We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views in traditional comfort”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular views in traditional comfort”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

The only thing wrong with my stay here was that it was too short. This place is a gem to stay at in the off season: the price was right, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the views are spectacular year round. The food is expensive, but a short walk down the road will take you to several places to choose from and more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMarshall_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    274
    70
    17
    6
See reviews for
161
903
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uetikon am See, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

The minute we were checking out we were trying to book our next visit to this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here. The large family room was perfect for a family of 4 and even had 2 bathrooms! The views are wonderful and the balcony overlooking the ocean was perfect. Upon arrival we had Champagne chilled and waiting in the room as well as fresh fruit. I can not say enough positive things about the sweet and attentive staff. One example, we were there over Easter and they went out for me and purchased candy so we could ensure a visit from "the Easter Bunny". The breakfast was also great and enjoying meals with those views made for the perfect start to every day. I have nothing to negative to say -- there of course are hotels closer to the city center but the small walk to this gem of a place is sooooo worth it! Don't hesitate - book this place!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cferrendelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We booked Belair because of the reviews we read on Trip advisor. The view are fantastic and the service was great. Breakfast was located in such a pleasant room and all the servers went above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. The only thing I must say is that the coffee is not that great...

The recommendations given by the front desk are very accurate regarding sightseeing and restaurants. We went to Pompei by train...best decision ever ! no stress...

The BEST part was the fact that we left to Capri for 2 nights and we left our car parked in the hotel. Since it was a good car, we were a bit worried. But they took good care of it and charged us nothing for it. I was quite impressed with that factor...
Its rare that anything is for free nowadays..

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannes101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2010

A friend told us about their holiday at the "Belair" , so we thought it sounded like the ideal place to celebrate our Silver wedding, It certainly lived upto expectations and beyond.
We received a warm welcome from all of the staff, who were very friendly, helpful and obliging throughout our visit.
The view from our room was spectacular, overlooking the bay of Sorrento. It was very quiet and relaxing. The room was spotless and the standard of hygeine in the hotel was excellent.
Breakfasts were great and the evening A La Carte was very good although a little on the expensive side.
It was a 10 minute walk into the town along a narrow pavement-which may not suit a less able person, but we felt it was in an ideal location away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre.
We thought it was an excellent position to explore the "Amalfi coast" and the bay of Naples. We were able to make the most of public transport using the train to see Pompei, and catching the ferry to Capri. We used our hire car to explore the coast but I will say this was a bit hair raising at times! Narrow roads, buses and mopeds!
We would like to thank all the staff for making this a holiday to remember.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJPleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Md
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This hotel was everything we expected it would be! We flew from Baltimore to Rome, took a train from the airport to the center of Rome, from Rome to Naples, and from Naples to Sorrento. It was the longest day of my life, but this hotel made it worth it! The staff was very welcoming and accomodating.

The room was charming! It was a good size compared to ther European hotel rooms, and the view from the balcony was incredible! Even after hubby and I had been up for 32 hours (no lie!) we explored the town a little then came back to the room to enjoy the view from the balcony. The bathroom was large, it had a nice big tub and seperate shower. My only complaint is the lack of washcloths... bring a loofa! I just used a hand towel to shower, it ended up being ok.

The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The views were again... spectacular. We usually love to sleep in, but made it to breakfast at 8am every morning, even if we went back to bed for a few hours ;o)

One staff member steered us wrong a little. The distance from the hotel to the train station is significant and impossible with luggage. We walked to the train station a few times during our stay, but it takes about 45 minutes depending on the time of day. We inquired about the bus line to one of the front desk attendants and he told us the bus stop was across the street (which it was) and that we pay in euros when we get on the bus. We ended up getting kicked off the bus for not having a ticket in advance (you buy these at the tobacco shops) but luckily we weren't fined and they kicked us off in front of the train station.

We also paid for high speed internet to email our families at home, but there was a problem with the connection. The front desk staff tried to help minimally, but did reimburse us when we gave up.

Overall, this hotel stay was a wonderful experience. We would love to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrnScoLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Lady at front desk seemed uninterested, a bit impatient. Room was clean, balcony had a splendid view. No washcloths in bathroom. I guess they expect you to just wash yourself with your soaped up hands. I called down for a washcloth and was told they don't provide them. So I used the hand towel instead. 10 min. walk into town not bad. Bed was very hard. Only one english speaking tv station....CNN. Breakfast was great. They don't put them out, but they offer eggs to order with everything else that's offered. Just tell your wait staff. Bus stop right across street, convenient. Hotel sells tickets. Overall experience....good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed here for three nights in October, 2009 and loved the hotel. Our room was spacious with a nice patio overlooking Sorrento. The hotel has some nice lounge areas and it's unusual for us to spend a lot of time in our hotel while in Europe, but we really enjoyed just hanging around.

The hotel is about a fifteen minute easy walk into town, but I did not mind this. It's in a great location - the Via Capo hotels have the best views in town in my opinion. And it's a bit quieter here. The breakfast was good.

This hotel is a great value and I can't really think of any negatives.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing