We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
middlesex
1 review
“Bravo”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This is the kind of hotel you want to find in Italy; elegant but not too chic, impeccable but relaxing, friendly but professional staff, traditional Italian food but modernized…..Bravo! !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgware61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    274
    70
    17
    6
See reviews for
161
903
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Fabulous location, outstanding room, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingScot123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Not sure what others are talking about ... but this hotel and its rooms (and its balcony views over the Bay of Naples) are absolutely gorgeous. Can't comment on the dinners (I don't know why you would go to Italy to eat hotel food) ... there are so many wonderful restaurants in Sorrento ... but the breakfasts were wonderful.
Staff were very professional and helpful. Overall, a total delight.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandkDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Hotel is spotless friendly & spacious. Breathtaking ocean views. A/C worked well, fantastic pool, balcony, & very quiet at night for sleeping. I can't find one bad thing to say about this lovely hotel, it's paradise. The breakfast buffet was fabulous every morning, & the dining areas were elegant & plentiful. Entertainment at night was great. Staff was extremely helpful for info. & directions. About 15 min. walk to town center, all downhill. Great seafood at Marina - "Dolfino" or "Trattoria Emelia". We would definately stay here again. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York / Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

I had a few challenges in route to the hotel because the airline, Lufthansa delayed my baggage. I was not able to meet up with my sister and her husband on the first night of our stay. My sister spoke to the hotel front desk clerk and they were very understanding and my sister was told I WOULD NOT be charged for the night because of the airlines mistake. When I arrived the following day, I was told I would be charged for the previous night by Francesco by order of his Accounting Department. I do understand certain rules but good customer service should have stepped in at this point. It is for this reason I would not stay there again and unless you are sure you will be arriving on time, I would advise against staying there. I ask the hotel to reverse the charge on my credit card and I would consider staying there on my next trip in 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Room and bathroom old fashioned, tired and not the best quality. To our mind much of the hotel felt as if it would benefit from refurbishment and a good clean / airing. The wonderful views and kind, courteous staff unfortunately couldn't compensate for our disappointment regarding the quality of the accommodation.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnonBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We had dinner at this hotel whilst staying in Sorrento due to a sudden thunderstorm and after we had had 3 very good lunchtime snacks. The dinner was awfull we choose chicken soup and pasta for my partner. The chicken soup was out of a packet and the pasta overcooked ( should be a crimminal offence in Italy ) The main course not bad but not good value. My partner had cheese for dessert. Considering Italy has very many good cheeses we were presented with 3 cheeses 2 should only be used for cooking and the 3rd looked like those litlle plastic wraps you get on charter airlines. The cost of this poor meal was 40 euros each by far the most expensive meal we had in Sorrento and the worst. I raised these complaints with the management who only commented that they would speak to the chef. This is not the standard I would expect form a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD-and-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariellaRusso, owner at Hotel Belair, responded to this review, 13 October 2009
Dear Sir/Madam,

We feel very sorry reading your comments.
Of course we apologize for not meeting your expectations, but we feel you are being too categorical.
First of all, due to the mentioned thunderstorm, we had many electrical problems that night, which is a partial justification, and the fact that you had 3 very good lunchtime snacks (cooked by the same chef) means that the food is not as poor as you say.
We asked you to come back in order to compensate your complaints in some way but you didn’t give us the chance to redress.
Talking about price: 40 Euros is definitely the average price for a 3 courses meal in a 4* hotel restaurant. It looks expensive compared to a “Trattoria” with no 4* service and setting.
We would be very happy to welcome you back to our Hotel, to stay with us in the future and not just for a meal, to show you our general money value.

Best regards,

Mariella Russo
Hotel Belair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing