We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely Hotel - fantastic, memorable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Lovely Hotel - fantastic, memorable holiday”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My 13 year daughter and I have just returned to London after a wonderful 4 day stay in this very friendly hotel. The aspect of the hotel was perfect - about an hours drive to Pompeii, Herculaneum & Naples but worth it for the quiet after a long day sightseeing. Our comfortable, bright, sea view room overlooked the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the old town, where we enjoyed shopping. My daughter and I felt quite safe wandering around Sorrento. All the hotel staff looked after us extremely well, and went out of their way to help us, from arranging sightseeing to allowing my daughter to choose something simple off the menu to suit her palate. The food was excellent. October is a great time to visit the major sites - not too crowded but lots of sunshine.

Room Tip: Go for the corner sea view room nearest the pool and overlooking the terrace- perfect in the Autumn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    211
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
186
735
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Such a delight to stay in such a fantastic hotel. Have just returned from a 10 night stay and enjoyed every minute. The staff were wonderful and friendly and always happy to help in any way they could. The hotel itself is bright, tastefully decorated and extremely relaxing. We loved the bathing platform and again the lovely chap who served us was great and very happy to chat and give us local info. The food was delicious with choices to suit both meat eaters and fish lovers! Always lots to choose from and the restaurant staff always a pleasure...puddings to die for!!! It is based perfectly if you don't mind a 10 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento although many took the bus which stops outside the hotel. Far enough from the hustle and bustle but close enough to the train station and marina for the trips to Capri, Positano etc. It is a place we most definately wish to return to. A big thankyou to all the staff at Grand Riviera for making our stay very special.

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out have a front sea-view room - stunning!! sunsets are beautiful and on wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 371MichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My Wife and I have just returned from a week in this hotel which was our second stay in just over a year. Both times we have stayed in a sea view room overlooking the Bay of Naples. The Hotel is well situated within about 5-10 minutes walk from the Town. It sits in a driveway away from the road and so is not noisy at all. The outside pool is cold but well maintained and in season has an attendant that issues towels, additional chairs and loungers as well as acting as lifeguard. Carrying on the swimming theme, a bathing platform is reached by a lift within the hotel and extends into the bay itself. The sea is reached by ladders on platforms and the main bathing area is served by loungers, chairs, tables and large umbrellas if required. An attendant is present within the hut that serves snacks, icecream and drinks within the hours. He is also very evident around to assist if required. He is an absolute star!. The Hotel itself is absolutely sparkling with marble floors and wonderful quiet sitting/reading lounge as well as a great bar with great staff and a bar manager who joins in on musical entertainment nights. The Resturant overlooks the bay and the food is well prepared, plentiful and for the half board guests has an adequate choice. The staff are totally professional, smart and great company whilst assisting with your every need. Reception is constantly resourced and CIRO who was our main 'frontman' was so kind and friendly. What he did not know did not seem worth knowing. We did when waking one morning discover ants within the floor/frame on the inside of our balcony. We reported it to Ciro prior to breakfast and on finishing and returning to our room found the hole plugged, and all trace of ants removed, never to be seen again. What fANTastic service! The many excoursions within the isle are good but beware the CAPRI BLUE TOUR full-day excursion costing over 80 euros each. It was certainly not the same as described in the brochure. It describes a small intimate tour of no more than 14 people maximum yet there were 20 which they put down to buying a bigger boat!. They state you will have beach free time to swim and snorkle. (10 minutes swim from the boat) "Light lunch" which cosisted of a cheese and tomato roll and platic cup of wine or water. (actually there were always small cans of beer, 'house wine' or water avaliable) You were then dumped in Capri for 3 hours and picked up for a return journey and a last swim (6 minutes this time) before back to port. Much of this ie a trip to Capri town could be done for about 30 euros return on the ferry and you can work out the rest of the mathmatics to see this was vastly overpriced. However, let nothing take you away from this superb hotel. It would not in my opinion suit children as there is nothing apart from the pool for them to do but for couples of any age who like a nice relaxing hotel then this is a definate one for you. Free WIFI is included throughout the hotel which is great for those who wish to stay in touch without costing a fortune. To all the Staff at the Hotel from Dave and Maggie Gibson in Room 201, we say a huge THANK YOU.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms look over the bay of naples and have a small balcony that has a small table and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We love this gorgeous hotel overlooking the Bay of Naples! It is a refined, sophisticated beautiful structure perched atop a cliff with the best views of the Mediterranean imaginable. The staff is warm and very friendly and helpful. There is parking available. The hotel is only a few blocks away from the lovely main piazza in Sorrento. The piazza is a great place to have dinner and shop at the hundreds of wonderful places in this very gorgeous and clean city. The front desk also will provide you with a bus ticket for a short ride to the port. At the port you can purchase tickets for ferry rides to Capri, Naples, Ischia and other nearby ports. This is truly my favorite hotel in the world. The staff upgraded us to a suite after they recognized that we stayed there twice before (once in 2003 and again in 2007). I would strongly suggest that if you would like to see the Amalfi Coast that a great home base is this lovely hotel.

The hotel has a great "beach" area (no real beaches in Sorrento, but they did a great job using piers for sunbathing directly on the Mediterranean with a protected and gorgeous swimming area with the cliffs in the background that is accessible via elevator.) There is also a lovely pool area and a great place for afternoon drinks on the terrace overlooking the Mediterranean. The hotel includes a wonderful continental breakfast each morning with the best orange juice I've ever tasted.

Room Tip: Ask for water view - most rooms have water views, direct water views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is our second stay at this hotel and I am glad to say not a lot has changed. The staff are all cheerful and helpful. We arrived too late for dinner but the Hotel had placed a tray of meats and cheeses in both our rooms. On arriving the staff at reception were very helpful particularly the gentleman who took our suitcases up and found that the lights in the room were not work. He immediately sorted the problem. Next day we went down to breakfast and our favourite waiter (Michelle) from our previous visit in 2009 was there to greet us. Throughout the visit the staff in the dining room at breakfast and dinner were always cheerful and helpful. Meals in the evening were vary varied and always cooked well and well presented. The wine list was exceptional if a little pricey. That did not deter us as on most nights we had a bottle of red and white.

The 'beach' area had changed slightly in that they have stopped charging for sunbeds and this led to a scramble for one on the first 2 days. However it was an Italian holiday and after Wednesday it got a bit easier. There is nothing I can say against this hotel as it is exceptional as before. We will certainly be returning. It is also very handy for walking into the centre of Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul_richards32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Spent our honeymoon here this August and had a wonderful time. Best hotel either of us has ever stayed in. Beautiful balcony room with panoramic sea views. The hotel was immaculate, food was freshly prepared and portions were generous (we booked half board) and most importantly the staff were very helpful, polite and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Very convenient location - near to everything, yet away from hustle and bustle. Would love to return in next couple of years.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I found the Riviera to ooze old fashioned charm .The Staff were courteous and attentive without being overpowering.The views of the Bay are spectacular and an ideal spot for a pre- dinner drink.Yes drinks are not cheap, however I doubt that there are any hotels of this quality and location in Sorrento that will be cheaper.The train station is close by and the trains provide an excellent and inexpensive link for destinations like Pompei We took the half board option and Dinner was a real delight with a wide range of choices for each course,We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 582Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing