We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel by far exceeded our expectations, first class and above service, fantastic food & good clean comfortable rooms.
Even though it was a very professional establishment it felt like you were part of the family.
A great "beach" area via a short lift trip where the service continued to leave you relaxed and happy.
We went to what was Supposed to be a better hotel where friends where staying but the aspect and service out shone it by a mile.
We will be back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Rob L,
thank you so much for your kind words of praise.
We are really pleased that the hotel exceeded your expectations and we will be extremely pleased to see you again at the Riviera!
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    198
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
173
703
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from 10 nights at the Grand Riviera travelling with our son, his partner and our grandson.We all had an excellent time especially eight month old Zachary. The location is good with easy access to the town centre, the hotel is spotless throughout . We had adjoining rooms which really helped with caring for an infant. The food was very good (the vegetarians having no problem). But what really made the holiday was the quality of service from everyone the waiting staff especially Michel and Sonia, Pepe at the pool and above all the Concierge staff. No problem was beyond them. Our pushchair was damaged on the flight when we asked for help this was taken on and within a few hours a mechanic had been located and the problem had been fixed. There was no problem in providing a late check out.
It was our first stay at the Riviera, we have previously stayed at a well known 5 Star Hotel in Sorrento, this was a much better quality of service. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Hazel K,
Thank you very much for your kind words of praise about our hotel.
We are so pleased that you and your lovely family had a memorable stay with us and we do hope to see you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera in the very near future!
Yours sincerely
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wow! I cannot begin to describe the magic that was Hotel Riviera. The most beautiful views in Sorrento. I stayed here for two nights and had an excellent experience. The waiter, Claudio, was one of the best waiters I have had. Rooms were clean and bright. Only downfall was that the hotel was a much older crowd. We were by far the youngest travelers. The conceirge made great recs for dinner spots, arranged cabs, etc.. You will not regret making this your destination choice!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenwooten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your glowing review!
We are extremely pleased that your Sorrento holiday was un unforgettable one and we would be delighted if you decided to visit us again!
With my kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel May 16-23. What a brilliant trip we had. Rooms were clean and we had a sea view. Food was excellent. Staff were friendly,helpful and could not do enough for you. Location was good just 5-10 mins walk from main centre. Overall a warm,friendly atmosphere with stunning views from the Restaurant,especially at Breakfast. Special mention to Gianni on reception and to Giovanni the maitre' d......Both were really helpful and extremely Professional.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Ian M,.
Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.
It is so nice to learn that you had a fantastic stay and that the quality of the food and the service provided by our staff exceeded your expectations.
We really cannot wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Riviera in the future!
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have recently returned from yet another lovely 11 night stay at The Grand Hotel Riviera. This is my 3rd review of this hotel and can only echo my previous reviews. There are no negatives at this hotel, in fact each year when you think the service couldn't get any better, it does.

The Riviera is perfectly located, tucked away in a quiet corner away from traffic noise on a craggy cliff above the beautiful Bay of Naples, 10-15 minutes slow walk to the The Piazza Tasso.

On arrival you will always be helped by one of the porters with your luggage and then you are greeted with a smile by one of the Concierge staff, Gianni or Ciro by day and Bruno by night. All are very polite, friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The standard of customer service they constantly they provide is of an exceptional high standard. They are the face of The Riviera and are consummate professionals.

We always book a standard room and have the same room each year - thanks to William and Salvatori. The rooms are a good size with a balcony, very tastefully decorated, light and airy with plenty of storage and are immaculately clean (thanks to the cleaning staff).

We stayed half board. The dining room is beautiful, such attention to detail with fabulous views out to sea. The breakfast is hot and cold buffet , the choice is excellent and you can have an omelette or boiled egg to order, the staff are very accommodating. Evening meal is a very enjoyable experience. Giovanni, Luigi and their staff are always there to welcome you each night. They will politely chat to you without being intrusive. The menu is excellent, the choice varied and the food is of a very high standard. Great wine menu and reasonably priced for a 4 star hotel. Our waiter Gennaro who has served us for many years is a legend and is excellent at what he does.

The American Bar still remains our favourite part of the hotel because of how it leads onto the most gorgeous terrace with stunning views out to sea, Vesuvius to the right and Capri to left. You can pass hours sipping something cool watching the boats come and go from the Marina. Claudio the bar manager is a lively character, very entertaining and welcoming as are all his staff -Davide, Gennaro and Antonio. The bar also serves very good snacks at lunch time.

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool with plenty of sun beds, deck hairs and towels are provided. The hotel also boasts it's own private jetty, accessible by a lift again with plenty of beds and umbrellas. The jetty has an attendant and you can order drinks etc.

We had a wonderful 11 night stay at The Riviera, made all the more special by every member of staff providing world class customer service and at the same time making you feel like family. You have all created memories for a lifetime. Thank you. We have already booked for next May and we are bringing my parents with us so.........................L'anno Prossimo.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Denise R,
Thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera again for your holiday in Sorrento.
Your kindest words are a real reward for our hard work and attention towards our guests.
We are so grateful to you and we really cannot wait to see you again next year!
With kindest regards
Paola and Bruno (hotel owners)
Gianni and the entire staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at this hotel and I recommend it highly. The rooms are spotless and the views are breathtaking. The service from all the staff was superb, nothing was ever too much trouble and they always have a friendly greeting with a smile.
In particular the bar staff and our waiter Michele were so attentive.
The communal areas are faultless- from the impressive entrance, lovely swimming pool, wonderful beach area, great restaurant with a large choice every evening, and the bar which we used daily due to the reasonable prices and friendly staff.
We arrived past midnight and they had left a tray with food in our room which was a really nice touch. It was my partner's birthday when we stayed and we had a birthday cake arranged and there was live music on one of the nights which was excellent.
The hotel is well situated close to lovely sorrento and for those who like to explore, perfect for amalfi, ravello, Pompeii, Vesuvius etc etc.

We really didn't want to leave and would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 423deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Deborah S,
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review.
The hotel management and the staff are very grateful and we all look forward to seeing you soon at the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night trip to this wonderful relaxing hotel. It was a late booking and we were very pleased that we had managed to find such a lovely hotel. We were lucky to be able to book room 308 which is a very nice large double with an amazing sea view and balcony. The staff are very attentive without exception, the hotel tastefully decorated and absolutely spotless. The sun deck in the sea was wonderful with a nice clean area to swim in to each side of it and all the facilities you need including a friendly waiter and bar service.
Location of the hotel was perfect with a ten minute walk to the centre which you need with all the lovely food on hand. I also wouldn't fancy swimming in the sea with the more central hotels as they are nearer the port where the water isn't so clean. Hotel has free parking too unlike some of the other more central hotels. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Beverley D,
Thank you for this great review following your recent stay with us.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we are really pleased that from the professionalism of the staff and the decor of the house to the swimming facilities and the hotel's strategic position, you enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Riviera in the very near future!
With kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing