We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the first two weeks in July for our Honeymoon and we had the best time. The hotel is beautiful and clean. Has amazing views from the restaurant and terrace and the swimming platform in the sea is amazing. We booked through Thomson and had a "limited sea view" room which we were worried about when we booked, however on arrival we could see the sea, Mount Vesuvius and up towards the hills so could not fault it.

The hotel staff are lovely and friendly, especially Michel in the restaurant and Carmine on the swimming platform. Nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into Sorrento which we liked. Your not in the hustle and bustle, but your close enough to walk to in an evening.

We booked in as half board and before we arrived at the hotel we thought we would go out for a few meals in Sorrento, however the food was so good at the hotel we only actually went out twice in the two weeks! The menu was different every day and in the two weeks we never had the same thing twice. The breakfasts were extensive with cereal, cold meats, cheeses, pastries, eggs, bacon, bread etc. We filled up every morning and didn't require lunch.

Our only ever so slight downside was our room was opposite what I assume is the cleaning cupboard and most days we were woken up quite early with the cleaner getting things out. This did however mean we didn't lay in bed until late and we could enjoy more of the day.

We really enjoyed our honeymoon at this hotel and I am sure we will return in the future.

Thank you to all the staff at the Grand Hotel Riviera!

Room Tip: We were in 311 which wasn't right on the front of the hotel, but still had a lovely view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank emrc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear emrc123,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel with the Tripadvisor readers.
It is so nice to learn that you had such a lovely stay for your honeymoon, we know how important
this occasion must have been for you!
It will be our great pleasure to see you soon at the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just returned from our stay at the "Riviera" and as always it was a pleasurable experience.
Walk through the doors to be met by the most professional, polite and welcoming Concierge and
Reception team.
Meander through the most opulent Lounge to a terrace displaying amazing views of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius.
On entering our spotlessly clean bedroom which was furnished in the cool, classic Italian style, we were impressed by the huge black & white photographic picture that depicted the culture of Italy.
Breakfast taken on the Terrace, was a superb array of hot & cold dishes to suit all tastes.
Lunch on the terrace was one of those unforgettable moments, delicious Italian food with fabulous views, supported by friendly and efficient staff.
We had Dinner most evenings in the White Elegance restaurant where we thoroughly enjoyed every meal and were attended by a team who gave 100% service and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Daytime was spent by the pool but if you wish to swim in the sea there is a bathing platform reached via a lift. Both areas provide drinks & snacks etc. again with excellent service.
No matter where you may be in the Hotel you feel the charm, class and elegance of Italy around you ...... We will return!!

Walter C. Cheltenham

Room Tip: Upper floors give great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Walter C,
Thank you so much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor!
It is always an immense pleasure for us to have you as our guests and we all look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Riviera.
Kindest regards from the management, the whole staff and from myself
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My mother and I stayed here while I was studying abroad. It was the most beautiful hotel and room I have ever stayed at! The staff was so friendly and accomodating- a no-stress place to stay! We had lunch on the terrace on day which overlooks the ocean and is so relaxing. It is a 10 minute walk or so to the city center, nice to be away from the hustle and bustle but easy to get to. The food was excellent- the breakfast spread was quite impressive and available until 10/11am. There was something for everyone (gluten-free, dairy-free, kids, etc) and the lunch and dinner menu was quite impressive. The hotel is pristine and our room with an ocean view and balcony was wonderful. The pool was a bit chilly as we were there in March and there were some swimmers down in the water off of their docks! The views and sunsets were unbeatable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Katherine W,
Thank you so much for your great review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you and your mother spent such a lovely time in our house.
You have describet with great precision what the hotel can offer to the guests and we are really grateful to you for that.
We cannot wait to see you again soon!
With kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one week stay. We can understand why guests frequently return to this hotel. It is clean, very convenient for the town, has probably one of the best cliff top views from the rooms, and most importantly the staff are very friendly and helpful. My wife and I have stayed in many 5* hotels around the world and we have not experienced a similar level of staff experience, friendliness and helpfulness. We reiterate the positive comments of other reviewers.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Whalb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Whalb62,
What a fantastic review you have written!
It is words like yours that make us proud to be part of the Grand Hotel Riviera family.
Thank you very, very much and we really hope to have the great pleasure to see you again in the very near future.
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our 9th year at The Grand Riviera and once again could not fault it. The hotel is light and airy and our room has a fabulous view over The Bay of Naples. It is very clean and the public areas are superb. The swimming pool, bar, lounge and dining room overlook the wonderful view. The most important thing about the hotel is the STAFF. They are without exception wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. We'll be back next year. It is a testament that guests go back year after year. M @ J

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea. It would be a shame to miss out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Margaret T,
Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review!
We are always delighted to have you as our guests and it is particularly important for us to learn that the attitude and the kindness of our colleagues impressed you once again.
We already look forward to welcoming you to the Grand Hotel Riviera next year!
Kindest regards from the management, the entire staff and myself
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Once again we had a fantastic holiday at this hotel. Views from the hotel are amazing and never cease to take our breath away. The sunsets in particular are stunning. Special mentions are due to Claudio (bar/ terrace), Carmine (beach bathing platform area) and Ciro (reception), although none of the staff can be faulted and go out of their way to make sure your holiday is as good as it can be. We have visited the hotel five times, but not in consecutive years, however, we are always remembered and greeted fondly. We shall return!

Room Tip: Many guests choose to have a side sea view or garden view room as the vista across the Gulf of Naple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueTwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear BlueTwinkle,
weare so pleased that once again we managed to make your holiday an unforgettable one.
Thank you very much, we cannot wait to see you again in the near future!
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our third visit to the Riviera hotel and we personally think it was even better than last time. We thought the food was 1st class and the staff throughout the hotel were kind and very thoughtful. The hotel is located in a good position for the centre of Sorrento and there is a bus stop right outside should you wish to do your own thing. We booked a package with Citalia through Thomas Cook so all our costs were included in the price. (Private transfers, sunbeds and half board ). The hotel is immaculately clean everywhere and if there is something you want you only have to ask. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Lateral sea view room are slightly restricted with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taffys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera again for your holiday in Sorrento.
We are really pleased to read that your stay was very pleasant and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £147 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing