We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Retford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Ever!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

One of The Best Hotels we have stayed in!Super Location! Stunning Views!Excellent Food & Service!Clean & Comfortable Rooms!Beautiful Reception Rooms!Free Gorgeous Pool Sun & Sea Bathing on Fixed Pontoons reached by Private Lift!All Staff are Friendly & Professional & are ably lead by the Head Concierge and his Personally trained colleagues--literally anything you want can be arranged by this team--forget the company reps. & go straight to them! We have run out of superlatives--but What more could you wish for to visit such a beautiful part of Italy?

Room Tip: We had a partial sea View room with views of Vesuvius-- what more could you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    219
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
199
758
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This is the first time we have stayed in this hotel and we were not disappointed at all. We travelled on a package with Citalia and upgraded our room to a sea view. Our balcony overlooked the bay of Naples with Vesuvious looming in the background. It was worth paying extra to watch the sunsets every night.

The room we had was average size for two people with plenty of storage space for our clothes. The bathroom was excellent well laid out and plenty of room to move. The only downside to our room was that we had to step up 3 steps to access our balcony which wasn't really a problem for us but might be for those with mobility problems.

There is very spacious lounge on the ground floor full of sofas, easy chairs and coffee tables overlooking the bay.

The American Bar is spotlessly clean with a good drinks menu and the serve lovely cocktails. The prices are what you would expect of a 4 star hotel and comparable with bars in the town.

The restaurant again is spotlessly clean. Nicely laid tables and the service is first class. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The selection of food at breakfast and evening meal was excellent. The pasta dishes are excellent and every dish is homemade. We cannot praise the food enough and our waistlines prove it!!

We really felt at home in this hotel. Overall, this is an excellent hotel and we would most definitely stay at the Grand Hotel Riviera again.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a sea view room. Some rooms are bigger with a seating area. Try to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank loopyloo083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

One of the highlights of our European vacation. Friedly and very helpful staff but Cisco was our favourite :) Thanks for an amazing time GHRiviera!

For anyone travelling to Sorrento during the warmer seasons, keep this in mind when picking a hotel:
1: Almost ALL of the beaches in Sorrento are "PRIVATE" beaches. You will have to pay a certain amount of euros just to get in there if you're not already a guest. Grand Hotel Riviera have their own Private Beach which is complimentary to all guests. Kill two birds with one stone... stay at a place WITH their own beach and it was great that I could leave all my stuff on the sun lounge knowing randoms just can't get access to it.

2: Check out the beach facilities to all the hotels you're considering. It's a lonnnnnnnnnnng way down... This hotel had lifts which take you up and down the cliff. Believe me when I tell you... to have to walk up and down every time you need something from your room etc would just ruin your day.

This hotel is about a nice 10-12 min walk to the city center which wasn't too bad as it was really nice to walk home after a big meal. For the price and facilities provided by this hotel, it was one of the best options available around mid October. Hope to return some day :) this was a fabulous surprise to our holiday!


Adrian and Mary

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AdrianMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Room was large, clean and bright. We had paid for a sea view and balcony which did not disappoint, and the situation of the hotel was such that we had no traffic noise. The room could have been provided with better facilities such as tea/coffee making, a clock, and some sports channels on the TV, but surprising nowadays wifi was available in the room and free. Breakfast was less than exciting, little choice, most of the fruit drinks were from concentrate etc. Had dinner once and found it OK. Some excellent restaurants nearby, try Photo, just 5 minutes away on the way to the town centre and do not miss ill Buco, not cheap but so far above everything else. Sorrento itself is only a day or so of interest but it is well situated as a touring centre with Amalfi, Positano, Capri, Pompey, Ravello, etc all within easy striking distance. We hired a car but I have to say driving there is not a pleasurable experience, they are the worst drivers I have ever seen. We used the ferries to get to Capri and Naples and another boat to Positano.

Room Tip: Must specify a sea view, those over the entrance have limited view and noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taurusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My 13 year daughter and I have just returned to London after a wonderful 4 day stay in this very friendly hotel. The aspect of the hotel was perfect - about an hours drive to Pompeii, Herculaneum & Naples but worth it for the quiet after a long day sightseeing. Our comfortable, bright, sea view room overlooked the Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the old town, where we enjoyed shopping. My daughter and I felt quite safe wandering around Sorrento. All the hotel staff looked after us extremely well, and went out of their way to help us, from arranging sightseeing to allowing my daughter to choose something simple off the menu to suit her palate. The food was excellent. October is a great time to visit the major sites - not too crowded but lots of sunshine.

Room Tip: Go for the corner sea view room nearest the pool and overlooking the terrace- perfect in the Autumn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Such a delight to stay in such a fantastic hotel. Have just returned from a 10 night stay and enjoyed every minute. The staff were wonderful and friendly and always happy to help in any way they could. The hotel itself is bright, tastefully decorated and extremely relaxing. We loved the bathing platform and again the lovely chap who served us was great and very happy to chat and give us local info. The food was delicious with choices to suit both meat eaters and fish lovers! Always lots to choose from and the restaurant staff always a pleasure...puddings to die for!!! It is based perfectly if you don't mind a 10 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento although many took the bus which stops outside the hotel. Far enough from the hustle and bustle but close enough to the train station and marina for the trips to Capri, Positano etc. It is a place we most definately wish to return to. A big thankyou to all the staff at Grand Riviera for making our stay very special.

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out have a front sea-view room - stunning!! sunsets are beautiful and on wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 371MichelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My Wife and I have just returned from a week in this hotel which was our second stay in just over a year. Both times we have stayed in a sea view room overlooking the Bay of Naples. The Hotel is well situated within about 5-10 minutes walk from the Town. It sits in a driveway away from the road and so is not noisy at all. The outside pool is cold but well maintained and in season has an attendant that issues towels, additional chairs and loungers as well as acting as lifeguard. Carrying on the swimming theme, a bathing platform is reached by a lift within the hotel and extends into the bay itself. The sea is reached by ladders on platforms and the main bathing area is served by loungers, chairs, tables and large umbrellas if required. An attendant is present within the hut that serves snacks, icecream and drinks within the hours. He is also very evident around to assist if required. He is an absolute star!. The Hotel itself is absolutely sparkling with marble floors and wonderful quiet sitting/reading lounge as well as a great bar with great staff and a bar manager who joins in on musical entertainment nights. The Resturant overlooks the bay and the food is well prepared, plentiful and for the half board guests has an adequate choice. The staff are totally professional, smart and great company whilst assisting with your every need. Reception is constantly resourced and CIRO who was our main 'frontman' was so kind and friendly. What he did not know did not seem worth knowing. We did when waking one morning discover ants within the floor/frame on the inside of our balcony. We reported it to Ciro prior to breakfast and on finishing and returning to our room found the hole plugged, and all trace of ants removed, never to be seen again. What fANTastic service! The many excoursions within the isle are good but beware the CAPRI BLUE TOUR full-day excursion costing over 80 euros each. It was certainly not the same as described in the brochure. It describes a small intimate tour of no more than 14 people maximum yet there were 20 which they put down to buying a bigger boat!. They state you will have beach free time to swim and snorkle. (10 minutes swim from the boat) "Light lunch" which cosisted of a cheese and tomato roll and platic cup of wine or water. (actually there were always small cans of beer, 'house wine' or water avaliable) You were then dumped in Capri for 3 hours and picked up for a return journey and a last swim (6 minutes this time) before back to port. Much of this ie a trip to Capri town could be done for about 30 euros return on the ferry and you can work out the rest of the mathmatics to see this was vastly overpriced. However, let nothing take you away from this superb hotel. It would not in my opinion suit children as there is nothing apart from the pool for them to do but for couples of any age who like a nice relaxing hotel then this is a definate one for you. Free WIFI is included throughout the hotel which is great for those who wish to stay in touch without costing a fortune. To all the Staff at the Hotel from Dave and Maggie Gibson in Room 201, we say a huge THANK YOU.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms look over the bay of naples and have a small balcony that has a small table and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,533 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing