We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Riviera
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$533
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$512
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$483
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$500
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$443
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,701
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveller rating
988
235
50
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
988
235
50
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathing platformthe cliffamerican barbay of naplessea viewprivate jettysweet trolleyhalf boardevening mealfantastic hotelour honeymoonelegant hotelterrace barten minute walksun deckwaiter servicespecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2008

Having spent a week at this hotel, on honeymoon, we had a fabulous time in Sorrento, but in particular our stay at the Riviera made our honeymoon complete.

We enjoyed splendid views from our balconies, one overlooking the port harbour and the other had stunning views of the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius and islands.

The walk into town is only 10 minutes with largely pictureque views out to the bay and 15 minutes from the railway station.

The hotel is grand and stylish with art deco features and breakfast provided a good variety.

The staff were most accomodating and helpful. We look forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stevepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

This hotel should be chosen for the wonderful view it affords over the Bay of Naples from the terrace areas. Additionally, the eveening meals were of a consistently high quality and the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms were clean and for security and peace of mind were fitted with a safe and electrically operated metal shutters protecting the window. The air conditioning was highly effective.

The negatives were all quite minor. Firstly, there were no tea making facilities provided in the room, so bring your own. The view from the balcony of our room was of a high brick wall, just a few metres away. The shower is located over the bath, and does not deliver sufficient spread of water to imerse your head and both shoulders at the same time. The bottom of the bath is rounded, so it is actually quite uncomfortable to stand in it for too long. There are no grab rails provided. Twin single beds are provide as standard, pushed together. These beds can and will move apart sidewise. Couples beware!

The positives far outway the negatives and I am happy to recommend this hotel. It is ideal for couples looking for a quiet holiday

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Anglo-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Just returned from a terrific holiday in Sorrento. Stayed at the Grand Hotel Riviera. Good location - appx 10 min walk from centre according to travel agent's website - although you can double that if you decide to chill out and stroll like the locals rather than rush about like a Brit.

When booking we decided not to pay the extra £800 for a sea view. Our room was therefore a bit disappointing - quite small and no view at all from the balcony. That said, the terrace of the hotel bar has a panoramic view of the bay of Naples including Vesuvius. This is just unbeatable when watching the sunset over the Island of Capri with a cold beer in hand.

Staff are fluent in English, helpful, friendly etc. Hotel and room was spotless - the place has a real feel of class about it.

Booked half board as had no other option at the time. The food is good quality, but fairly limited choice on occasions. Drinks were pricey but no more so than the prices in every bar and restaurant in Sorrento - it's not a venue for a cheap holiday.

One annoyance, is that the hotel, like others on the coast, has a small private "beach" area on a decked jetty into the sea. This is a great place to chill out, but there is a 6 Euro charge per person for the use of a sunbed and hotel towel - a bit of a cheek when you have spent a lot of money to stay at the hotel in the first place. That said, this didn't sour what was a great holiday at a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RubymurrayLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

My wife and I (New Yorkers that love to travel), while touring SW Italy by car, came upon this hotel. Our GPS was leading us into the middle of town and along the way we saw this beautiful looking hotel, realized it was on the coast, and stopped off. We stayed for 2 nights - the first night was $170E and the second night cost us $210E for a "better" room, which was a mistake.

The only positive change was that the room was slightly bigger and we had a direct sea view from our balcony, as opposed to the first night's partial view (looking to the side, which was really nice in itself).

We thought we'd be checking out after the first night to continue our journey, but after a long hot day walking around Pompeii and a ridiculously long walk to dinner (at the Marina Grande), we were exhausted and just didn't want to go anywhere. We were told the walk from the train station (which we took to Pompeii) to the Marina Grande (Fisherman's Pier) wasn't that long of a walk. It was.

The room the second night had really weak a/c and the satellite tv didnt work (but it was a flatpanel as opposed to the old clunker the first night, which actually worked...go figure).

This hotel definitely has some 4 star qualities, as well as some 2 star qualities...The sea dock is absolutely amazing. You can sunbathe, drink (bar w waiter), arrange a boat rental, or swim off the dock in a beautiful, sweet little alcove-type area that's on the sea, just a few steps down off the pier. There are also many other hotels that offer this option, as one can clearly see from the Riviera's property.

The outside of the hotel, including the pool, the dock, and the front where you park your car was immaculate, along with the lobby.

The bar inside the hotel was also extremely chic, with a few really awesome bartenders. Shoutouts to bartender Claudio, who, after he got off work, took us to a very close nearby neighboring town called Santaniello, that he likes to frequent. We went to a place simply called "Wine Bar" which must be experienced by all lovers of the vine...Good prices, amazing selection. At his suggestion we enjoyed a nice plate of antipasto along with some local ice cold spumonte with a nice splash of fresh peach juice...delicioso!

Back to the hotel, the rooms were somewhat dillapidated, with paint chipping and old showers, etc. Nowhere near 4 star caliber...Some other areas of the hotel were also very old and obviously hadn't been renovated in quite some time.

The gentleman at the front desk, Ciro (pronounced Chirro), was nice, spoke decent English and was full of helpful info.

All in all a nice memorable experience...Not the cheapest hotel in town by any means...Some beautiful 4 star attributes, along with some not so 4 star qualities.

If you want an amazing place to stay on the Amalfi Coast, check out Positano...Stay at Hotel Bougainville...much cheaper and more things to do...bars, beach, shopping, and amazing restaurants...and gorgeous. Positano in general was nicer than Sorrento, but Sorrento might be more authentic in some ways...They're both excellent towns.

Ciao!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JayAndNicWeinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2008

As a rule, I never book a package holiday but I was feeling very lazy when doing my research. I do not go back to hotels as I like to experience staying at different places but I would definately go back to this hotel. The views over the bay is wonderful (pay that extra for the seaview room), the staff are polite and helpful, the room and communal areas are clean and location is perfect. I have not forgotten the food, that merits its own sentence. We always eat out, as we like to experience local food but we had the half board option (as it came with the package). The first night we ate dinner in the hotel, fantastic delicious food and the choice was extensive. We ate the next evening in town and decided that we would continue to eat in the hotel, as the food and service is truly 5 star. Oh yes ! breakfast is extensive both Continental and English and yummie. The walk into town is 10 minutes which is perfect for walking off the 3 courses we ate at dinner and is safe. If you are truly lazy, there is a bus stop outside the hotel which takes you 2 minutes into the centre. The pool and bar just has amazing views with waiter service. The hotel is 5 star and has reasonably priced food and drinks - nothing different to london prices. Only one negetive bit - the pool / beach/loungers costs €6 each ( but the chairs are free). The hotel has an older clintele but had its share of younger people who appreciate quality and sophiscation. But overall 'What a fantastic place'

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SandySophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews