We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top hotel in fabulous position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top hotel in fabulous position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week stay at Hotel Grand Riviera in a junior suite overlooking the bay. It isn't necessary to have a junior suite to get a sea view. All rooms seemed to be to a very high standard and extremely clean.

The hotel has very attractive communal areas including a fabulous terrace bar.

The beach deck area is easily accessible using the lift and there are plenty of sun loungers and beach umbrellas for all.

The pool area is sufficient enough for lounging and swimming but not if you want to swim athletically. The views are great from here as it is situated on the cliff top. It is not geared up for children but does have a small children's pool. It is very peaceful because of this. It does become shaded in the late afternoon due to the situation of the neighbouring hotel.

We selected the half board option and were certainly not disappointed. It is table service and not buffet, with plenty of choice for all tastes. Each family is allocated their own table for the duration of their stay.
The service is like being in a high end restaurant with excellent cooking. You will feel out of place if you're not dressed for dinner.

Bar, restaurant, pool and beach staff are very attentive and respect privacy. They are obviously proud of what they do.

Many of the people we met have visited on numerous occasions. The hotel has a very calm atmosphere which is great if you have been out visiting any of the tourist attractions.

We are sure to visit again...and again...
Katie & Mark
Portsmouth
UK

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    197
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
173
703
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I travel a lot around the world, but it is easy to imagine that if I chose the Riviera Grand Hotel the last 7 out of the 10 times I've been to Sorrento, that's because it's almost impossible to have better - very friendly hotel staff, comfortable beach with interesing seascape and accessible directly from the hotel lift, 12-minute pleasant walk from downtown Sorrento, quiet location, highly tasteful and various food for the breakfast and the dinner, beautiful landscape from the pool. The perfect place to alternate rest on the beach or pool and one-day trips to Capri, Herculanum (very easy by train), Pompei, Old Naples (by boat), rent a scooter to drive along the Amalfi Coast.The 12-minute walking to the downtown is as pleasant in the day to go shopping or in the evening, along the sunset....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just returned from a great holiday at the Grand Hotel Riviera, we found all staff to be very friendly and helpful with special mention to Rosella in the dinning room and Pepe at the pool. The location is a good 10/15 min walk to the town centre but you can vary the route and there are some great little bars to stop at and enjoy a drink along the way. The food at the Riviera was varied and good quality especially the pasta dishes which were really excellent. Our room had a side facing sea view and was overlooking the marina. The maids did a great job every day leaving the room spotless with lovely clean Towels. The only thing that's wasn't perfect was the bed which wasn't just firm it was rock hard, after mentioning this at reception a mattress topper was fitted but to be truthful it didn't help much. On the day we left however we were given a courtesy room and did notice that the beds in that room were much comfier than our room so all beds are not the same, thank goodness. While at the hotel we spoke with numerous couples who had stayed there many times before including a couple who had been for 25 years, obviously this speaks volumes in itself about this hotel. All in all a great hotel with great friendly staff and we would not hesitate to stay again or recommend it to others well done to all at the Riviera and thanks for a great holiday :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view, i wouldnt fancy any if the rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Guests,
we are absolutly delighted to hear that your holiday was a memorable one.
The hotel management and the staff are very grateful for your lovely words.
We cannot wait to see you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera,
kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon, where we visited 6 different cities in Italy and Croatia, and this hotel and the town of Sorrento, which was about a 10-to-15 minute beautiful walk (past the lemon grove) from the hotel, made it our favorite stop. While there were a few families, it definitely felt more geared toward adults and couples. We had a balcony room with a front sea view, and it was absolutely spectacular! Well worth the view, where we sat nearly every morning and nightly during our three-night stay. The room was extremely spacious, the bathroom immaculate. The staff was 5-star. We saw two lovely weddings come through the hotel's restaurant while we there (a Friday and Saturday night), and we kept commenting on how unforgettable a wedding that would be. And we have dreams of being back on that private sunbathing pier and jumping in the sea to cool off. We WILL be back!

Room Tip: The front sea view had a spacious balcony with two private deck chairs, two upright bamboo chairs, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guests,
we are so pleased that you had such a pleasant stay with us.
The hotel is renowned for the decor of the very spacious hall, for the elegance of the guest rooms, for the amazing views over the Gulf of Naples and above all for the friendliness and professionalism of the hotel staff.
Thank you for your lovely words, we really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

There were two great things about this hotel. The first was the service. We arrived late, and the restaurant was closed. The night staff offered to get us take away pizza, delivered to our room, which turned out to be one of the most enjoyable pizza's we had in Italy. That set the scene for what followed. Nothing was ever too much trouble, and all aspects of the service were faultless. During our stay it was our daughters birthday and everyone went out of their way to make to it a magical day.
The second great thing was the hotel location and its facilities. It is what you image a grand Italian hotel of the 1960's to be like - spacious and comfortable. There was a magnificent view over the Bay of Naples. As Australians, we are used to very good beaches. This was something different. A lift literally inside the cliff face, took you down to a fantastic rock pool with great facilities (if you are from the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney its like it has its own Wylies or Icebergs) . There was also a more standard pool which looked great though we never used it.
Our room was exceptionally large in keeping with the generous proportions of all the public spaces, including the great bar and breakfast terrace overlooking the Bay. One of the great experiences was opening the curtains every morning to see what cruise ship was anchored just off shore.
The only minor downsides was a 15 minute walk into town at night to find a restaurant, as the hotel mostly catered for guests on half board. The upside of that was that correspondingly you were in a nice quiet location It was of course not too much trouble to call a taxi if we were feeling lazy (12 euros). Also as some other reviews have noted, if you have a room under the terrace, it is also noisy in the mornings as outdoor furniture is moved around above you A minor annoyance.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely. .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your flattering words about the hotel service, location and facilities.
There are no words to describe how pleased we are, your words make us proud to work for the Grand Hotel Riviera.
We cannot wait to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future,
kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockelsdorf, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We just arrived back from an excellent trip to Sorrento and spent 10 fabulous nights at the Grand Hotel Riviera. It’s a beautiful hotel in a perfect location overlooking the Gulf of Naples. Great pier for swimming in the Gulf and 15 minute scenic walk to Sorrento. Our side-seaside room had a fabulous view of Mount Vesuvius. The room was small but sparkling clean. But the maids did like starting their rounds at 8 am and they were loud, dragging the beds back and forth to make them.

The Concierges were extremely helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable of the excursions in the area, giving great recommendations on the trips.

The wait staffs in the restaurant were also great with helping my wife with her raw-egg food allergy. The Italian food was good but the steaks, chicken, and pork main courses were bland for us Germans. Also the bar is only good if you want beer or wine, the mix drinks were terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sparing your time in writing a Tripadvisor review.
We are very pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and that the Hotel staff managed to make your holiday a special one.
We look forward to seeing you soon at the Grand Hotel Riviera,
kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have arrived home this evening after having had a weeks holiday at the Grand Hotel, what a wonderful time we had. Really is more geared to adults looking for rest, relaxation, beautiful views. Nothing really for youngsters. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Our room was a side room which overlooked a orchard with lemons and oranges growing.
Staff very helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent.
So many trips to do we had to choose which we most wanted to do, we decided on Capri for a day, the Amalfi coastal day trip. Both of these were pre booked. We went to Pompei on our own and it was so easy, train from Sorrento town (10mins walk) this cost 3Euros return each about a 25min ride, when leaving the train Pompei is well signposted this again was only a 10min walk cost 11Euros each, if you are a pensioner and take your passport you willhave free entry.
If i have one thing i did not like to see was on our last morning waiting to leave i saw a gentleman give the pool attendant something with that the attendant got two towels and saved him chairs around the pool.
Otherwise well done we will certainly tell others about your hotel.

Room Tip: There are lifts so you do not need to use stairs if you are unable to climb. we were on the side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas211007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Riviera with the Tripadvisor readers.
We are very pleased that you appreciated the quality of the food, the professionalism of the staff and the position of the hotel, just ten minutes walk from the city centre and far away from busy streets therefore very quiet and relaxing.
We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing