We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel,First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel,First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was our first holiday in Italy, and we couldn't have chosen a nicer hotel and better location. We were literally 10-15 mins walk to the square where the bars were buzzing all night, just chilling with every body people watching. Our room at the hotel was a front facing sea view room (503) with spectacular views. Very spacious and quiet. The hotel its self is very elegant, a bit pricey with bar drinks,but this is expected at a hotel of this quality. We were half board and the meals in the restaurant were absolutely amazing(but small portions) We booked a trip to Capri with our rep cost 150 euros for the two of us but if we went again we would do it our self as we loved Capri and would have liked more time there, rather than Anacapri where there is only a chair lift and no shopping but the views are amazing. Highly recommend this hotel for a laid back relaxing holiday with views to die for.

Room Tip: definately choose a sea front room, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Deborah S,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor readers.
We are very pleased to read that the elegance of the hotel, the quality of the food and the amazing views over the Gulf of Naples made your holiday an unforgettable one.
We really hope to see you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera in the near future,
kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    195
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
173
696
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Have just returned from our two week stay at this great hotel .Everything was first class as always with attentive staff who make you most welcome. The hotel is in a great location on the cliff top over looking the Bay of Naples with beautiful views of Vesuvius .The food from breakfast, lunch & evening dinner was excellent throughout , with plenty of choice. Having stayed at this hotel for many years ,we look forward to our return in 2014.
Thanks to all the staff for making this such a special holiday.
Mr & Mrs Cardy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinec49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear paulinec49,
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
The hotel management and the staff are very grateful and we just cannot wait to have the pleasure of seeing you again next year.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Truly a stunning hotel. What a package. Marvellous staff, great rooms serviced daily, mind-blowing views, fabulous breakfasts, classy lunches on the terrace overlooking the sea, the best concierge service we can recall, (many thanks for your recommendations Cero), lift through the cliff down to the private beach with its bar as well as upstairs pool & bar & kiddies pool, & all only 10 mins walk from the town centre. More than reasonable prices. We will be back next year for a 2 week stay. Hated to leave. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Ask or a sea view although the garden view is more than acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pockerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a very pleasant one and that the hotel service exceeded your expectations.
We really look forward to welcoming you again next year,
kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

As a rule I don't re-visit holiday hotels preferring to try fresh venues. However, I happily make an exception for the Grand Riviera. Indeed, I've made an exception for it 9 times now. Why do I go back? Because its location, accommodation, food and especially its staff create an ambiance that is irresistible to me. Within a 10 minute stroll of the bustling centre of Sorrento and its labyrinth of alleys, the hotel is a peaceful oasis in a superb setting perched on the edge of a cliff with the sea some 200 feet below. O.K. so the bedrooms could be a little bigger but they are spotlessly clean, cool and comfortable. As, indeed is the rest of this stylish and relaxing hotel. The Terrace Bar (hosted by the incomparable Claudio and his efficient team) has a wonderful panoramic view round the curve of the Bay and across to Vesuvius. Beautiful during the day with the ferries and other boats gliding to and fro and magical at night as the sun sets and the lights in Sorrento and in Naples across the Bay, sparkle in the dark. The food is first class with a good variety of dishes all well presented (tho' my sweet tooth and I were a little disappointed that this year there were only 3 choices on the sweet trolley apart from fruit salad and/or ice cream). The staff, many of whom have been there years, are efficient, professional, helpful and courteous but above all, friendly and welcoming. If you need assistance in planning a trip, or where to go, or hiring a driver and car Gianni and his colleagues at Reception can deliver. They have a wealth of knowledge and contacts - and endless patience!

I've been 9 times. Will I go again? No question about it. I'm already wondering how I can fit it in in 2014.

Room Tip: I prefer a side sea view, on an upper floor overlooking the orchard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that your stay with us was a very pleasant one again.
Thank you from the hotel management and above all from the hotel staff, your lovely words make us proud to work for the Grand Hotel Riviera.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guests next year again,
kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and friend have just returned from their now annual trip to Sorrento. The Grand Riviera was better than ever. Staff are all so attentive and helpful that it makes the holiday totally relaxing. Breakfast now includes a chef who cooks eggs to order and the selection of pasteries wider than previous years. Lunch menu has also been extended and improved. The hotel is ideally situated 10 mins stroll from the town, with the most fabulous views across the bay of Naples to Vesuvius.
Concierge service is outstanding, they will advise on and arrange restaurants or trips.
This hotel is like a second home to my wife and she is always sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear JeremyW
Thank you very much for your glowing review!
We are so pleased to read that your wife and friend enjoyed their stay with us once again.
Regarding the Concierge service, the Grand Hotel Riviera is one of very few hotels in Sorrento that can boast an International Golden Keys Concierge and that means tailor-made service, attention to detail and a “never say no” attitude.
We really look forward to welcoming you and your wife again in the near future.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We just returned to Norway after 1 week at the Riviera Hotel, our third stay. Excellent service, good food, fresh indoor and outdoor facilities, beautiful lunch terrace and a wonderful ocean-view room with one of the best views in the world...Make sure you stay for a Tuesday night; live music and staff-initiated dancing/partying make for good times and laughs. Many of the staff members have been there for decades (without becoming outdated!), ensuring a personable atmosphere. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera for your holiday once again!
The Hotel staff are like a big family and our guests can always feel that everybody tries very hard to make their stay a memorable one.
We cannot wait to have the privilege of seeing you again!
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northallerton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

First impessions of the Riviera was great . A large spacious lobby elegantly furnished and decorated with all public areas the same. We paid extra for a seaview room which i would highly recommend , as after speaking to a couple of other guests staying in the hotel had been given rooms overlooking the car park and scrubland ,however ours was beautiful to which we were delighted. Staff were excellent ,friendly and most helpful.Food was very good something for everyone..My only critisium would be allowing guests to save sunbeds with some people not coming to sunbathe until after lunch.I thought this was a thing of the past and was even more surprised that the attendant did the saving for them. What a shame !!!

Room Tip: seaview room would be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphey019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind words of praise, we are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us.
Regarding the sunbeds, you are right, that should not happen, only sometimes the pool staff are afraid to be rude to those guests whom you have mentioned.
We are very grateful for your suggestion and we will look deeply into the matter.
We cannot wait to have the pleasure of seeing you soon at the Grand Hotel Riviera,
kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing