We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school glamour in a relaxed way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days coinciding with our wedding in Sorrento and had a lovely relaxing holiday, we were sad to leave.

We travelled with our 12 month old son, both sets of parents and lots of friends, who all loved the hotel. Friends who didn't stay at the hotel regretted it after seeing the views, the sun deck and paying a lot for taxis.

The service received from all staff was very good, the waiters, room cleaner and reception all went out of their way to help. The waiters loved our baby and made a real fuss of him, the high chair was always waiting and mess just disappeared:)

Pictures of the hotel do not do it justice. The views out to the bay of Naples are sensational, everyday our sea view changed with a different cruise ship or cloud cover lifting over Vesuvius and Naples.
The sun deck was like something from James Bond, a great place to relax and swim from.
The hotel exudes old school glamour in a non pretentious way.

The location was perfect, it's a 10 minute flat walk in to the main square, Piazza Tasso. It's also in a quiet area, almost residential, an opposite a lovely children's play ground.

Our suite was spotlessly clean and contrary to other reviews very nice. The bathroom was also large with a separate shower and bath. The room was in the cliffs and had a large terrace. Our guests stayed in sea view and standard rooms. The standard rooms don't overlook the road so are still quiet, but the sea view is amazing!

We will definitely be returning to this hotel, we are well travelled and have stayed in a range of accommodation ranging from campsites andhostels to 5 star hotels. We know for a hotel to be special it needs more than luxury and this hotel has it, views, excellent service with friendly staff, the sun deck, amazing breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere and a great location.







we had lots of visitors to the hotel during our stay a

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days coinciding with our wedding in Sorrento and had a lovely relaxing holiday, we were sad to leave.

We travelled with our 12 month old son, both sets of parents and lots of friends, who all loved the hotel. Friends who didn't stay at the hotel regretted it after seeing the views, the sun deck and paying a lot for taxis.

The service received from all staff was very good, the waiters, room cleaner and reception all went out of their way to help. The waiters loved our baby and made a real fuss of him, the high chair was always waiting and mess just disappeared:)

Pictures of the hotel do not do it justice. The views out to the bay of Naples are sensational, everyday our sea view changed with a different cruise ship or cloud cover lifting over Vesuvius and Naples.
The sun deck was like something from James Bond, a great place to relax and swim from.
The hotel exudes old school glamour in a non pretentious way.

The location was perfect, it's a 10 minute flat walk in to the main square, Piazza Tasso. It's also in a quiet area, almost residential, an opposite a lovely children's play ground.

Our suite was spotlessly clean and contrary to other reviews very nice. The bathroom was also large with a separate shower and bath. The room was in the cliffs and had a large terrace. Our guests stayed in sea view and standard rooms. The standard rooms don't overlook the road so are still quiet, but the sea view is amazing!

We will definitely be returning to this hotel, we are well travelled and have stayed in a range of accommodation ranging from campsites andhostels to 5 star hotels. We know for a hotel to be special it needs more than luxury and this hotel has it, views, excellent service with friendly staff, the sun deck, amazing breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere and a great location.







we had lots of visitors to the hotel during our stay a

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have just returned from most wonderful holiday at the Grand Riviera. It is a family run hotel and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. They speak many languages and are happy to arrange excursions or private tours as required. Breakfast included something of everything and there was a great choice of food for dinner which included a salad/veg buffet and three courses. We were never hungry! The rooms were spotless and spacious . The views from the hotel were breathtaking. My parents came with us so we had three rooms - a full sea view, a side sea view and a garden room. Because the hotel is situated on a corner, none of the rooms overlook a main road so they were all lovely and quiet. The bathing platform at the cliff base was a great place to relax, swim and snorkel after a busy day sightseeing. The hotel is also only 15 mins walk from the centre of Sorrento, 10 mins from the bus park where many of the organised excursions depart from and 15 mins from the mainline train and bus station. so a great location all round. We would certainly recommend this hoteland will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Best rooms full sea view, but side view also great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murphy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Me and my family have stayed for 5 days and it has been wonderful!

The sun has shined and Sorrento is a marvelous place due to its scenery and its friendly people.

The hotel (Hotel Grand Riviera) is both beautiful and wonderful. With its location on the cliff with the poolarea and the beach 20 meters below the view is fantastic and the service is perfect.

Thanks to Gianni and his crew for making it a perfect holiday /506

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomas_lindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

must be a 5 star hotel the venue was spectacular, we expected to find a fine hotel but we were surprised by the luxury the wide and luxury lobby, the suite with sea view, the breakfast, everything was beyond our expectations. we would come back again no doubt about it

Room Tip: Ask for a sew view room !! dont lose it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolina1961_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is a perfect hotel to relax at with marvelous view over the Naples Sea, private beach and nice dinners and personnel you will appreciate.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RivieraLund_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I'm staying here with my friend and have nothing bad to say. We're both quite picky and have stayed at some spectacular hotels. This hotel rates as one of the highest.
The staff are courteous, helpful, and seem genuinely happy to help make your stay brilliant.
We've eaten in every night, and have loved the food (don't undertand why other guests have complained about it).
The "beach" area is fantastic, with exquisite views.
It's a calm, serene, peaceful destination, so if you're looking for complete relaxation, come here.
I think we'll definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank JulieAMC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £146 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing