We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic a holiday of a lifetime the memories of which we will treasure forever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Glynneath United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic a holiday of a lifetime the memories of which we will treasure forever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Excellent 1st class service at the hotel from the moment we arrived. The restaurant staff were so impressive, their friendliness, their appearance was so smart, we couldn't have wished for more. Their attention to detail first class. A big thanks you to Michaelo and all the restaurant staff for making us feel so special. The room was a partial seaview and was absolutely fab. Location was perfect, peaceful, bus stop right outside the hotel for easy access to the Piazzo and Marina, very easy to use. Plenty to do in Sorrento and lots of trips to go on. You just have to go to Capri and Positanno. It was such a perfect holiday we couldn't really say what we liked best, but the scenery was something out of of this world it was so fantastic. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Get a seaview it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryony05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    197
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
173
703
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

This was our first time to Sorrento and we were not disappointed. The hotel is about a 15 minute stroll from the main piazza, so is peaceful. We stayed in a twin room which was fine as it is after all only somewhere to sleep. The hotel is very clean and the food very good. Unlike some I thought the breakfast selection excellent. You could choose from a cooked selction to, cereals ,fruit, yoghurt,meats,smoked salmon, varities of croissant & brioche, different pasties and even champagne! This was a help yourself to as little or much as you wanted. The evening meals were very good and very filling!! A special thanks to Luigi & Rosanna for looking after us so well. The drinks are expensive, but they are everywhere in Sorrento. The riviera red or white wines were 21 euros per bottle & were very good. You can also keep wine for the next evening both in the restaurant and the American bar so you can make them last longer if needed. The staff were all very friendly, again special thanks to Claudio and his staff in the American bar! The views from the terrace were breath taking, sunsets amazing! Holiday memories we'll treasure forever!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mamamia077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Have just returned from 14 days in this hotel Good points reception staff excellent bar staff okay dinning room staff so so some good some not so good food however was excellent. room okay. bad points pool very small bathing platform seems okay however wine list and drinks expensive Wine list could be cut in half it seemed to me too large even the Cliff bay in funchal has a wine list about a third of the size.When one orders a beer in this hotel you dont seem to get nuts and small snacks like you do in any other hotel of the standard of this hotel i have been in . All in all good in bits but could be better.

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Overall this is a good hotel but the standard room is not anything other than a basic hotel room with partial or no view at all. You can pay many hundreds of pounds a week extra for a larger room with a view but this makes the cost of the holiday for this location excessive. The breakfast was below average with a poor selection of cereals and dried fruits and the sweetened fruit juices awful. The evening meals were excellent a real treat but the cost of wines and drinks in general excessive. The best feature of the hotel was the bathing platform, terrific. The hotel is situated about a kilometer from the centre of Sorrento accessed by a busy but drab walk. Sorrento itself is a bustling port with many bars and restaurants, but access to the port requires the use of many steps. This location is not for anyone with the slightest mobility problems, uneven pavements with high curbs and the hotel has many sets of steps, the staircase down to the breakfast room has no bannister. Maybe we are getting old and picky but Sorrento did not provide any magic for my wife and myself as trips to other parts of Italy have, the peace and tranquillity (magic) of Tuscany beckons next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llandanwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days coinciding with our wedding in Sorrento and had a lovely relaxing holiday, we were sad to leave.

We travelled with our 12 month old son, both sets of parents and lots of friends, who all loved the hotel. Friends who didn't stay at the hotel regretted it after seeing the views, the sun deck and paying a lot for taxis.

The service received from all staff was very good, the waiters, room cleaner and reception all went out of their way to help. The waiters loved our baby and made a real fuss of him, the high chair was always waiting and mess just disappeared:)

Pictures of the hotel do not do it justice. The views out to the bay of Naples are sensational, everyday our sea view changed with a different cruise ship or cloud cover lifting over Vesuvius and Naples.
The sun deck was like something from James Bond, a great place to relax and swim from.
The hotel exudes old school glamour in a non pretentious way.

The location was perfect, it's a 10 minute flat walk in to the main square, Piazza Tasso. It's also in a quiet area, almost residential, an opposite a lovely children's play ground.

Our suite was spotlessly clean and contrary to other reviews very nice. The bathroom was also large with a separate shower and bath. The room was in the cliffs and had a large terrace. Our guests stayed in sea view and standard rooms. The standard rooms don't overlook the road so are still quiet, but the sea view is amazing!

We will definitely be returning to this hotel, we are well travelled and have stayed in a range of accommodation ranging from campsites andhostels to 5 star hotels. We know for a hotel to be special it needs more than luxury and this hotel has it, views, excellent service with friendly staff, the sun deck, amazing breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere and a great location.







we had lots of visitors to the hotel during our stay a

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days coinciding with our wedding in Sorrento and had a lovely relaxing holiday, we were sad to leave.

We travelled with our 12 month old son, both sets of parents and lots of friends, who all loved the hotel. Friends who didn't stay at the hotel regretted it after seeing the views, the sun deck and paying a lot for taxis.

The service received from all staff was very good, the waiters, room cleaner and reception all went out of their way to help. The waiters loved our baby and made a real fuss of him, the high chair was always waiting and mess just disappeared:)

Pictures of the hotel do not do it justice. The views out to the bay of Naples are sensational, everyday our sea view changed with a different cruise ship or cloud cover lifting over Vesuvius and Naples.
The sun deck was like something from James Bond, a great place to relax and swim from.
The hotel exudes old school glamour in a non pretentious way.

The location was perfect, it's a 10 minute flat walk in to the main square, Piazza Tasso. It's also in a quiet area, almost residential, an opposite a lovely children's play ground.

Our suite was spotlessly clean and contrary to other reviews very nice. The bathroom was also large with a separate shower and bath. The room was in the cliffs and had a large terrace. Our guests stayed in sea view and standard rooms. The standard rooms don't overlook the road so are still quiet, but the sea view is amazing!

We will definitely be returning to this hotel, we are well travelled and have stayed in a range of accommodation ranging from campsites andhostels to 5 star hotels. We know for a hotel to be special it needs more than luxury and this hotel has it, views, excellent service with friendly staff, the sun deck, amazing breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere and a great location.







we had lots of visitors to the hotel during our stay a

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We have just returned from most wonderful holiday at the Grand Riviera. It is a family run hotel and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. They speak many languages and are happy to arrange excursions or private tours as required. Breakfast included something of everything and there was a great choice of food for dinner which included a salad/veg buffet and three courses. We were never hungry! The rooms were spotless and spacious . The views from the hotel were breathtaking. My parents came with us so we had three rooms - a full sea view, a side sea view and a garden room. Because the hotel is situated on a corner, none of the rooms overlook a main road so they were all lovely and quiet. The bathing platform at the cliff base was a great place to relax, swim and snorkel after a busy day sightseeing. The hotel is also only 15 mins walk from the centre of Sorrento, 10 mins from the bus park where many of the organised excursions depart from and 15 mins from the mainline train and bus station. so a great location all round. We would certainly recommend this hoteland will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Best rooms full sea view, but side view also great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing