We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel Riviera was a very nice hotel. The reception is lovely & bright, clean & welcoming.The reception staff, porters & cleaners were all very helpful & pleasant. Our bedroom was to the side so we had a hedge for a view but it was ok, clean & comfortable. The pool was a nice area but unfortunately it wasn't very hot when we visited on the easter week. It did rain more than once. One of the receptionists recommend going to Villa Cimbrone in Ravello. It was well worth visiting & I would highly recommend it & Ravello itself for a day out. Also recommend going to Positano, it is beautiful place, worth taking the red tourist bus to get there. (You get this at the train station) The breakfast's are buffet style which was ok. Dinner was ok but nothing special considering we were in Italy where the food is supposed to be wonderful. Even some restaurants we went to in Sorrento weren't all that great. I would certainly come back to the area again but might stay in Villa Cimbrone or in Positano.

Room Tip: Top floors with a sea view would be great but they are much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinbiker1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

On top of a great front row position, hotel Riviera has world class staff. Especially the waiters and the receptionstaff. Good advice on trips to Capri, Paestum etc. Excellent, original food, very refined, healthy and very satisfying. We will come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FienekeBaetens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear FienekeBaetens,
Thank you for writing such a great review, there are no words to describe how pleased we are to learn that our "world class staff" and the quality of the food impressed you so much!
It is words like yours that make us proud to be part of the Grand Hotel Riviera family.
We will be extremely happy to have you as our guests again in the near future.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just back from a 4 night break what a Fantastic Hotel with very professional staff who are all willing to help .We was half board and found the breakfast and the evening meal to be top quality .
The bar staff are excellent and are quite happy to advise on cocktails and also tell you about local attraction's. The Hotel is located perfectly with great views across the bay and about a 10 minute walk in to the square .
Would highly recommend a stay at this Hotel and hope to return soon .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Steve C,
Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay with us.
We are really pleased that you appreciated the quality of the food and the professionalism of the staff and we really look forward to seeing you soon at the Grand Hotel Riviera.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia, Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a week's holiday at The Grand Riviera Hotel in Sorrento and would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so warm and comfortable. The restaurant staff especially were so professional and the food both at breakfast and dinner was exceptional. We booked a side sea view room and had views over the garden, sea and Vesuvius. The views from the swimming pool, terrace and restaurant were beautiful. We would recommend this hotel and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear SurreyCatherine,
Thank you very much your kindest words about your stay at the Grand Hotel Riviera and especially for appreciating the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.
It would be for us a great pleasure if you decided to visit us again soon!
With my warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just back from visiting Sorrento with my mum to celebrate finishing my PhD where we stayed a fabulous 4 nights at the Grand Hotel Riviera. The riviera is a 5-10 min walk from the train station which is where the bus from Naples airport (curreri viaggi, 10 euro) drops you off and also where the train line to and from Naples is situated, which stops at both Pompeii and the Herculaneum which are a must see if you are visiting Sorrento. Piazza Tasso the main square and all the shops bars and restaurants are also nearby.
The hotel is very clean and has large bright rooms with a good sized balcony equipped with sun loungers. We stayed in a room which overlooked a small private carpark (very quiet) as well as the pool and some side views of the sea, this was a good room as it got the sun all day on the balcony and was shielded from the wind which made it a little sun trap.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed half board and dinner was amazing, by far the best I've had in any half board hotel. We were assigned our own table and dinner was served by the staff with a selection of first and second courses as well as a help yourself salad bar. They also come round with a selection of different desserts for you to choose from. The dishes were varied and were different every night but always very tasty and I would recommend the fish as it was always cooked beautifully.
The riviera is situated in the most beautiful location right on the cliff edge and you can sit outside with a drink looking across the sea to Vesuvius. There is a lift in the hotel that takes you down the cliff to the sea where there is a private bathing platform equipped with sun loungers, towels and changing rooms, its beautiful and very clean. We were busy seeing the sights so we never had as much time as we would have liked to relax here but this hotel makes a perfect base for seeing the sights Sorrento and the surrounding area has to offer and would also be great for a holiday simply chilling out in the sun with great food, great staff and a great view!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovesunshine87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,
first of all, congratulations for finishing your Doctorate!
We are very pleased to read that we managed to make your holiday so special and we cannot wait to see you and you mum again at the Grand Hotel Riviera.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

All the staff in this hotel went out of their way to make this a memorable stay. They were so friendly,helpful and charming. If you want to feel welcome,this is the place to go. The location is ideal,only a short walk into Sorrento. The room was clean,spacious with a fantastic view over the bay and Vesuvius (room 504). The evening meals were served in The White Elegance dining room and there was always plenty of choice. The waiters were brilliant and the desert trolley tempting. Breakfasts were good but not amazing(typically Italian obviously)of course depends what you are used to. The decor in the hotel is charming with some beautiful artefacts and paintings. There is a beautiful lounge and balcony. The outside decking- reached by the lift-is very attractive and looks to be the best in Sorrento. Lots of sunbeds and chairs. Sorrento is a great base for exploring Amalfi,Capri,Pompeii and Herculanaeum and this is an ideal hotel to return to after a hectic day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guests,
We are extremely grateful for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.
It is very nice to learn that you had a fantastic stay with us and that your holiday was a memorable one.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was one of the best examples of how to treat customers. The staff took great care and attention with us, they were exceptionally pleasant and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sorrento. Dinners were included and the again the waiters would make you feel at ease, taking time to have a friendly chat and the meals were brilliant too. The room was fantastic, clean and we had a lovely sea view looking over Mt Vesuvius. It is perfect distance from Piazza Tasso and the main area of Sorrento. Thankyou Grand Hotel Riviera!

Room Tip: Room 403 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review about your recent hoiliday at our hotel.
We are very pleased that you had a fantastic stay and your kindest words make us proud to be part of this big family, the Grand Hotel Riviera.
We really look forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again in the very near future.
With kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £145 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing