We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riviera Hotel, Sorrento”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I were amazed to read the recent critical review entitled "Terrible Experience" about the Riviera Hotel, Sorrento. I can't believe whoever wrote this was serious. We have been going to the Riviera for 16 years, sometimes twice a year, and absolutely love it! The hotel is located right on the cliff top overlooking the Bay of Napoli, and the view and ambience are beautiful as well as peaceful. We have always found the reception, bar, room service and dining room staff exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful. We take dinner in the hotel's restaurant and have found the food generally delicious. There is a well maintained wooden decking system at sea level where guests can sunbathe and and we have always found the member of staff who runs this and serves drinks there to be most helpful. My wife and I cannot wait for our next stay in the Riviera Hotel in 2014. Bob and Peaches G.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the back of the hotel have a good sea view at a standard price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for writing this great review, you said it all and I have nothing to add!
The hotel management and all whole staff cannot wait to see you again next year!
With my kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

The weather was good and we had a great time thanks to the Hotel, A family business in every sense, not only the owners but the staff seemed to be a family as well.All most helpful and friendly, well trained and smart, the reception staff especially so.
The Hotel, at the end of a busy season was as smart and claen as it would have been at the beginning, nice sun terraces with afternoon sun, good pool and also sea bathing from a well maintained private jetty with sun loungers.
Tbe bedrooms ( we had a non sea view balcony, others overlook the Bay of Naples) were clean and comfortable and quiet,The pillows were hard, hard, hard! They did not spoil our sleep!
The Restaurant food was well served ( Half board) good breakfast, adequate dinners with selection. However the reuse of dinner food was very evident as disheds appeared on the 'salad bar etc' nwext day or even at breakfast. Lemon Meringue Pie is not our idea of a breakfast item! Perhaps more care in reusing items would have been more acceptable.
Large paries coming in were a slight problem oftem taking over the main lounge for an hour in the evening for meetings. Tolerable but if the Hotel was full a diiffrent matter
Lounges and seating areas( on terraces) Well appointed and comfortable. Bar service in this area a bit slow One often had to find a staff member, but in fairness it was end of season with lower usage.
The Location is good high on a cliff with easy access to the town Center.
We would certainly use the hotel again, we liked it a great deal !

Room Tip: If you want to pay more have a sea view other rooms OK with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Brian W,
We are very grateful to you for your kind words of praise.
We are extremely pleased that we managed to make your holiday a special and memorable one.
It was for us a real pleasure having you and your friends as guests and we would be very pleased if you decided to visit us again soon!.
With warm regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just returned from a brilliant holiday. This hotel has everything anyone could want, comfort, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, good food and plenty of it not to mention the breath taking views,( no extra charges at meal times to sit by the large picture windows over looking the magnificent vista, as some hotels nearby do!) The hotel provides a well maintained pool as well as sun loungers positioned along a deck area making swimming in the sea easily accessible. One thing struck all four of us just how clean and fresh looking everywhere was, considering that it was the end of the season, however, we were told that the hotel is decorated from top to bottom every year. We would highly recommend anyone considering an Italian holiday next year to consider not only lovely Sorrento, with its wealth of things to do, see and buy, designer shops to die for but this good and excellently located hotel. Lastly, use the local trains, Sorrento station within walking distance from hotel, stations close by to sites at Pompeii and Herculaneum: it is easy, straight forward, very reasonably priced and great fun. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 241SMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for writing such a nice review on Tripadvisor.
You managed to describe exactly what Sorrento and the Grand Hotel Riviera can offer to the guests who decide to visit this beautiful part of Italy.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future!
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The Grand Hotel Riviera was fantastic. This is the best holiday we have ever been on, and it was due to the quality of the accommodation and friendly staff. A superb Hotel.Would definitely recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return here for future holidays...Mr & Mrs Thomas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Alan E,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Riviera.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and that we were able to create some wonderful memories.
We always try hard to make our guests feel really special and as though they were at home.
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards,
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We really enjoyed our week's stay. Our room's sea views were stunning, right across the bay to Naples and over Sorrento itself. The hotel's location is perfect, as a short walk from the busy centre but in a quiet area. All the staff were impressively friendly and it has a relaxed but efficient atmosphere. The front desk staff were particularly helpful, organising taxis and recommending good restaurants. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea-view room -- it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank photoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your lovely review. We were so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that the service provided by our concierges was very helpful.
It will be a great pleasure for us to see you again in the very near future!
With my warmest regards,
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a wonderful week staying in this hotel and now we are not suprised people return.one week for us was not long enough as there is so much to see and do in the area.Two weeks or more and we could have taken full advantage of the sea deck and had more time to relax and enjoy the feeling of being on the water.The veiw of this at night from the balcony was just beautiful with lights twinkling in the water.Our room was a side sea view with views of the orange and lemon groves and across the sea to versuvius.The morning that there were two ships in we could see one from our balcony..It was lovely to see boats going in and out of the harbour,so much going on, on the sea.Now I am a very fussy person. I have changed rooms and even hotels if the standed is not high from two star hotels to four stars, we have stayed in many.Cleanliness for me is very important. This hotel was spotless EVRYWHERE,The staff were very profesional,polite and helpfull,The only complaint I would make is that the drinks are too expensive including coffee. We paid 3euro 50 for a small cup and it was the worst and most expensive that we had.We had a shandy each on the first night and then only had wine and water with dinner. We found the resturant at the top of the road served drinks and there was a great atmosphere. I am sure my bacardi and coke was a treble.I also had ants in my room and it was delt with imedeatly even thogh it was late at night and they didnt return, I have learned that it is quite common in hot countries,they seem to know where the sweets are,This hotel is beautiful, in a good position and not stuffy,they seem to get the balance right.Here you feel relaxed and special, it would suit most ages but I would not recomend it for young children but older would love the deck and would have alot of fun in the sea.I would love to go back to Sorrento and explore some more but there are other places to see in the world. If I do go back I would only want to stay in this hotel. We looked at others while we were there even five star but this has the best deck and terraces. I have recomended to friends and family and know they would love staying at the Riviera. Thankyou to all the staff

Room Tip: sea view even side sea over the lemon groves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Carol T,
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review.
We are delighted to read that your visit exceeded your expectations, the hotel management and the staff are very grateful to you for appreciating the hotel services and we all look forward to seeing you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We returned to the Grand Hotel Riviera again this May to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. The first time we visited was the year before in July for my nieces wedding. We decided to stay at the hotel Riviera because we liked the coastal situation. The attention to detail in all aspects of the hotel wqs brilliant. Service was first class, all the staff were very helpful and the hotel was immaculate. We have enjoyed our stay so much in the past that we have booked for August this year to celebraqte my 60th birthday.We can't wait to go back!!! The food, staff and sunsets are amazing.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite and had beautiful full views of the Amalfi coast with views of Vesuviu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Sharon P,
Thank you very much for writing this lovely review.
It is very nice to read that you chose the Grand Hotel Riviera to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary and that you really enjoyed your stay with us.
We cannot wait to have the pleasure of seeing you again next year!
With warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,647 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £142 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing