We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed ”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it's slightly out of the centre - less than 10 mins walk to Piazza Tasso & it has a private jetty. It was a joy as this is a big hotel made to feel like a small hotel by the great staff. I had elderly parents & family staying nearby and we all enjoyed meeting on the jetty each afternoon after our days out. Dining room is a little formal but the food is fab, cocktails are good value with stunning views from the terraces. Ps there is a bar down the road attached to the football pitch which is a good place to meet and Pompeii has free entry on the 1st Sunday of the month. We would highly recommend this great hotel & will certainly stay there if we return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J0ffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable!
We will be delighted to have you as our guests again in the future!
Warm regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    211
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
185
734
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel after much research as this was our honeymoon and we wanted it to be perfect. And it really was! From the moment we went through the door to the large, cool reception we knew we had made the right choice. This hotel is athestitically wonderful , it is so bright and airy. Our room was so clean and bright with a lovely side balcony where we sat and admired the view. The position of the hotel on the cliff top means that you have stunning views of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesiusus. Breakfast was the highlight of the day as it was taken outdoors on the terrace enjoying the beautiful weather and gorgeous vista. The choice and quality of the food is outstanding. Many thanks to the young chef who freshly cooked eggs each morning.
Only a ten minute walk into Sorrento which we undertook each evening and enjoyed some really fantastic meals.
Amazingly we never made it to the pool as we took the lift down to the platform where there are plenty of loungers, free towels and food and drink available. It was delightful to have a swim in the sea.
So overall I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Special thanks to Gianni on Reception who was always so friendly and helpful. We will be back sometime in the future to celebrate our anniversary. Liz and Andy Price

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Liz W,
Thank you for choosing the Grand Hotel Riviera for your honeymoon.
It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests!
We are delighted to learn that your visit was a very pleasant and relaxing one and that the service exceeded your expectations.
We really hope to have the pleasure of seeing you soon,
kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Persuaded by friends who have been to this hotel on three occasions, we were surprised and delighted by the ambiance and attention to detail. From the moment we entered the beautiful lobby, we felt relaxed and at home, and more importantly, welcomed. The staff really knew what they were doing and with an experienced and established team they produced an excellent service. Sorrento can be a hot, sweaty place in summer, so the first delight was the excellent air conditioning system throughout the interior, but the position of the hotel on the cliff top lends itself to cooling breezes on all the terraces and swimming pool. The lift down to the sea-bathing area was a big bonus - immaculate and enjoyable. We opted for half-board - not my normal choice - which proved excellent. Breakfasts and dinners were something to anticipate with relish, and the long-established staff were both efficient and friendly, and the food, first class.
Getting to Sorrento is a pain. The airport bus from Naples was not particularly comfortable and took over an hour. We tried a taxi to Naples Railway Station, but this took an hour and a half. Perhaps next time we will try the ferry across the bay, but we would still need a taxi to/from the jetties.

Room Tip: We found a limited sea view worth having as the views across to Naples are excellent. A full sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikea4167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear mikea4167,
thank you so much for your great review and for describing with precision what the hotel can offer to the guests.
The hotel management and the entire staff are really grateful and we all look forward to seeing you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at the Riviera for 11 nights what a lovely and elegant hotel the restaurant staff were amazing very professional every thing about the hotel is fabulous . I had one of my best holidays here and I can see why people return year after year. the views are amazing while you are having your evening drink. I didn't want to leave only a 10 min walk into Sorrento town will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thez50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such lovely words about your recent stay with us, we will be delighted to see you again at the Grand Hotel Riviera in the near future!
With kindest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just spent 11 fabulous days at the Grand hotel Riviera lovely staff excellent food,and very clean. The hotel overlooks the bay of Naples and our room gave us stunning views of versuvius and Capri,the hotel is only 10mins walk to sorrento town. We have enjoyed our holiday so much that we have booked to come back to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear June L,
We are very grateful to you for your great review.
We are extremely pleased to read that you have decided to visit us again next year and we cannot wait to welcome you to the Grand Hotel Riviera!
Kind regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We spent a very lovely week at this hotel, it has the perfect location overlooking the bay of Sorrento and in near 10min stroll to the town centre. The hotel is very clean, the food's excellent with a wide ranging selection. Whilst there is a good selection of drinks in the hotel, they are on the pricey side but then this is a 4-star hotel in Sorrento. There is a charming little bar/cafe just outside the hotel next to the football stadium which has very reasonable drinks and snacks, it's run by a lovely couple. We stayed in one of their basic rooms but more than adequate and tastefully decorated. The hotel has it's own swimming platform/sun bathing area which is idyllic, relaxing and stress-free. There is always enough sunbeds and there was no rush to get towels on beds. The staff are friendly, funny and attentive - they create a great atmosphere. The head barman is so gregarious he makes your feel very welcome. I'd definitely return and will recommend it to anyone. It is a classy, welcoming and truly a splendid hotel that is Grand Hotel Riviera.

Room Tip: Upper floors with balcony, ask for a seaview but be prepared for the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianniCartiglia, Chief Concierge at Grand Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Dan C,
Thank you very much for your kind words of praise on Tripadvisor.
We really look forward to seeing you soon at the Grand Hotel Riviera!
With warmest regards
Gianni Cartiglia
Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have just spent eleven days at The Grand Hotel Riviera and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although a bit of a walk into Sorrento town it helped to walk off the excellent food! All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms excellent. The lower rooms called garden rooms do not have much of an outlook or balcony. The pool was very good but the back of it could do with smartening. The pool attendant Pepe was super but he could do with a new building and the bins could do with a new home but all round it was very good. The residents lounge was lovely as was the terrace for a drink before dinner. It was a very well kept hotel lovingly cared for. All round a super holiday. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: A side sea or full sea view is best although a good bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandAnn186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,537 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing