We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #18 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The very best Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is the very very best, just returned after 10 nights and have booked again for 2015. All the staff are 1st class looking forward to our next trip. Thanks for a great holiday. Next vist will be number 7 to this great hotel thanks again from Molly and Ron.

Room Tip: See view lower floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen27856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Maureen27856,
Thank you so much for for your lovely review and for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera again.
It is always our pleasure having you as our guests and we really cannot wait to see you again next year!
With kindest regards from the management, the entire staff and from myself
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    198
    41
    10
    7
See reviews for
173
703
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our first stay in this beautiful hotel. Everything about it is impressive, it is spotlessly clean, the food is delicious, the staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful. The concierge kindly arranged a private car Amalfi coast drive, which was wonderful. This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in anywhere, amazing views from a suite overlooking the bay. I'm sure we'll be back soon.

Karen W

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view across the bay - stunning!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear karen w,
Thank you very much for your glowing review.
It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be very pleased to see you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera in the future!
Kindest regards
Gianni
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from a two week stay in this idyllic and marvelously run hotel. From the moment we arrived late on a Friday night and received dinner which we thought would have been missed, until we left two weeks later the staff, from reception desk to all the waiters including Carmine at the beach were always courteous and friendly. The hotel has a stunning location with marvelous views of The Bay of Naples and is very close to the centre of Sorrento, but remains tranquil! I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel. We shall definitely be returning!

Room Tip: It this is your first visit the sea view rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Rhona B,
we are absolutely delighted to learn that we managed to make your holiday in Sorrento so wonderful.
Thank you very much from the management and the hotel staff, for whom you used such lovely words.
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from our first stay at this beautiful hotel. The setting is fantastic and the views across the bay of Naples are spectacular. The staff are friendly helpful and make the stay memorable. The restaurant food was good and the daily menu changes meant there was plenty of variety over the week and restaurant staff are great!

Room Tip: Rooms on -2 floor are beneath restaurant terrace so can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Susan C,
Thank you so much for your kind words of praise from the hotel management and the entire staff.
It will be a big pleasure for us to see you again in the future!
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is the 3rd " beach hotel" we have stayed in Sorrento and I have to say the best so far ! Just home from a 5 night stay at this hotel and we will hope to be back again. From the moment I contacted the concierge Ciro, who booked our transport from Naples station we found the hotel staff very helpful, unobtrusive, and friendly. Breakfast was fabulous, i loved having a glass of prosecco on the open air balcony overlooking the Bay of Naples. The bedroom was bright with a balcony with seaview, the bed was very comfortable. It was a wonderful 50th birthday present from my husband, we hope to return in the near future !

Room Tip: Choose a room with a seaview, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lafalot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear lafalot3,
Thank you very much for your lovely review!
There are no words to describe how pleased we are to learn that your holiday was so pleasant.
We cannot wait to have the pleasure of having you as our guests again in the very near future.
Kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from an unforgettable fortnight at this fabulous hotel. Where do we begin? This luxurious and welcoming hotel is in a quiet cliff top location yet only 10 minutes stroll (on the flat) from the centre of Sorrento. The hotel amenities are second to none from the beautiful swimming pool and private sea bathing area to the stunning terrace with views across the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. We had a lovely room with a private balcony overlooking the lemon groves and the sea. Our room and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean and we looked forward to going back there to an oasis of calm after a busy day of sightseeing. The food at the Grand Hotel Riviera is exceptional - the variety on offer at the buffet breakfast is mind blowing and the waiter service evening meal in the white elegance dining room gave us some of the best Italian food we have ever tasted. However what really made this hotel stand out was the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff who could not do enough for us and made us feel so welcome - they also spoke excellent English which helped make up for our broken Italian. We have already started saving for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jonathan O,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review!
There are no words to describe how pleased we are to have made your holiday a memorable one.
We relly look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Riviera in the near future.
With kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently spent 10 nights in a Junior Suite at the Grand Hotel Riviera for our honeymoon. Location wise, the hotel is in a fairly quiet area and only a short (10 - 15 minute) walk to the main piazza Tasso and the train station. The docks with boats to Naples and Capri are only a further 5 minutes away.

The Juinor Suite was huge with a large balcony overlooking the bay and large bathroom with separate shower and bath - see pictures. A few people have commented on the lack of electric sockets - this is certainly not an issue for the junior suite as there are multiple double sockets.

The hotel is very much suited to adults. We only saw a few children during our stay, and other than the pool there is very little to keep them occupied.

The staff were always pleasant, especially the cleaning lady who we saw everytime we went back to our room. The management certainly take cleanliness very seriuosly.

The food was good. Breakfast consisted of a wide selection of cereals, fruit and pastries. Dinner was always different - the starters were large, mains tasty and desserts enough to finish you off. We were served each night by Luigi and Rollessa who were always pleasant and were thankfully happy to communicate in English, as our Italian is not up to scratch.

The hotel hosted two wedding functions whilst we were there. On one of the occasssions it did feel like we were attending the wedding as the restaurant and function room were seperated by flower pots, however a dividing wall was up for the second wedding so it must have simply been that the first wedding was a little large to go in its seperate room. Didn't casue an issue in any case.

The bathing platform is good. Beware - although the sea looks lovely and inviting it's very cold!

Transfers from Naples airport took a little over 1 hour. The driver on our arrival was very good and answered all of our questions giving us vital bits of information that definatley made our holiday easier.

Overall, a really nice hotel and im glad we chose to stay there.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra and get a sea view - its spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_J_C_1_2_3_4_5_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review!
Your kindest words describe exactly what the hotel has to offer to the guests and we are extremely grateful to you for that.
We really cannot wait to have the pleasure of seeing you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera.
kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing