We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Belair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belair
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This hotel really must be celebrated! From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are treated so well by a dedicated and friendly staff who really do go the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. The food is really exceptional and the hotel is clean and nicely furnished. The view from the balcony was superb and there are lots of terraces to go and hide away on. We really do rate this hotel as one of the best we have stayed at and enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

I have just returned from my 40th visit to Belair with many wonderful memories of an unforgetable holiday. Belair is a superb hotel. The view from the terraces and all the rooms is breathtaking. Every member of the staff is friendly and efficient and whether you are a returning guest or staying there for the first time you can be assured of the same care and attention. The majority of guests at Belair leave, saying that they will certainly return and many do - time after time. Surely a hotel could not have any better recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercurylancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

my husband and l arrived at belair 6th august for i week l must firstly address the remarks made by previous writer, there was certainly no sun bed war during the week we were there?. the pool is not massive and and from 3.30 onwards the sun disappears from the pool area due to cliff location,but the positives far out way the negatives, This hotel is fantastic, the food superb real italian, staff fantistico espescially ROSSANO the evening waiter in the bar, rooms spotless the hotel is a typical 4 star hotel in italy and having stayed in 5 star hotels all over europe and the caribbean this still stands on its own ,beautiful views,nice rooms we will be going back next year without doubt.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank georgieboy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Have just returned from this hotel after yet another wonderful holiday.The staff and many "returning guests " make this such a warm and friendly place to stay.You can really understand why so many people go back.....nothing is too much trouble.The people who have been before share their stories and pass on advice about trips to go on and places to see locally.The service is excellent and the food is lovely.Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyofthemanor76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

we stayed for 2 nights at the hotel belair this month and overall we thought it was great. the room was very spacious and bed was very comfy, the view out over the bay of naples is just gorgeous and the staff could not have been nicer.

other good things: free parking on the roof is a real plus (another place we stayed along the amalfi coast charged 25 euros a night) and they even gave us a little clicker so we could open the gate ourselves when we wanted to come and go. very good breakfast and the staff were so helpful giving us directions to various restaurants we wanted to try outside of sorrento, and printing out maps for us as well.

things i didn't love: very dim lighting in the rooms, air conditioning was quite noisy (though it worked well), terrible hair dryer (bring your own) and very thin walls so we were awakened both mornings by housekeeping in the hall/chairs scraping in the room above us etc. also when we checked out we discovered getting a towel at the pool cost 1 euro each. i know it's just one euro, but still... it's just one euro! why bother? it just seemed kind of cheap on their part.

something else to note: the way the hotel is positioned in the cliff, the pool only gets sun til about 4pm, which is when we relocated down to the beach for a few hours. other reviewers have noted difficulty getting a sunbed by the pool but we never experienced this (maybe b/c we didn't head down there til about 2pm)

despite the few complaints i think overall this was a very nice hotel, made even better by the staff, and i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nylon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The hotel was in a lovely spot could not have asked for a better view. But it was definitely a them an us hotel in August. The room was bigger than we expected having asked for a junior suite, But none of the rooms were private once you ventured on to your balcony. All that sepearted you weresome pot plants. There were quests the hotel that had been going to this hotel for 40 years and 20years etc. And there was a group of about 12. And they did not take kindly to new quests being there, as there is not enough sunbeds forthe size of the hotel so a sunbed war broke out. The best thing about the hotel was the food and service of the restuarant and bar staff. Reception not to happy if you had a cmpaint and not happyabout haing to put i right. Would not be visiing thishotel again .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanned60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariellaRusso, Owner at Hotel Belair, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2010

Dear Sir,

Just few notes to reply to your review for underlining how much proud we are to have so many returning visitors year after year. Our Guests appreciation and friendship over the years gives us great fulfilment and it is our first aim.
Then, why not going back to our hotel, where, like you say, you find beautiful location, nice room, good food and good service?.... What else?....

Thank you anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Had a great overall experience in the Belair; room was large, clean and had a spectacular view. It is a short walk to the main town and has direct access to the marina grand below (although returning back up the stairs is a challenge for the unfit or lazy, of which I fit both catagories). We only used the pool once, prefering to sunbath at the jetties below (Delfino our favourite, don't miss out on the seafod ravioli they serve at lunch); not because that is our general preference, but because of the limited sunny areas at certain times of the day and the rather sombre atmosphere. Don't get me wrong, I don't expect dancing round the pool, but it was gloomy and perhaps a better pool bar arrangement, seating and even some music would make for a happier enviroment (hense a 4 rather than a 5). The main upstairs bar and restuarant areas were all very nice and attentively manned, but I have to say the decore wasn't really to my taste; had the feeling of a 'west country tea room' for some reason.
We didn't eat at the hotel because of so many places available in Sorrento, but it always seemed busy and the view would be brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belair

Address: Via Capo 29, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £159 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belair 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Set on the cliff tops and a 15-minute walk from the centre of Sorrento, Hotel Belair offers an outdoor pool, à la carte restaurant and elegant-style accommodation with a sea-view balcony. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Belair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Belair Sorrento
Belair Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing