We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday we ever had.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Riviera
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Five stars all the way for everything - position, accomodation, service, food - everything. A hotel that really understands what customer service is all about. We will definitely be returning to Sorrento - but only if we can get into the Riviera.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakeP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2010

To save time with this, I'm just going to cut and paste the email I sent thanking them.
***************************
Dear Salvatore
We would like to say a huge thank you to you, and everyone at the Grand
Riviera, for giving us such a fantastic holiday.

From the minute we arrived at the airport, to when we were sadly dropped
back to Naples last Sunday we had the most wonderful time. The hotel is
really fantastic, the rooms were excellent, and ALL of the staff at the
hotel are all really lovely and so friendly.

Please can you thank everyone from us, and hopefully one day we will be able
to come back !

I have attached a photo of my wife and daughters with Claudio who manages the bar.
.......we will send a hard copy in the post.

Once again, many thanks for all your help and arrangements, which meant we
had such a lovely time.
Very best wishes
*******************************************

Seriously, this is a really lovely hotel. It may not be "5 Star" pompous luxury, but what makes it special are ALL the staff. They literally can't do enough for you and are just so friendly. If you stay there please please make sure you talk to them, ask about them and show an interest and belive me, you will be rewarded. We witnessed some families and couples who obviously didn't want to talk and just treated the staff like "servants" and they missed out "big-time". Yes, it's not cheap, but everything was just fabulous. We will have to save up to go back one day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento
We do not normally book “package holidays” but wanted a break away for my wife’s birthday and she fancied another trip to Italy. As we had never been to the Neapolitan Riviera I had searched some hotels in Sorrento on the internet and found great reviews on TripAdvisor on the Grand Hotel Riviera. We then came across Thompson A la Carte Premier Collection and the hotel was in their brochure. What tempted us in booking with Thomson was the benefits of the A La Carte package which included access to the airport lounge in the UK, larger luggage allowance, selection of seat on the plane before travel, and private transfers from the airport to our hotel. The Riviera did not disappoint (apart from the hard bed!) the location is great, perched on a cliff edge overlooking Bay of Naples with stunning views and it is one of the few hotels that has access to the sea via a lift through the rock down to a private bathing platform, a jetty with sunbeds, deckchairs, umbrellas and towels were available. From the moment you arrive at the hotel all the staff are friendly and helpful and the large lobby area is bright and welcoming. The bedroom was a good size with a balcony having its own table two chairs and deckchairs. It was quite basically furnished but had enough storage and hanging space, safe, mini bar and TV. The only English speaking channels were BBC News, Sky news and CNN news. The large king size bed was too hard for my liking and the air con was just about keeping up with the heat wave we were experiencing 43-48 degrees C on most days!. The food was excellent and fresh with plenty of choice. At dinner there was waiter service and they always greeted you with a warm smile and nothing was too much trouble. This hotel is popular with Italians taking there summer break and by all accounts one of the best 4* hotels in Sorrento. To walk into the main town square “Piazza Tasso” would take 15-20 mins but if you wanted there was a local bus stop right outside the hotel entrance. Bars and restaurants were plentiful but two of my favourites were “Ristorante ‘O Parrucchiano” and the “Foreigners Club” which had stunning views over the bay. I will be recommending this hotel to friends along with Thomson holidays who looked after us extremely well

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PH&LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This hotel is ideally located away from the noise of traffic in Sorrento, if you book a room with its sea view of Vesuvius as we did you won't be disappointed. Just sit on your balcony and watch the plethora of luxury yachts and the cruise liners that turn up about once a week for a day and then move off.

The hotel staff are excellent, the rooms are very clean , and the A/C worked as expected. We booked through booking.com on a B&B basis and used to walk into Sorrento for our evening meal although prices are not too high to eat in the hotel except when ordering wine, very expensive.

Poolside area was very good with a full time attendant who will serve you tea or whatever and the beach/jetty area for which you have to take a lift down as the hotel is located on the cliffs as indeed all are in that area.

We would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The hotel is very elegant, beautifully decorated with lots of places to sit and while away time. The staff are very welcoming and so helpful. Our room had a side sea view which we didn't expect and was very nice it was comfortable and looked much nicer than it does in the brochure (the green is really pretty and refreshing).

The restaurant food was delicious and we had a fab view out over the sea from our table which you keep each night. The portions are not massive, but there's four courses so you are full by the end! Breakfast is buffet and I could honestly say that they thought of everything, even champers!

We only used the swimming pool twice but it was clean and again the views across the bay were gorgeous. We preferred the deck, jutting out into the sea you truly could feel like you were on a boat. There were plenty of sunbeds and set out with lots of space, so none of this having to rush down with a towel. Pool/deck towels are supplied by the hotel and all the beds are free. The facilities on the deck are the same as hotel, with a nice sitting area to enjoy a snack/drink. There's a lovely breeze that comes off the sea too and not forgetting all the amazing boats that drop anchor.

There's lots of places to visit, Capri, Amalfi, Herculaneum and would highly recommend doing it yourself as the transport is cheap, reliable and on your doorstep (so unlike home, LOL).

Sorrento itself is buzzing and very Italian so you actually feel like you are abroad rather than somewhere hot with lots of Brits. Take care with the roads as scooters are everywhere - an entertainment in itself. The walk into the main town is about 15 min stroll but you can get the bus or a cab if your legs aren't up to it. There's so many places to eat and drink and I would recommend the Thomson's reps wee tour that she does after the meet and greet as it was nice to orientate yourself and you get to try some wine and food and she's does the tour with humour!

Someone else mentioned tea/coffee facilities would be nice and have to agree with that one.

Sorrento is expensive, so be prepared to spend a lot of Euro's, but other than that I cannot fault this holiday or hotel. We had a fabulous time and would most definitely go back to Sorrento and the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeyearhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This was our first visit to Sorrento and how pleased we were that we chose the Grand Riviera Hotel. Our sea view room was stunning, a wonderful view across the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius, the food was very good ,always something on the menu to tempt you.The staff were amazing so helpful and friendly especially Claudio, Marco Luigi and lovely little Rossella. We had a wonderful holiday. Any downsides? Just one small one, it would have been good to have coffee/tea making facilities, but we managed. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffys64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and I have just returned from the Grand Hotel Riviera and have had a wonderful week.
We had such a relaxing time, and it was lovely to sit on the hotel terrace in the evening with a glass of Prosecco, watching the sun set over the Bay of Naples. Cruise ships would often drop anchor in the bay and one evening there was a firework display from boats in the sea opposite the hotel.
It was an easy (flat!) walk into Sorrento town and we felt it was perfectly positioned for being able to see the area. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained and the staff were fantastic. We were on half board and the food was wonderful. The buffet breakfast was so varied, something for everyone from continental meats and cheeses to traditional cereals, bacon, eggs etc. The evening meals were delicious and the choice of desserts made it hard to decide on which one to choose!
We got the hydrofoil over to Capri independently and spent a lovely day there and the only organised trip we did was a half day excursion to Herculaneum which was well worth the money. The guide was interesting and informative and the length of the trip was just right. We were pleased we chose this over the trip to Pompeii as in the August heat, we felt half a day out was best. Also the venue is that much smaller and you can literally see everything there in half a day whereas Pompeii is much larger and you would only see a portion.
We would often walk into town mid morning and have a capucinno in the Cafe Fauno which is a beautiful place to just sit and watch the world go by.
We had an amazing time and I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends. If I went back to Sorrento, I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,641 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Aniello Califano 22, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#21 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#30 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £142 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few short steps from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel enjoys a splendid position overlooking the sea and with a panorama of the entire Gulf of Naples and Vesuvius.The warm welcome reserved for our guests and the professionalism of our staff make the Riviera a first class hotel, where you can enjoy a vacation in which our hospitality takes care of your every comfort. The hotel offers an American bar, Restaurant, Swimming pool, Solarium, Garden, Private beach and wide panoramic terraces set on various levels from which to enjoy the beauty of the Sorrento Coast.All areas of the hotel have centralised air conditioning and heating. Wi-Fi access is completely free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Riviera Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing