We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Four of us stayed at the Grand Hotel Riviera in June 2013. I can only reiterate all the good points made by previous reviewers. We had a wonderful time there. The décor of the hotel is beautiful and it has the most lovely staircase. The terrace on which we had breakfast every morning was fabulous and overlooked the Bay of Naples. It has to be one of the most beautiful views in the world and was like walking into a picture postcard! The service from all the staff was excellent especially, for us, from our waiter Gennaro and the concierge Cyrio. The bathing platform was superb with comfortable sunbeds and a member of staff on hand to get you a drink or food if you wanted. A fifteen minute walk from the bustling pretty town centre with its restaurants, shops and churches. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay there very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Mary G,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Riviera with the Tripadvisor readers.
Your words describe with great accuracy the magic atmosphere of the Hotel and I can only say that we are VERY grateful for your beautiful review.
We really look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future,
kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    207
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
179
725
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Seventeen years ago we visited the 'Grand Hotel Riviera' for
the first time. From that day onwards it has become our 'Second
Home'. We have just returned home from our latest annual visit,
which once again lived up to all expectations.
The reason we return is very simple: From the moment you enter
the reception/conciege area; there is a warm friendly welcome
from the staff which continues throughout all areas of the hotel.
The location is stunning, situated high on a cliff looking across the
Bay of Naples towards Vesuvius. Lunch on the terrace with this
view is a must.
The food from breakfast through to dinner is excellent, with many
choices on offer. The cleanliness of our room is always
immaculate, a standard that is maintained throughout the hotel.
Every year we see subtle changes introduced by the
management, this enhances the quality of the hotel.
We look forward to seeing all the staff again next year.

Eddie & Elizabeth Smith

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Edward S,
Thank you SO much for writing such a lovely review, there are no words to explain how pleased we are.
The hotel management and the whole staff are very grateful to you and we really cannot wait to have the pleasure of seeing you again next year!
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Riviera on our first visit to Sorrento and we were extremely happy with our choice of hotel. The staff was very welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable, and accommodating and they always went above and beyond.

The views that we had from our balcony and from all of the common areas of the hotel (pool area, breakfast terrace, and lunch terrace) were beyond amazing and exceeded our expectations.

The pool was great and well taken care of. The only thing that was a tad bit annoying was that other guests claimed chairs early with towels, but didnt show up at the pool until after lunch. The beach area was absolutely beautiful!!!! It couldn't have been more perfect.

The hotel was a nice walk to the town of Sorrento, so while we were able to just completely relax at the pool and the beach during the day, we were also able to enjoy the cafes, shops and restaurants in the town at night as well.

Overall, we had an unforgettable time and we hope to visit the Grand Hotel Riviera again.

Ciao!! - The Strongs

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrongTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear StrongTravel,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera in Sorrento for your first visit to Sorrento.
We are extremely pleased to read that we managed to make your stay with us an unforgettable one and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations on several areas and contributed to a (much needed) relaxing stay!

The staff are very friendly and professional. The standard room with partly sea view was a very positive surprise since the rooms with Sea view were unavailable at our initial request.

The food is great so we recommend half board at hotels restaurant.

The view is spectacular. We highly recommend this hotel and hope to revisit very soon.

//Rezai

Room Tip: Try to get room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rezai78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Rezai78,
We are really pleased that your stay with us exceeded your expectaions.
We would be VERY happy if you and your family decided to visit the Grand Hotel Riviera again!
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hotel was excellent with a lovely terrace overlooking the sea and Sorrento. Could sit and watch the fishing boats and ferries to Capri going in and out. Food was good with a 3 course meal each night as part of half board - quality good and a mix of standard Italian foot and seafood. Would have been good to sit on the terrace for the evening meal though. Staff were friendly and reacted quickly to any issues such as ants in the bath. Walk into Sorrento about 15 minutes. Pavements are not the smoothest and need to watch for scooters all the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear GGHome,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Grand Hotel Riviera with the Tripadvisor readers.
We are really pleased that the breathtaking views, the quality of the food and the friendliness of the hotel staff made your holiday a very pleasant one.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,
kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have just returned from our third visit - and as expected, had a wonderful holiday! This hotel ticks all the boxes - don't know where to start ! The welcome we received set the standard for the days to follow. All areas of the hotel are immaculately clean and fresh, staff absolutely wonderful - nothing too much trouble and they all genuinely seemed to enjoy making our visit as enjoyable as possible. It would be unfair to name individuals - lets just say 'everyone' ! Thank you to you all! Food is excellent, meals taken at any time of the day , wherever we chose to eat, afforded the most spectacular views over the bay and Vesuvius - just perfect! We preferred to use the bathing platform, accessed via a lift, to take advantage of the occasional sea breezes. A snack lunch fitted the bill as the restaurant food for dinner was something to be savoured and looked forward to. A short walk after dinner into the Tasso Square for soaking up the atmosphere ensured we did not pile on too much weight! The entire experience is one we look forward to repeating and are certainly booking for next year. Arrivederci Steve and Jackie Craggs

Room Tip: Side rooms have great views over orange and lemon groves and hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Jacqueline C,
Thank you for the beautiful review, we are flattered by your kindest your words of praise.
The hotel management and staff are very grateful to you and we all look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you at the Grand Hotel Riviera next year.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Just returned from our eleventh stay at this wonderful hotel. From the first moment of entering the hotel, the reception staff, bar staff, dining room staff, together with the owners, all make you feel welcome. In a wonderful, quiet location with one of the best views in the world and less than a ten minute walk to the hustle, bustle of Sorrento City Centre. Can't beat it thats why we go back every year.

Room Tip: High floor, sea views or side sea views are best. Suites too are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Peter B,
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera for your stay in Sorrento again!
We are really pleased to read that you had a wonderful holiday and we cannot wait to see you next year.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing