We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Holmes Chapel
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Just got back from this hotel which ticked all the boxes for me and my partner. The service was as good as we had hoped from all the staff and particularly the reception which for us is a good indication of the standard in the rest of the hotel. Food was also very good and the dining room was a joy looking over the bay of Naples. We must also mention the dining room staff who never failed to give anything but their best even when the place was full.
The large patio was the most inviting place to be in the evening gazing at the stars in the warm night.
Why this hotel is number 21 on the TA list is a mystery. It is slightly out of the centre (15/20 minutes walk to the Piazza Tasso) but there are public buses and the location is quiet and so different from the town and its big crowds
Would we go back? Without a doubt and we would probably see guests who go back year after year

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancienttrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    211
    42
    10
    8
See reviews for
186
735
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

My husband, teenage son & I stayed in this hotel during the first week of June and I would highly recommend it to to others.

Customer Service was exceptional. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, assisting us us with our italian language skills! The waiters and chef were extremely attentive, nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel was kept spotlessly clean, the views were amazing and it's in a great location, ten minute stroll into the centre of Sorrento.

Would definately return....... MAGNIFICO!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

What a great hotel in Sorrento. The views were fantastic, right on the edge of a cliff looking out to sea whether you were in the restaurant, bar or sitting by the pool. Spotlessly clean, all our bedrooms were well appointed, bright & welcoming. We really looked forward to our meals, for breakfast you could have just a bowl of fresh fruit & cereal or toast, pastries, cheeses, ham,smoked salmon or a hot selection(our favourite was scrambled egg with smoked salmon, tomoto & bucks fizz) & the evening meal was excellent, a large selection of salads from the buffet followed by 3 courses. All the staff were very helpful & couldn't do enough for you but we must make a special mention of Giovanni & Michele in the restaurant, Claudio in the bar & Ciro on reception. This is definately one of the best hotels we have stayed in & would not hesitate in recommending it to friends

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This was a glorious hotel. The view over the Bay of Naples from the terrace is simply stunning, but what really makes this hotel special is what goes on inside it.

Our room was delightful - spacious, airy and very comfortable. The staff were constantly helpful and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was really wonderful, and amazingly reasonably priced. We normally eat out to save money, but I suspect that we would have been ripped off for a poor quality pizza in town when we could get a far higher quality meal in the hotel for the same price or less. The "grand buffet" was a true feast, with something to suit everyone.

The pool was immaculate and the artificial "beach" is a perfect sun trap. Look out for jellyfish though - they were swept in with the tide one day, and swimming wasn't advisable because of them. One of the staff did valiantly set about fishing them out of the sea though!

We had a few small problems with ordering in the restaurant, and it would be helpful if the dishes were shown in Italian and English, not German & English, so that we and the waiters both knew what we were ordering! It caused a small problem one evening, but it was handled with immense courtesy.

I could have stayed a month, and the teenagers and active husband really chilled out.

Quite a lot of English tourists there, because it seems to be in one of the Thomson brochures, but they tend to be older couples without children. Any children were mainly 7+ while we were there, although there is a toddler pool.

Absolutely recommended, and one of the few hotels that I hope I will go back to one day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucksfamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covent Garden
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Having stayed in many 4-5 star hotels in Europe, the US and Australia, I have to say that the Grand Riviera is right up there with the very best. Brilliant service, particularly from the front of house who were friendly, polite and incredibly helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The rooms are large, clean and our double balconied suite had costal views which dreams are made of. No rip offs in the bar...in fact excellent value all round. Great location (10 minute flat walk to the centre). I cannot wait to return, it was a fantastic all round experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leics
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This is a quiet hotel on the edge of Sorrento, the perfect place to unwind and relax. It is right on the edge of the cliff with spectacular views across the Bay of Naples.

The hotel is within walking distance (10-15 min walk) of the train station, bus station and the ferry terminal, though I found the walk at night a bit unsettling - as it is so quiet, badly lit, and the pavements were uneven. The Royal was located in a much better position that bit nearer to the centre.

All the hotel staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. The hotel has a comfortable lounge looking over the sea and a lovely pool and terrace with fab sea views.

The food in the hotel was good, the dining room had stunning views of the sea and Mount Vesuvius. Evening meal - buffet salad to start, then waiter service for the other 3 courses. There was a limited choice menu and portions were quite small. Once a week there is a Grand Buffet and the food was much better, and hot for a change.

Be warned, if you book a full sea view room you could be allocated a room below the hotel, built into the cliff face. Effectively a cave room! We were moved to a much nicer room above ground when we said we were unhappy. Room 131 is great, a good size with a wonderful view and large balcony (which had deckchairs as well as a table and chairs.

We booked with Thomson and went on 2 trips with them, to Capri (very disappointing) and the Amalfi Drive, wonderful, worth every penny. Do not have the set lunch on the tours (cost: 13 euros) though, they were awful. We did Pompeii on our own by train, very easy and good value that way.

Would I go back? Perhaps, I might try The Royal, for the better location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tienen
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Positif : Most working people are very efficient and gently.

Negatif: Some clients say food was better before.

What i saw: Macaroni-vermicelli- Spagetti was all Spagetti, lamb was not very good !!!!!

People need a copy of the consumated things every time (some people had problems with it) Me too, i found it had to be !!! (only a question of confidence and good-feeling).

It would be nice if the hotel had a (pay or not pay-bus) from the hotel to the center, surely for older people and people with problems cause its a long way to the center and that would give a more-value.(some hotels have that service)

I also find it would give a more-value for the hotel if the direction had a more open mind for renewing and food, not that the food wasn't good (it was exellent) but all the things together wood give a fifth star and more clients.

There is a need of doing "TMP"
One of the most important things is to do a brainstorming-writing what makes part of "TPM"

With all the best meanings Lochy Aimé (I was in a TPM-group by a factory and it gave a 20% of more-production after we did TPM so i have the Now-How) 0497-158053 Belgium (28mai-2juin i was in hotel Riviera)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amaato13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,538 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Riviera
Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing