We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we expected!”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Md
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything we expected!”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This hotel was everything we expected it would be! We flew from Baltimore to Rome, took a train from the airport to the center of Rome, from Rome to Naples, and from Naples to Sorrento. It was the longest day of my life, but this hotel made it worth it! The staff was very welcoming and accomodating.

The room was charming! It was a good size compared to ther European hotel rooms, and the view from the balcony was incredible! Even after hubby and I had been up for 32 hours (no lie!) we explored the town a little then came back to the room to enjoy the view from the balcony. The bathroom was large, it had a nice big tub and seperate shower. My only complaint is the lack of washcloths... bring a loofa! I just used a hand towel to shower, it ended up being ok.

The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The views were again... spectacular. We usually love to sleep in, but made it to breakfast at 8am every morning, even if we went back to bed for a few hours ;o)

One staff member steered us wrong a little. The distance from the hotel to the train station is significant and impossible with luggage. We walked to the train station a few times during our stay, but it takes about 45 minutes depending on the time of day. We inquired about the bus line to one of the front desk attendants and he told us the bus stop was across the street (which it was) and that we pay in euros when we get on the bus. We ended up getting kicked off the bus for not having a ticket in advance (you buy these at the tobacco shops) but luckily we weren't fined and they kicked us off in front of the train station.

We also paid for high speed internet to email our families at home, but there was a problem with the connection. The front desk staff tried to help minimally, but did reimburse us when we gave up.

Overall, this hotel stay was a wonderful experience. We would love to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrnScoLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    274
    70
    17
    6
See reviews for
161
903
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Lady at front desk seemed uninterested, a bit impatient. Room was clean, balcony had a splendid view. No washcloths in bathroom. I guess they expect you to just wash yourself with your soaped up hands. I called down for a washcloth and was told they don't provide them. So I used the hand towel instead. 10 min. walk into town not bad. Bed was very hard. Only one english speaking tv station....CNN. Breakfast was great. They don't put them out, but they offer eggs to order with everything else that's offered. Just tell your wait staff. Bus stop right across street, convenient. Hotel sells tickets. Overall experience....good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed here for three nights in October, 2009 and loved the hotel. Our room was spacious with a nice patio overlooking Sorrento. The hotel has some nice lounge areas and it's unusual for us to spend a lot of time in our hotel while in Europe, but we really enjoyed just hanging around.

The hotel is about a fifteen minute easy walk into town, but I did not mind this. It's in a great location - the Via Capo hotels have the best views in town in my opinion. And it's a bit quieter here. The breakfast was good.

This hotel is a great value and I can't really think of any negatives.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Staff incredible, food out of this world and plenty of it, location...out of a dream - the trip was a dream come true and the hotel helped make it so. Thank you. Paula from NY

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank pj1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandgroper
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Belair for 5 nights, and wished we could've stayed for another 5 weeks. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The views from our hotel room and balcony of the fishing village below, Mt Vesuvius, Naples night time lights, etc were surreal. A night time snack on the balcony with a glass of wine made sleeping hours much shorter. The walk from the hotel to the townsite was very enjoyable with fantastic views. Hotel Belair has their own steps to climb to reach the fishing village, which is a must. Great restaurants at the fishing village - one to definitely try is the Ristorante Taverna Azzurra. Staff and food are both excellent. We would definitely stay at Hotel Belair again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wilts, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

The moment the shutters on the room we had booked in this hotel were opened, I thought I'd gone to heaven! I've never seen such a spectacular sight. The views are stunning and make staying here a must in my opinion.

Our room was a good size for three, the bathroom also generous and clean. We had a patio area. This isn't private but provides additional space for sitting with a drink or a book whilst enjoying those views.

Breakfast was good with variety and eggs in any shape or form to order. We only had bed and breakfast so cannot comment on the dinner but there are loads of places to eat in Sorrento itself.

The hotel is located outside the main hustle and bustle of the town, about a 20 minute walk up hill on the main road and about 25 minutes to the train station. There is a pavement so walking is safe and the road noise can't be heard in the rooms. The car park is smallish but free if you have a car.

The only slight gripe I would have with the hotel is that we were charged for using the minibar when we hadn't. It was only a charge for 1.50 Euros but we were asked to pay for a packet of peanuts that none of us had eaten - there was a packet there when we arrived and still there when we left! Hardly worth making a fuss about, I know, but if it had been a larger amount I would have been very upset.

Despite that, a great hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This is a top knotch hotel with fabulous views, extremely fun, friendly and helpful staff, offering a warm welcome. I would highly recommend the hotel for anyone planning on traveling to Sorrento. There is no other hotel in the area matches and that has more to offer. The breakfast was delicious every morning served fresh fruits, eggs to order, breads, and even salmon. A short walk to Sorrento but out of the busier area. Easy access on the bus to Almalfi Coastline on other side of hill. Views from every room in the hotel from the suite, bar, restaurant, sitting room and lobby. Private walk to Marina below. The beds were comfortable and spacious room area. The bathroom large with plenty of space and extremely clean. They offered extra towels and the porter was always there to serve. Decorated in authentic latin style, tile flooring, and french doors to a private balcony with beautiful 360 degree views to Sorrento town center, naples, and the sea below. Don't miss this hotel-it will not disappoint you! The only item any where in Italy is the food is very expensive!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinkerbellSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing