We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute dream,,,,,,,,,,,,,heaven on earth!”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An absolute dream,,,,,,,,,,,,,heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Have just returned from this hotel after yet another wonderful holiday.The staff and many "returning guests " make this such a warm and friendly place to stay.You can really understand why so many people go back.....nothing is too much trouble.The people who have been before share their stories and pass on advice about trips to go on and places to see locally.The service is excellent and the food is lovely.Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyofthemanor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    274
    70
    17
    6
See reviews for
161
903
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

we stayed for 2 nights at the hotel belair this month and overall we thought it was great. the room was very spacious and bed was very comfy, the view out over the bay of naples is just gorgeous and the staff could not have been nicer.

other good things: free parking on the roof is a real plus (another place we stayed along the amalfi coast charged 25 euros a night) and they even gave us a little clicker so we could open the gate ourselves when we wanted to come and go. very good breakfast and the staff were so helpful giving us directions to various restaurants we wanted to try outside of sorrento, and printing out maps for us as well.

things i didn't love: very dim lighting in the rooms, air conditioning was quite noisy (though it worked well), terrible hair dryer (bring your own) and very thin walls so we were awakened both mornings by housekeeping in the hall/chairs scraping in the room above us etc. also when we checked out we discovered getting a towel at the pool cost 1 euro each. i know it's just one euro, but still... it's just one euro! why bother? it just seemed kind of cheap on their part.

something else to note: the way the hotel is positioned in the cliff, the pool only gets sun til about 4pm, which is when we relocated down to the beach for a few hours. other reviewers have noted difficulty getting a sunbed by the pool but we never experienced this (maybe b/c we didn't head down there til about 2pm)

despite the few complaints i think overall this was a very nice hotel, made even better by the staff, and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nylon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel was in a lovely spot could not have asked for a better view. But it was definitely a them an us hotel in August. The room was bigger than we expected having asked for a junior suite, But none of the rooms were private once you ventured on to your balcony. All that sepearted you weresome pot plants. There were quests the hotel that had been going to this hotel for 40 years and 20years etc. And there was a group of about 12. And they did not take kindly to new quests being there, as there is not enough sunbeds forthe size of the hotel so a sunbed war broke out. The best thing about the hotel was the food and service of the restuarant and bar staff. Reception not to happy if you had a cmpaint and not happyabout haing to put i right. Would not be visiing thishotel again .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanned60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariellaRusso, Owner at Hotel Belair, responded to this review, 12 August 2010
Dear Sir,

Just few notes to reply to your review for underlining how much proud we are to have so many returning visitors year after year. Our Guests appreciation and friendship over the years gives us great fulfilment and it is our first aim.
Then, why not going back to our hotel, where, like you say, you find beautiful location, nice room, good food and good service?.... What else?....

Thank you anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Had a great overall experience in the Belair; room was large, clean and had a spectacular view. It is a short walk to the main town and has direct access to the marina grand below (although returning back up the stairs is a challenge for the unfit or lazy, of which I fit both catagories). We only used the pool once, prefering to sunbath at the jetties below (Delfino our favourite, don't miss out on the seafod ravioli they serve at lunch); not because that is our general preference, but because of the limited sunny areas at certain times of the day and the rather sombre atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, I don't expect dancing round the pool, but it was gloomy and perhaps a better pool bar arrangement, seating and even some music would make for a happier enviroment (hense a 4 rather than a 5). The main upstairs bar and restuarant areas were all very nice and attentively manned, but I have to say the decore wasn't really to my taste; had the feeling of a 'west country tea room' for some reason.
We didn't eat at the hotel because of so many places available in Sorrento, but it always seemed busy and the view would be brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Well I'm not one for writing reviews but this hotel deserves a mention. The staff are the friendliest people you are ever likely to meet. The rooms are spotless, the food could not be faulted and the views are to die for. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJandJJ1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Stayed for a week and was hugely impressed with just about everything about the Belair. Staff were very attentive & friendly, the food (we went half board) was really excellent with a good choice available to suit even the most discerning, dining on the balcony overlooking the bay was just wonderful, rooms were spacious & spotless & location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento, was not much more than an easy slightly uphill stroll.

The pool area was quite small & you have to get down poolside pretty early if you want to reserve your lounger.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timottridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We went to the Hotel Belair with our two teenage children, our friends, and their teenage daughter. From the very beginning when we pulled up to the hotel and parked on the roof, we were excited about the place. Then we went down the elevator into the hotel that was built into the cliff, and were completely overwhelmed by the magnificent water view from our balcony. The rooms were also very lovely. We had a junior suite which accommodated us perfectly. The employees were extremely helpful, kind and professional throughout our stay. The complimentary breakfast was pretty basic but suited us fine. The only disappointment was that the pool closed at 6:00. Overall, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen41670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Property: Hotel Belair
Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing