We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Europa Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #66 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is beautifully carved into the cliffs of Sorento looking out onto the Bay of Naples. The room was fairly basic but the view was not to be believed. There were very spacious but underused common areas including a large meeting/dining room and a huge bar that never had anyone in it.. The outdoor terrace was lovely. On the downside, this place has a lot of rules ... a whole lot of rules! If you go to the pool or beach they will hit you up for 2 euro for a towel and a stupid bathing cap that they insist you wear. If you leave the towels at the pool or in your room within eyeshot of the maids, the hotel will seize your towels and happily charge you another 2 euro the next day for a new towel and cap. The pool attendants seemed much more interested in texting on their phones than on doing much else. They have a restaurant but it is lit up like an operating room so I had much interest in dining there. And don't even think of bring a glass of your own wine or so much as a cracker out onto the terrace or into any public area ... They will swat you like a bug!!!
They were able to arrange very nice transportation to and from Naples train station which I would highly recommend. I would also recommend the rooms located on the levels below the lobby as they were larger but (at least according to my traveling companions) were priced the same as the higher levels and had the same view). Our room and the others that I saw had small balconies (and by small I mean bring butter!) with the very cheapest of plastic furniture. Plenty of mildew in bathrooms and deferred maintenance.

Really, my only issues with this hotel were the myriad of rules and their very unsubtle way of squeezing every euro out of every visitor.

Room Tip: See above description
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rdriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Europa Palace Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

We had a fabulous room with a sea view right on the cliff edge and with a superb view across the Bay of Naples and over Mt Vesuvius. Food was very good and breakfast on the superb terrace was a fantastic setting. A memorable stay. The only negative was when wedding parties made the terrace or main restaurant out of bounds - three times in one week!

The lift through the cliff to the pool was fun... It opened into a dark cave. Spooky :-)

Would we go back... YES!

Room Tip: Sea view on the lower ground floor? Amazing views and no noise except for the anchor chain of the o...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pjthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The hotel has a great location walking distance from the center of Sorrento and facing the bay, with a terrace overviewing the sea. The breakfast is good and very pleasant outside under the pergola.
The room was big but everything is outdated : I had to complain about 4 problems in the bathroom like shower door falling ... As mentioned by others, rules at the pool are ridiculous, including a mandatory cap that they charge for 2 euros.
Biggest problem : the rooms on the street side are VERY noisy, as trucks and buses activity starts at 5 am.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JARAWAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Europa Palace is a really lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff (particularly in the reception area). It is in a fantastic location being only a few minutes away from Sorrento town centre as well as the bus and train stations. Our room was very spacious and 'in keeping' with the traditional feel of the hotel. Perhaps the bathroom was a bit dated but it was certainly clean and functional. The maid service was excellent - fresh towels were delivered twice a day! The public areas and pool are simply stunning. We particularly enjoyed spending quality time at the 'jetty' and having a dip in the Bay of Naples. We were escorted to our sunbeds by a member of staff and provided with towels and a parasol if desired. Unfortunatley, on some days when the Bay water is very calm it can become a little mucky athough it didn't really put most people off swimming in it. However if this is a problem there is the alternative option of the pristine pool to enjoy. Although there are strict hygiene regulations in the pool this is understandable as it would be easy to take a dip in the Bay and then go straight into the pool thus defeating the purpose of providing a cleaner swimming alternative! Both the pool and jetty are very close to Sorrento's harbour which can be a noisy and 'guffy' with fumes from time to time; however, Sorrento is a busy and lively town so some air and noise pollution is to be expected. The main negative for us was the very disappointing breakfast. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - yes it was expensive but we feel worth it for the service and facilities provided.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carnoustiecamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Outdated bathrooms. Ridiculous rules at the pool (including a mandatory swim cap). Average food. With one or two exceptions, the staff never smiles. Most disappointing...the hotel hosts weddings and special events on the weekends. Guests are pushed from the terrace dining area to a back room for diner. Expelled from a relaxing evening on the terrace too....while live music explodes until midnight. The hotel management did nothing to address the issue...completely ignored complaints! Spend your money somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The location is terrific and the view is beautiful but the quality for the price is poor. The rooms are small and dated, not modern or refurbished. We were upgraded to wonderful balcony views but could hardly fit in the room and considering the price it was only average. I think there are a few other hotels right on the water with better facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamancino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel that is located in the heart of Sorrento. It was easy to walk to shopping and restaurants. We had a large corner room on the second floor with three small balconies with a lovely view of the sea! Helpful, friendly staff! I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msjlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Palace Grand Hotel

Address: Via Correale 34/36, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £157 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Palace Grand Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento, behind Lauro square and just 5 minutes walking from the main square of Sorrento: Tasso square. With a panoramic pool overlooking the Gulf of Naples and private beach access, the Europa Palace is an excellent location for banquets and wedding parties. Bar, a la carte restaurant and a snack bar by the swimming pool complete the hotel's offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Palace Grand Sorrento
Hotel Europa Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing