We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location with the charm of the 'good old days' But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #59 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing location with the charm of the 'good old days' But...”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We decided, in a beautiful city, like Sorrento, we have to stay at a Hotel with a tradition like the 'Europa Palace'.
It's located at seafront and you are very close to all. We came by our own car and appreciated that they offer free parking for their guests.
The hotel interior is charming and typically italian. The staff was friendly and helpful.
We had a seafront room with a amazing view to Naples and the Vesuvius.
The room itself was quiet at night, but a little disappointing, because the beds were very small and there was only one warm blanket for two beds! The bathroom was in a bad condition, because it was not clean! This should not happen in a "Grand Hotel".
From other guests we heard, that the street facing rooms are very noisy.
Breakfast was okay, but not a great thing (which is typically in Italy)
After all, it is a beautiful hotel at a wonderful location in the marvelous city of Sorrento at the amazing Amalficoast with a little patina...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toniedorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    201
    92
    55
    35
See reviews for
128
369
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Room 204 offered us a spectacular vista over the Bay of Naples with Mount Vesuvius brooding on the horizon.The understated elegance of the hotel can be seen in the photographs on the web site.Our only problems were a) the unsoundproofed door that linked up our bedroom to the one adjacent and b) we were accustomed to slightly softer beds.

Proximity to the main tourist areas and main square 5 - 10 minute gentle walk. Bathing in the pool and sun areas were a real treat. An outstanding feature, and a huge credit to the hotel, was the excellent service and manner of all staff we met, whatever the hour and location.

We would stay again.

David and Cheryl Meggitt

Room Tip: Seeking a sea facing view is worth the premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMeggitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

We were not expecting a hotel like this!!! Right by the ocean with a swimming pool, and a ocean swimming area!!! Wow, also Buffett breakfasts and huge dinners with very friendly staff and the option of a salad bar for special diets!! Wow, great surprise! My only dislike was getting to the swimming spots! Very dingy lifts, and then the freezing tunnel with a slippery clay floor. Sure it may the only way there but they could make it a bit more snazzy!!
Great hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx
Level Contributor
200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel was very comfortable its a great place to stay while visiting Sorrento. The views from the deck are spectacular. There is an elevator that takes you down through the mountain and out to the ocean. There is a long pier for sun bathing and swimming with a service bar.One flight up is a spectacular salt pool with cabanas and full bar service. The pool area was well maintained and very clean. The main Bar Area is huge and very well appointed. The Bartender Antonio made me feel welcome and comfortable and he serviced the inside bar as well as the outside deck area. The room was very comfortable and was decorated very nice. The bathroom was small very tight. The room had a small balcony that you could step out to that faced the main road. The location is a small stroll to the main square where there are many shops and restaurants. The Hotel restaurant provided great food and great service.

Room Tip: If the airconditioning is not on dont stay in a room that faces the main road as the noise is anoyin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My daughter and I just returned from a four night break in Sorrento where we stayed at the Europa Palace, and oh how it did NOT live up to it's name.

To start on a positive note, contrary to other reviews we found all the staff to be very polite and friendly, and the location is excellent. Very easy to get to from the train station (this is where the bus goes to and from Naples airport and where you get the train to Pompei) and the hotel is a short walk down the station steps, straight down the road and through a small square. You can also be in the town centre in 2-3 minutes. The rear of the hotel is fabulous, with amazing views of Mt Vesuvius and the bay from the immaculately kept large terraces. The ground floor and public areas of the main hotel are also beautiful but sadly this is where the splendour stops as the bedrooms lead you to believe they have suddenly transported you from a 4 star hotel to a 2.

When we booked, we couldn't justify the extra cost for a sea view room so opted for a 'garden view', thinking that this might actually be nicer and more peaceful (a quiet balcony overlooking well manicured lawns and lemon trees was what we had imagined). This couldn't have been further from the reality - the 'garden' consisted of a few small squares of grass for public use, behind which was a very noisy square where live bands murdered well known songs, and beside which was a bus station, All this was separated from the hotel by an incredibly noisy main road, and visions of evenings on the balcony with a glass or two of limoncello evaporated the moment we realised we couldn't even hear ourselves speak. Luckily it turned out the live music was only on the first night as it was a bank holiday, but unfortunately the cars, lorries, scooters and incessant horns had to endured for the duration. As the air-con didn't work either and we had to have the doors open, we asked to move to a sea view room (at this point I would've gladly paid the extra for some peace and quiet) but apparently there was nothing else available and the air-con doesn't get switched on till June anyway. It was 29C - surely hot enough for air-con?? At least we had ear plugs which turned out to be an absolute god-send as without them I don't think we'd have slept at all.

The room itself was ok, a good size with two single beds pushed together (a bit lumpy but generally comfortable enough), a dressing table and a couple of chairs. There was an old fashioned TV which had a news channel in English but it wasn't English news. Then into the bathroom - oh dear oh dear..... This didn't look like it had be re-done since the 60's with its disgusting tiles (covered in filler) and ancient shower cubicle with very worn enamel that was so tiny you couldn't lift your arms to wash your hair without bashing your elbows on the walls. There was no shelf for toiletries in the shower either so retrieving them from the floor could only be done by opening the door as there wasn't enough space to bend down. The extractor fan didn't work but this wasn't really a problem so we didn't mention it. However, the day before we were due to leave, we returned to the room mid morning as I was feeling very unwell, only to find two workmen in the bathroom installing a new fan, so we were very unhappy that we had not been informed about this. Why this hadn't been done either before we arrived, or the next day when we left, we weren't quite sure.

We only ate breakfast twice in the hotel - poor quality with stale bread, tinned fruit salad, dreadful coffee and the cheapest most disgusting fruit juice I've ever tasted, despite fresh fruit growing in abundance around the area. We ordered room service on the night before we left due to feeling too unwell to go out, so ordered sandwiches thinking they couldn't get that too wrong, but this turned out to be another disgusting offering that went un-eaten. If you're going to stay here, I would recommend taking a no-food option if that's available as you are so close to the town where the food is lovely. I know this is meant to be a hotel review but would particularly like to recommend La Lanterna, which is one of the first restaurants you come to when you get into the narrow streets off the square and down a little alleyway. It was slightly pricier than some of the others but in our opinion well worth a little bit extra for amazing food and wonderfully friendly and helpful waiters.

Overall, very disappointed, it was ludicrously expensive for what it was and there wasn't even any free wifi. Luckily, being happy to spend most of the time out and about in Sorrento meant we didn't have to spend much time in the hotel, and if you haven't already booked, I suggest you keep searching!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a sea view but check whether they also get upgraded bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The service was fantastic, the room was large although the bed was a little hard. We were lucky enough to get a room with a partial view of the water from our balcony which was a beautiful way to start the day. All in all I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I was a little skeptic having read some negative reviews but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located a five minute walk from central sorrenta, where all the restaurants and entertainment is located. Our room was small but cleaned, the hotel was very lovely especially the eating area overlooking the deck and the bay. We were adventurous and spent some time sunbathing on the dock, very different but amusing. The pool was nice and clean but beware you must wear a bathing cap at all times. The employees at the front desk had a little bit of an attitude not always willing to help out and I had some trouble with the wi-fi. Sorrento is a great place to visit, I felt very safe and enjoyed the long strolls around town. The ferry for capri is located five minutes away from the hotel. I would highly recommend Sorrento and the Europa Palace. Very good price for what you get.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Bay are very lovely, the ones facing the bus terminal get a little loud at tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank store7008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Palace Grand Hotel

Property: Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Address: Via Correale 34/36, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Palace Grand Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento, behind Lauro square and just 5 minutes walking from the main square of Sorrento: Tasso square. With a panoramic pool overlooking the Gulf of Naples and private beach access, the Europa Palace is an excellent location for banquets and wedding parties. Bar, a la carte restaurant and a snack bar by the swimming pool complete the hotel's offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Palace Grand Sorrento
Hotel Europa Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing