We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel But......”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
New York / Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel But......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

I had a few challenges in route to the hotel because the airline, Lufthansa delayed my baggage. I was not able to meet up with my sister and her husband on the first night of our stay. My sister spoke to the hotel front desk clerk and they were very understanding and my sister was told I WOULD NOT be charged for the night because of the airlines mistake. When I arrived the following day, I was told I would be charged for the previous night by Francesco by order of his Accounting Department. I do understand certain rules but good customer service should have stepped in at this point. It is for this reason I would not stay there again and unless you are sure you will be arriving on time, I would advise against staying there. I ask the hotel to reverse the charge on my credit card and I would consider staying there on my next trip in 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    266
    67
    17
    6
See reviews for
155
879
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Room and bathroom old fashioned, tired and not the best quality. To our mind much of the hotel felt as if it would benefit from refurbishment and a good clean / airing. The wonderful views and kind, courteous staff unfortunately couldn't compensate for our disappointment regarding the quality of the accommodation.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnonBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We had dinner at this hotel whilst staying in Sorrento due to a sudden thunderstorm and after we had had 3 very good lunchtime snacks. The dinner was awfull we choose chicken soup and pasta for my partner. The chicken soup was out of a packet and the pasta overcooked ( should be a crimminal offence in Italy ) The main course not bad but not good value. My partner had cheese for dessert. Considering Italy has very many good cheeses we were presented with 3 cheeses 2 should only be used for cooking and the 3rd looked like those litlle plastic wraps you get on charter airlines. The cost of this poor meal was 40 euros each by far the most expensive meal we had in Sorrento and the worst. I raised these complaints with the management who only commented that they would speak to the chef. This is not the standard I would expect form a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD-and-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariellaRusso, owner at Hotel Belair, responded to this review, 13 October 2009
Dear Sir/Madam,

We feel very sorry reading your comments.
Of course we apologize for not meeting your expectations, but we feel you are being too categorical.
First of all, due to the mentioned thunderstorm, we had many electrical problems that night, which is a partial justification, and the fact that you had 3 very good lunchtime snacks (cooked by the same chef) means that the food is not as poor as you say.
We asked you to come back in order to compensate your complaints in some way but you didn’t give us the chance to redress.
Talking about price: 40 Euros is definitely the average price for a 3 courses meal in a 4* hotel restaurant. It looks expensive compared to a “Trattoria” with no 4* service and setting.
We would be very happy to welcome you back to our Hotel, to stay with us in the future and not just for a meal, to show you our general money value.

Best regards,

Mariella Russo
Hotel Belair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We have just returned from an all too short ( 3 day) at the Belair. We found the hotel to be excellent in all respects , the staff was friendly , attentive , and very efficient . The shower was a little small , but I am a fairly big guy . I would highly recommend this hotel , look forward to returning on my next trip to Italy .

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Had a fantastic holiday at this hotel nothing to much trouble for the staff. Restaurant team are fantastic always friendly smiling and helpful nothing is to much trouble. If you want a cooked breakfast just ask the waiter. View from all rooms excellent across tha bay of Naples. Walk into city about 15 mins to left of hotel or bus stop opposite cost 2 euros you can but tickets at reception. Recommend you do the Amalfi Drive Select Tour and the Capri and Anacapri both very good scenery and worth the money. I f you book through Thomson there rep Katherine is excellent and very informative at the welcome meeting. Ristorante Sorrento was nice in via P.R.Giuliani also Fauno Bar in Piazza Tasso. Nice pool in hotel but very cold also no tea making facilities in room. It is a small friendly hotel definitely worth a visit if thinking of going to ITALY. How first time to Italy and not disappointed but the weather let us down plenty of thunderstorms. 14-21 Sept, If you decide to book this hotel I am sure you will have a fantastic holiday. Hotel reviews are all good and well deserved.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7august
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Beautiful view,luxury facilities,great hotel staff and great breakfast. We have got a very nice room with large balcony with superb view of Golf of Naples and Marina Grande.
Location is 15 minutes walk from city on a busy road and the hotel does not offer shuttle.However there is public bus transporation with bus station right in front of the hotel.Buses are running every 20 minutes and will take 10-15 minutes ride to Piazza Tasso at 2 Euro.You can buy the tickets at front desk or at any tabbaco stores. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with any questions we had.There is a very nice pool area but unfortunately the water was cold . It will really bee more enjoyable if the pool would have heated water.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rszasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed at the belair for 2 nights. The hotel appearance is a bit dated as is the decor for the rooms. But when you open the doors and look at the view from the balcony you shouldn't really care!

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk into town. There are plenty of places to eat and drink. I would recommend this hotel just for the view.

The staff were good at informing us where to go etc, except one member who told us an attraction was only 45 minutes away, but was almost 1hr 45mins away. Still had a good time though :-)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masingha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing