We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Riviera triumphs again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Grand Riviera triumphs again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have just returned from a 7 day holiday with our son and his fiance to Sorrento and stayed at the Grand Riviera. We stayed there 2 years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it, so we thought we would stay there again and found it as great as the first time.

The hotel itself is so well kept, the decor is immaculate, so is the cleanliness of the rooms. The staff remembered us from our last visit and made us feel so welcome, it was wonderful, we immediately felt relaxed and taken care of.

The food is of a good standard, I have never rated any hotel food as being exceptional, but the Riviera offer a good variety of tasty meals which is served by very friendly and efficient waiters. The dinning room is light and airy and there is plenty of room between the tables so nobody can earwig your conversation. Breakfast offers a good variety of the usual mix of bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, cheeses etc. which you can have on the balcony overlooking Mt Versuvius, this makes for a wonderful start to the day.

The private bathing platform, is very well looked after by a friendly attendant. It's clean and tidy and you can buy drinks, snacks and ices. Towels are supplied at the pool and bathing platform. The swimming pool is also a great place to spend a few hours, and it also has an attendant who will get drinks for you.

Claudio (not sure of spelling so I apologise), runs a very friendly and efficient bar, nothing is too much trouble. If you want a cocktail that's not on the menu he'll make it for you. They have live music 2 or 3 times a week on the balcony, Claudio makes sure everyone has a good laugh and you can have a dance.

I think the hotel caters more for the over 30's, I could be wrong, but most of the guests were more mature, although my son loved it and he's 27.

The location of the hotel is great. It's in a quiet part of Sorrento but only 10 to 15 min walk to the busy Piazza Tasso and town centre where there are dozens of bars and good family run restaurants.

I only have one criticism, the beds are a little on the hard side. Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PussUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    198
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
173
703
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

just returned from a wonderful relaxing holiday at the Grand Riviera. Everything was as we hoped and the staff were friendly and helpful. Food was of a good standard and it was lovely eating lunch on the terrace overlooking the scenic Bay of Naples.It was an easy walk into town which is lively and busy. We made our own way to Pompeii and Capri which is by far the best as the excursions are very expensive and it was no hassle.
We had a wonderful holiday --back to rainy England but with some great memories.Thanks to Citalia for the faultless rail arrangements and transfers. All went smoothly and we didn't miss any trains!

Room Tip: side sea view rooms are fine . We spent so little time in our room that if you are on a budget a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosemaryparfitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have just returned from a 7 night break. We were given a room that I had misconceived to be poor[from another Trip Advisor reviewer] and the hotel desk were extremely helpful in offering an upgrade- although the hotel was virtually full-albeit at a supplement. As it happens we kept with the original room which was located at the back of the hotel as it was very clean,spacious and although it did not have a sea view it was wonderfully air conditioned which was great given the 30c plus temperatures.
The hotel was beautifully furnished throughout in a light classic style.The staff from owner to room cleaner were friendly and helpful and made you feel valued as a guest.Breakfast whether taken in air conditioned dining room or balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples had a very good choice as did the evening meal.The American Bar had a stunning terrace with views from Capri to Vesuvius.All drinks were reasonably priced given the location and quality of hotel as were light lunches taken in the same area.
The hotel also boasted 2 very different swimming/sunbathing areas-a regular pool at ground[clifftop] level and a large L-shaped sundeck at sea level reached by a lift built into the cliff.The sheltered sea swimming area was safe and clean and wonderful place to relax,read,swim or watch the plethora of different boats.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for location,comfort and quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BQSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was our sixth visit within the last 12 years at this hotel, we travelled on the 30th april and stayed 7 days.

The Riviera is as grand as its name suggests, its location is tucked away in a quiet corner away from traffic noise on a craggy cliff above the Bay of Naples.

On arrival you are helped with your suitcases by a porter and then you enter a huge beautiful cool lobby and then are greeted as always with the warmest smile from one of the concierge staff usually Ciro or Gianni by day or the lovely Bruno in the evening who always provides the highest standard of customer service and are extremely helpful and friendly,not forgetting Salvatori and WillIam as we know him ! Both work behind in the office but always pop out to say hello.

We had a standard room which met all our expectations,it was a good size with a large balcony,very tastefully decorated,light and airey with plenty of storage and spotlessly clean (thanks to the cleaning staff who work extemely hard).

We stayed half board basis, breakfast is buffet style hot and cold,the choice is excellent. Evening meal is quite a formal affair everyone dresses up lovely and Giovanni, Luigi and his staff always welcome you, in fact both of them thanked us and recognized the fact that we were returning guests. The menu is excellent has something for everyone and the food is of very high standard.Good choice of wine menu and reasonably priced.We were pleased to find that Gennaro was our waiter for the week he has served us many times previously, what a character and such a gentleman and excellent at what he does.

The American bar is our favourite part of the hotel mainly because of how it leads onto the most gorgeous terrace with those stunning views out to sea vesuvius to the right and Capri to the left.You can easily pass many an hour just sipping something cold and watching the boats come and go from the marina.I have to mention the bar staff - Claudio (bar manager) a lively character is very entertaining,welcoming and its very clear that he loves his job and is very proud of his well kept and very well run bar by himself and is team Davida, Louigi and Gennaro.

The hotel has a lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds and deckchairs (no charge for sunbeds).
The hotel also boasts it's own private jetty accessible by a lift and it's very safe to swim in the sea.

We had a lovely week at the Riviera made all the more special by the world class customer service we received from all the staff.

Thanks to everyone for their part in making our holiday so fabulous and memorable.

Both my husband and I intend to return again late September to sample the delights once again of this gorgeous Hotel and Sorrento.

Room Tip: If you book a standard room the ones over reception have the sun till late in the evening .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Just back from 2 weeks (with Thomsons) at the Riviera and can honestly say that my wife and I had a great time. The hotel itself is in a quiter area of sorrento, but still in easy walking distance of the bus and train services to allow all the trips to be taken easily and safely.

The hotel is clean and well maintained and run by staff that take time to ensure that you are well cared for. The half board option was 4 courses (starter buffet salad), starter, main and dessert. I don't think we saw the same menu in the 2 weeks we were there. The food was good and, for the most part, tasted excellent with enough variety to tempt you. The lunch menu in the snack area on the verranda was equally of a high standard (spagetti and clams my personal favourite). We were able to swap dinner with lunch which allowed us to eat out in Sorrento three times.

We stayed in a limited sea view room (106) which we found to be clean and spacious and well tended to by the cleaning staff. There are enough Tabaconist shops and supermarkets in close proximity to allow you to stock up with water etc. We found prices quite steep, but what we were expecting.

All in all we had a great time and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy&Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Wow! A stunning hotel in the most beautiful of surroundings. My wife and I have just returned home from 5 fantastic days spent at the Riviera. We can not wait to visit again. The hotel is spacious, clean, friendly (all the staff) and the views across the Bay of Naples are just magical. If the hotel still has rooms available with a balcony and sea view when you book, pay that little bit extra. You will not be disappointed. The food is excellent, the wine list is extensive and all at affordable prices. A perfect location for rest and relaxtion. The hotel is 10 minutes walk into Sorrento and is also a good base for other places to visit in the region. The Amalfi coast drive is superb. If you have the time, take the whole day so that you can stop off and take in the wonderful scenary and soak up the atmosphere in the many small coastal villages and sea coves you will drive through. A camera is must and you will not stop clicking. Napoli (Naples) is an hour away for visits to Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius. Enjoy your visit as much as us.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a room with balcony and sea view. You will not be disappointed. We found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty0076
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We flew out with Thomas Cook on 25th May, for one week. We were the 3rd drop off on the transfer.

Our first impressions were that we were the youngest by a couple of decades, however, as the week went on we saw a couple of young families.

The concierge are great! The rooms are huge - ours was room 501, a sea view room and definitely worth paying for - you repeatedly get the 'wow' factor!

The bathing platform is lovely - towels are provided at both the pool and the bathing platform platform.

Breakfast (under the American Bar) is buffet style, from yogurt, fruit, continental sweet bread, toast and for those that like a hot breakfast, there is bacon, scramled eggs and sausages too.

Dinner (One level down on the spiral stair case), is waiter service. The service is good and the food is always lovely. If you order wine and do not finish it, they will keep it for the next evening - and views of Versuvius whilst you eat!

The hotel is approx 10 minutes into the main square and is a lovely walk. If you book any excursions, the coach pick up is on the way to the town - left out of the hotel, at end of road, left again, once you see Hotel Royal, cross over and its just there.

A must is the Sorrento City Walk - its only 10€ booked through your rep, a 3hr walk around the city, where little gems are discovered! Other very good trips we booked were - Pompei & Versuvius and also the Amalfi Drive!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitty0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing