We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's A Grand Hotel Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's A Grand Hotel Riviera”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned after our 10th visit to this wonderful hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay as we have on previous years. From walking through the door your are greeted with the most helpful and courteous staff Ciro, Gianni and of course Salvatore who's aim is to meet your every need. The hotel overlooks the Bay of Naples with stunning views of Vesuvius and Capri which you feel as though you can almost touch. Think of sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine the sun going down and you have the Grand Hotel Riviera. We cannot speak highly enough of the staff, Gennero (sorry I think I may have spelt his name wrong) who serves at the table breakfast and evening dinner impeccably, Carmine our bathing deck attendant who has the gift of remembering our drinking and eating habits from one year to the next, Claudio in the bar who never fails to entertain and the list goes on. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and all have a balcony that you can sit on and relax after a hard day on the bathing deck. The choice of food is extensive and over the 2 week period are never offered the same menu twice. Counting down the weeks till next year. Arrivederci.

Room Tip: We have been in various rooms over the years, if you require a room with a view go for a sea view it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Karen F,
Thank you for your fantastic review.
You have described with great precision what the hotel can offer to the guests and we are extremely grateful to you for that.
We cannot wait to see you again next year!
Kindest regards from the management, the entire staff and from myself
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    219
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
196
758
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herzele, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed already twice @ Grand Riviera & on tuesday we are going back to Grand Riviera. Why? This hotel is excellent / Top Class. For us it is more like coming home. Super friendly staff, perfect food & great wines, perfect location........

A presto!
Anja & Guy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goessensguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have had the most wonderful stay in the Riviera. The hotel more than lived up to the reviews that we had read previously. The staff were all very pleasant professional and welcoming from the reception staff to housekeeping. The breakfast and dining staff were especially good and we would like to say a special thank you to Roselle who looked after us in the dining room. The food was excellent and the rooms were kept spotless. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a special holiday in Sorrento. If you really want to experience what it is like visit the hotels website and run the video clip on there we keep revisiting it to remind us how magical it is, thank you everyone we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimK215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear KimK215,
It is lovely to learn that your holiday at the Grand Hotel Riviera was really memorable.
Thank you very, very much from the hotel management and the entire staff, we cannot wait to see you again in the near future!
With warmest regards,
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for only 2 nights in June on our way to Positano. If I had known how amazing it is we would have stayed longer! We loved everything about the hotel. The location is great since it's about 10 min walk from the main square so it's not over crowded with people around the streets by the hotel. And the walk is gorgeous!!

We had the deluxe room with a wonderful balcony and partial ocean view and pool view. The balcony was great since we could sit out on the table and drink wine while the sun set. The room had everything we needed, comfy bed, dark shades, large bathroom and fantastic wifi.

The pool looked great but we spent all our daytime by the deck over the ocean. The elevator takes you through the rocks and you have plenty of chairs or loungers to choose from. You can order drinks down there and small snacks. We left our chairs and went up to the restaurant for a proper lunch. The wine was a little expensive compared to the town prices, but that's what you expect from a hotel of this caliber. We didn't mind it.

We LOVED the lounge area/bar area and had drinks there before we would head out for the night and then again for a night cap. Special shout out to Claudio! He was the best! We got to watch a few World Cup games in the bar and it always drew a nice crowd. Claudio also served us lunch and recommended the best dishes.

The only minor negative to staying here is that there were 2 weddings during our stay so the hotel was very crowded and loud. We actually enjoyed doing a little people watching and seeing a real Italian wedding but some people might be annoyed if they planned on staying at the hotel for dinner. We head out to eat both nights so it was fine.

We are already planning our next trip but will stay longer!

Room Tip: Ocean view with a balcony is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilove-europ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for writing such a great review on Tripadvisor.
It would be nice if next time you decided to visit us again for a longer time, in the meantime please accept my kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewloe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not long returned from a lovely holiday in this hotel
The hotel is fabulous situated on the edge of the cliff overlooking the bay of Naples a short walk from the centre of Sorrento
The staff are friendly and will do anything they can to make your holiday enjoyable
The food is good and the service excellant even on the days they have weddings to cater for.
Rooms as spotlessly clean and on the large size. If you are lucky to have a sea view it is great just sitting of an evening looking out to sea Just look forward to returning
Thanks for the air con
Hope to see you all in the not to distant future

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear ann2814,
Thank you for your glowing review!
We are delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time at the Grand Hotel Riviera and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The grounds were lovely, breakfast excellent .. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful but we weren't that impressed with our room. Quite dated and no view despite requesting one. Would highly recommend an ocean view. The location of the hotel was very central and you could walk anywhere in 10-15mins

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Austyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Austyn C,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel position, the breakfast and the friendliness of the staff.
Regarding the view, your reservation was for a standard room and this type of rooms have no sea view.
We would be extremely pleased if you decided to visit us again in the future!
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, Esse
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks, end of June to the first week in July.

ROOMS
This hotel is stunning and in a good location to walk into Sorrento which takes about 10 mins. The rooms are an excellent standard, very clean and bright. However, the hair dryer in the bathroom in our first room was one of those that is more like a vacuum hose, so virtually useless, our second rooms hair dryer was slightly better, I was disappointed there was no kettle and no iron.

The reason we moved was because we was put on the first floor, which from reading previous reviews is not the best floor for views, however I didn't expect to open the patio doors and find a wall of green ivy held up by wire, if I was staying for one week it wouldn't have mattered too much but to spend two weeks sitting on a balcony during down time getting bitten by Mosquitos isn't really my idea of fun.

We was moved within two days to another room on the same floor which had a much better view, and was exactly the same style.

RESTAURANT
Our first evening at dinner, we was lead to a table right at the end on the dining room were there are 3 tables situated, there was a small table pushed up to ours which we discovered was used to serve from, but not just our food everybody else's! And after waiting for our drinks for 35 mins I did call the maître'd over, to be honest the flight was very early so a lack of sleep and a rubbish view and then being stuck in the corner made us feel like second class citizens! The people beside us also said they wouldn't be sitting there the next night either. However the next night we was moved to the opposite end of the room in front of the window so had a magnificent view every evening watching the sun go down.

By this point I was beginning to feel like moaning Myrtle, and the waiter did roll his eyes when we told him our new room no for the bill!

We as a couple aged 50 & 45, like to enjoy a bottle of wine with our meals and the restaurant food is absolutely divine, with an excellent choice every night, however the bottles of wine start from €23 which I really don't mind paying for but when it is the cheapest bottle of plonk being sold at roughly 2 times the price of any other restaurant in Sorrento you do feel like your being ripped off, we ended up for the second week not buying any and we had started making one bottle last two nights, which is not like us at all, our overall bill was £180 for two weeks, we have never had such a cheap bill so the hotel lost out on our money and we spent it elsewhere.

POOL AND BEACH

What can I say, the pool is lovely and quiet with stunning views and excellent service from the pool attendant, for me though the beach was amazing, you travel down in an elevator 53 metres inside the cliff and come out to a jetty which is laden with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, the sea is sectioned off by rocks which break the waves making it gentle and relaxing, I fell asleep regularly there, again the bar bill is expensive, €9 for a white wine spritzer and not a very generous one at that, we definitely could have spent more money here but I don't like to be ripped of.

Please note though Italy doesn't really have many sandy beaches, I was aware of this but other guests didn't seem to realise this.

SERVICE

The staff are extremely well trained and professional, and will do all they can to accommodate you.

I was a little disappointed to not have my husbands 50th birthday acknowledged as this was mentioned on our booking, however I wasn't as disappointed as the couple I heard in reception complaining that they had single beds and quite clearly had told them it was their honeymoon!

The maid for our room was excellent, our room was spotless every day.

Entertainment was provided a couple of nights a week, but as the hotel is a little like gods waiting room for the well off, it was a bit old for us.

We found a nice little place across the road from the hotel, you come out of the hotel and turn right, walk about 100yards and cross the road there is a football stadium and up a slope is a bar, run by an Italian guy and his wife. We had lunch there, which included wine and beer and came to less than €20! We visited most nights and it was full of guests from the hotel who were also attracted by the €5 bottles of wine and €8 for prosecco as opposed to €30 in the hotel. A 660cl bottle of Peroni was €3 a real bargain, you could also watch the sun going down behind the beautiful gardens and get a stunning sunset from there.

We also went out for an evening to a restaurant which was less than 5 minutes walk, come out of the hotel and walk straight up the road and the restaurant is at the junction directly opposite. We had a great night there, a guy was playing classical music on an old piano, they then had dancers and finished off with a young women singing, it was such a lovely atmosphere, decent food and drinks, we had two bottles of wine a large beer, and two piña coladas, a generous meal all for €65 including tip.

I'm going on a bit here but to summarise, we personally wouldn't visit again, firstly because we don't generally revisit places any way, but secondly, it was too old for us and boring. The hotel is beautiful and defiantly a very high standard but for two weeks I was going a little stir crazy.

Shout out to Max and Ruth if you're reading this, we really enjoyed your company and probably would've gone stir crazy without someone nice to talk too xx

Room Tip: Definitely request a higher room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Essexfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing