We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Long Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Long Enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a wonderful week staying in this hotel and now we are not suprised people return.one week for us was not long enough as there is so much to see and do in the area.Two weeks or more and we could have taken full advantage of the sea deck and had more time to relax and enjoy the feeling of being on the water.The veiw of this at night from the balcony was just beautiful with lights twinkling in the water.Our room was a side sea view with views of the orange and lemon groves and across the sea to versuvius.The morning that there were two ships in we could see one from our balcony..It was lovely to see boats going in and out of the harbour,so much going on, on the sea.Now I am a very fussy person. I have changed rooms and even hotels if the standed is not high from two star hotels to four stars, we have stayed in many.Cleanliness for me is very important. This hotel was spotless EVRYWHERE,The staff were very profesional,polite and helpfull,The only complaint I would make is that the drinks are too expensive including coffee. We paid 3euro 50 for a small cup and it was the worst and most expensive that we had.We had a shandy each on the first night and then only had wine and water with dinner. We found the resturant at the top of the road served drinks and there was a great atmosphere. I am sure my bacardi and coke was a treble.I also had ants in my room and it was delt with imedeatly even thogh it was late at night and they didnt return, I have learned that it is quite common in hot countries,they seem to know where the sweets are,This hotel is beautiful, in a good position and not stuffy,they seem to get the balance right.Here you feel relaxed and special, it would suit most ages but I would not recomend it for young children but older would love the deck and would have alot of fun in the sea.I would love to go back to Sorrento and explore some more but there are other places to see in the world. If I do go back I would only want to stay in this hotel. We looked at others while we were there even five star but this has the best deck and terraces. I have recomended to friends and family and know they would love staying at the Riviera. Thankyou to all the staff

Room Tip: sea view even side sea over the lemon groves
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Carol T,
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review.
We are delighted to read that your visit exceeded your expectations, the hotel management and the staff are very grateful to you for appreciating the hotel services and we all look forward to seeing you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    198
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
173
703
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We returned to the Grand Hotel Riviera again this May to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. The first time we visited was the year before in July for my nieces wedding. We decided to stay at the hotel Riviera because we liked the coastal situation. The attention to detail in all aspects of the hotel wqs brilliant. Service was first class, all the staff were very helpful and the hotel was immaculate. We have enjoyed our stay so much in the past that we have booked for August this year to celebraqte my 60th birthday.We can't wait to go back!!! The food, staff and sunsets are amazing.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite and had beautiful full views of the Amalfi coast with views of Vesuviu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Sharon P,
Thank you very much for writing this lovely review.
It is very nice to read that you chose the Grand Hotel Riviera to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary and that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
We cannot wait to have the pleasure of seeing you again next year!
With warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent stay, close to Sorrento town. Location is a few minute walk to the Piazza but hidden in a residential neighborhood making it quiet & private. Staff was very helpful & recommended excellent restaurants. Views were breathtaking. Gianni was very helpful & made me feel as though they knew me for a long time. Great place to stay for sightseeing along Amalfi coast. Beach and sunning docks were private, clean & easy to access.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1deluxcaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Deluxcaligirl,
Thank you for your kindest words of praise, there are no words to describe how pleased we are to hear that your stay at the Grand Hotel Riviera was an extremely pleasant one.
We really look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future!
With my warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of the most beautiful private beach on Sorrento coast, very convenient location, nice rooms, amazing view from the restaurant, great staff and service! Will for sure com back in this wonderful hotel and will highly recommend to all my friends!

Room Tip: the suite was amazing, unbelievable view! good value for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Daria D,
We are so pleased that you had a very pleasant stay with us and we are really grateful for your kindest words about our hotel.
It will be for us a real pleasure if you decide to visit us again.
Warm regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Since more than 20 years I stay at the Grand Hotel Riviera in Sorrento when I visit this region, as well as for business purposes as for holidays.
This year, I was there twice, in June and in September. Every time I am surprised by the friendliness and professionalism of the Management as well as every individual member of staff and the long season does not affect any of this.
All requests are handled with sincere friendliness and extreme professionalism which gives a very relaxing feeling.
The location of the hotel is absolutely superb : the view is breathtaking and the famous sunset makes you speechless.
The hotel has an extreme and rare charm, everything is elegantly in order, all is spotlessly clean and one feels very much at home.
I do not know any other hotel that triggers this feeling. It is therefore also not surprising that guests return year after year to “their” Grand Hotel Riviera.
Like me, there are many more guest who, for 20 years or more choose, year after year, the Grand Hotel Riviera in Sorrento.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeentjeJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Marleen J,
Thank you very much for your fantastic review, we are so pleased that your stay with us was a memorable one again.
The hotel management and the whole staff are very grateful to you and we cannot wait to welcome you again to the Grand Hotel Riviera next year!
With my kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely holiday in Sorrento with my daughter granddaughter ,brother and his wife. Staying at this hotel was perfect . The staff were amazing we arrived late the staff took care of our luggage and we went for dinner . The chef always made what ever my 8 year old granddaughter wanted if there was nothing on the menu she could eat . Our rooms were on the first floor . The views were fabulous from the dinning room and lounge watched the thunder and lightning on our last night. Just a short 10 min walk to the centre. The hotel was spotless and nothing was a problems for any of the staff . Local bus takes you to port for visit to Capri Amazing . Loved amalfi coast Hope to visit you all again soon

Room Tip: We had side rooms with sea view 102 and 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Helen L,
Thank you so much for using such kind words to describe your experience at the Grand Hotel Riviera.
It has been for us a real pleasure having you, your family and your lovely granddaughter as our guests and we cannot wait to see you again in the near future!
Kindest regards from the management, the hotel staff and myself,
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is the most unhygienic hotel we have ever been to. The waiters held around where you eat on the forks, they carried your coffee-cups where you drink, in the beach cafe they put the plastic glasses in the sink and used them again, and they even served a bottle of water with a used chewing-gum inside. When we discovered this, after having drunk some of the water, they promised to examine the water if I signed a paper in Italian, which I did. After several months we still haven't heard a word from them despite phone calls and e-mail, also to the director, from me. The water is probably the reason why we got sick. Dirty bathroom-floor, ants everywhere. We asked for a quiet room, but woke up at 7 every morning, to have hours of noise from tables and chairs being pushed on the stone floor in the breakfast-room upstairs. With a few exceptions in the reception the staff was extremely unfriendly, unpolite and unprofessional, never returned a smile and treated you from the very beginning as if they disliked having guests. The beach closed at 6:30 pm, after that it was forbidden to be by the sea. We have been to very many places all over the world, but never experienced anything like this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tripadviser-medlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we are sincerely very surprised because your review comes after hundreds of extremely good ones.
Our property follows the highest standards in terms of hygiene and service. This seems to be confirmed by the guests who marked the cleanliness of the hotel and the service 5 out of 5 on most reviews.
The plastic cups at the beach bar are not disposable and are meant to be washed and re-used as it is forbidden to use glasses at the beach for safety reasons.
Regarding the analysis, we are constantly urging the firm that produces the water to have them.
Our hotel is renowned for the friendliness and professionalism of the staff (again please have a look at the very many previous reviews).
Anyway we are very grateful for your feedback because every review, no matter whether positive or negative, helps us to improve all the time.
We are so sorry that an infortunate inconvenience spoiled your holiday, but we hope that you may reconsider to return to visit us on another occasion and that we will be able to make your stay a very nice one.
With kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing