areas of this hotel. The view, location and the service is what made this hotel perfect for our stay. Thanks again to all the staff . This was our second trip to Sorrento, and we've already decided we'll be going back!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGJKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    283
    72
    17
    6
See reviews for
168
928
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

The Belair Hotel is a stunning clifftop hotel on the main street and is across from a bus stop to town. But it is also very secluded. Parking is on the roof (street level) and all the lower floors look out only onto the Bay of Naples, Mt. Vesuvius and beautiful views of Sorrento harbor. The common rooms are elegant and spacious—think classical moldings and chandeliers—and they all exit on to a veranda with a dramatic view. The staff (all English speaking) is sociable, helpful and knowledgeable. Dinner (pricey) and breakfast were both very good and served promptly.

Our room was very spacious, with room for a couch and dark furniture from another era. The bathroom is also spacious with lots of room for two peoples’ toiletries. Best of all was a generous terrace with table and chairs—not the 12 X12, but at a lesser price we looked down on the larger ones. A beautiful view of the sea and lemon trees. All the amenities of an upscale hotel but with the charm of an earlier era. The only flaw was an ancient and cranky elevator, which always worked but was slow and miniscule.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann2009CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern viginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Gianluca and Rossano help run one of the best hotels we have stayed in Europe. Great staff, very clean, everything in the large room (including sitting room) seemed new, 12 by 12 terrence overlooking the town of Sorrento, Bay of Naples, and Vesuvius. Add a very reasonable rate and you get the best value posssible. Because of Belair's postion directly above the Bay with the highway behind, it 's rooms and terrances are much quieter than the bigger, more expensive hotels, like the Bristol, across the road, with an even better view. Ten minute walk to town. 15-20 min to the port for Capri, Amalfi, etc.
If you wish to stay on the Amalfi coast area, this is the best you will find.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuriNorthernViginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Even just 10 minutes walking distance to Sorrento downtown, hotel Belair provides an unique view to tourists for an reasonable price. We enjoy the honeymoon with the beautiful place and also for the great people. The hotel manager is very nice & helpful. I regret to stay only one day. I will have Hotel Belair for my next vacation in Sorrento.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

The Belair is situated not too far out of Sorrento town centre (about a 15 minute walk) and is perched on the cliffside overlooking the sea, Naples and Vesuvius. A beautiful view! The hotel itself is full of old style charm; very ornate Italian decor with a fabulously retro riviera feel to it. Rooms are simple but clean and comfortable and every room has a balcony or terrace. The pool is great but get there early for the sun as it's in the shade by 3 or 4pm, and remember to go to the hotel next door where you can use the private beach - it's so lovely and secluded and perfect for snorkelling. The staff at the Belair are lovely and friendly and breakfast is great. Overall a fab place to stay and a good base for all those trips to Amalfi, Pompei and, most amazing of all, Herculaneum.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbie_rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

We spent two nights at the Hotel Belair in Sorrento. We were on our honeymoon on the Amalfi Coast and this was our favorite hotel by far. First of all, the view from our room was amazing ( better than positano or capri), the staff was friendly and helpful at all times. They were also nice enough to offer us a complimentary dinner and champagne because we were on our honeymoon (which was also excellent). Standard european breakfast offered every morning, with toast, jams, cheese, fruits. The hotel is located on via Corso which is a short distant away from the town center, which makes it a bit quieter.we enjoyed our strolls into town 10-15mins each day. the rooms are not luxurious in american standards, but are tastefully decorated in the traditional european fashion. All in all, couldn't ask for a better view or service and we definitely look forward to staying at hotel belair again!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planatrip4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy, France
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed at the Belair for 6 nights: 2 parents and 2 children, 9 and 6. We asked in advance for communicating rooms and got nice rooms (#104 & 105) with balcony, overlooking the Bay of Naples and the city of Sorrento. Wonderful views. Rooms are quiet and we could not hear any noise from the road.
Swimming pool looked good, but it was too cold to try
Nice breakfast buffet. We had diner in the hotel one evening and there is a set menu, which was good.
Staff was very nice, smiling and ready to help.
Parking may be an issue during the high season. The hotel is 10-min. walk from the city itself.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French_Traveller_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing