We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea view a must!! Food poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We chose to stay here as it was an option offered by Riviera Travel on a tour of Sorrento and Amalfi coast.

The hotel is a throwback to the 50's opulence of grand rooms, high ceilings and marble everywhere; now somewhat dated but none the worse for that. Excellent terrace balcony for evening drinks and wonderful view of the bay, Vesuvius and twinkling lights of Naples. The room we had was fine with large bathroom and sea view with balcony which was fantastic and contributed to great memories of this holiday.

However, there's a but!! We are not by any means gourmets or food snobs but thought the food was not very good. Don't think we were in a minority although one couple thought it was ok. We assumed that the tour operators drive down prices with the hotels and, as a consequence, the only way they can recoup some money is by cutting back on food.

Breakfast was acceptable with the usual buffet things. However, evening meals were barely acceptable. Limited selection of starters which included fruit juice, 2 types of pasta + ano. Main courses were somewhat flattered by their description and the portions were very small. The 'breast of chicken' was 1 very thin slice and the pork escalope likewise tiny. I thought that a 'folded pizza' (I assumed a Calzone a la Pizza Express) would be a safe bet but turned out to be three very small (buffet size) portions of pizza + veg. I ended up resorting to the 'always an option' omelette but this was only average and the choices limited and unimaginative (e.g. Potato or spring onion omelette). However, the sweet trolley was usually very good and the head waiters very pleasant and friendly.

One head bar man in the lounge was very good but the other was grumpy and the waiting staff a bit inexperienced. However, they were pleased to bring our drinks out onto the balcony accompanied by nibbles.

Another plus point is the lift down to their private quay and swimming pool and only regret that the demands of the tour meant we didn't take full advantage of this.

To summarise, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it but with the caveat about the food. However, we did overhear another couple complaining vigorously about the standard of their room. If we were going to do it again, I think we would choose to eat out in Sorrento which is just round the corner. Again, for us, no point in staying in Sorrento without a commanding view of the bay!

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Badgerisimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed in a room overlooking the town's coach park, and a small green park. This was not an unpleasant room -and the outlook wasn't bad. The bathroom was rather dated, and when we used the taps on the bath, basin and bidet the water was dirty with black bits in it. We reported this to Reception and they tried to clear the problem, but admitted that the plumbing in the room was old.At our request we were put in another room, but the problem was in that room too. However, this was a comfortable hotel, the food(half board) was good and plentiful. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient. The terrace overlooking the Bay of Naples is absolutely lovely. This hotel is very convenient for the train and bus station and for the centre of Sorrento.

Room Tip: The best view, and quieter rooms, overlook the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Europa Palace Grand hotel is perfectly located near the train station and near the center of town (5 minute walk for each). Do yourself a favor, upgrade the room to a sea view, you won't regret it. We were in a large room with a double balcony. Our view looked across the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvious. The room had all the amenities you could want. All around this hotel, from the dining area to the large outdoor patio, to the swimming pool and dock, the views are breath taking. The staff was not only friendly, they went out of their way to make you feel important and help with any questions or travel arrangements. Gayah and Antonino at the reception desk handled all our needs expertly and efficiently. The restaurant manager, Salvatore, went out of his way to make us comfortable and ensure we were happy with our meals (the food at the hotel is excellent by the way) and service. Antonio, the bartender, is very courteous, speaks good English, and gives great recommendations on the local wine. We could not have had a better experience. Sorrento is a beautiful place and the perfect location to stay as you travel and explore the Naples/Isle of Capri/Amalfi Coast area. We will return and will definitely stay again at the Europa Palace Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

wonderful setting for hotel. grand views of coast and Vesuvius. room big but bathroom small with no shelve in shower for shampoos, etc. lovely having clean towels twice daily. very comfortable bed with enough extra pillows and blankets if needed.

dining room lovely. head waiter very friendly as with all his staff especially JP and Angela with their generous helpings of desserts!!! grand view of coast from here. menu varied and delicious.

Antonio at the bar is fabulous. missed him when he was on day off. replacement keen but not good with English so not as jokey.

good location for shops, restaurants, etc.

will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60girl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here on second leg of a Great Railways journey, single occupancy rooms were downright awful, most uncomfortable bed, appaling air con (non exisitant) small pokey room, appaling staff with little or no customer service skills! Very rude most of the time and felt that we were inconvieniencing them, charged to wear their silly hats when swimming in the pool, which was freezing! Never met such a grumpy miserable rude amount of staff, odd exception of a bar man! place is dire need of a makeover, its very dated, has its own beauty but need attention, stunning terrace and lovely views, could be such a nice hotel, but I wouldnt stay there again! Wasnt busy in restaurant ever yet all rooms were full apparently! Sorrento itself is stunning but word of advice, book aniother hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spuffy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We first visited Sorrento on a coach tour. Never again! We spotted the Europa Palace while there and booked it for our next (independent) visit. It is old world Italian luxe with cool floors, high ceilings in large rooms and a balcony with views down to the Marina Grande and right around the Bay of Naples (including Vesuvius). Staff were efficient and very friendly as well as being fluent English speakers. Breakfast was still outdoors when we were there and very good.
Two minute walk from the centre of town and from the station, so could not be more convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I had a weeks honeymoon in this beautiful hotel. On arrival we walked out onto the outside area over looking the bay of naples I cried as I was met with such a stunning view it was breathtaking. The decor of the hotel iis of traditional Italian design with grand antique style furniture, simply beautiful. The pier holds a good amount of sunbathing beds which offer a relaxed feel, alllowing you to watch the many boats coming and going. The bar on the pier is handy but expensive for a beer. The room we had was fairly small but well decorated, we requested a sea view room as this was a special occasion,our agent did not have the facility for us to reserve, so we both emailed to request this, unfortuantley this did not happen. We also requested a balcony, we did have outside space, which was shared, we was hoping to have our own private one. The restaurant was nice with welcoming staff, the food was good but missed the Italian simplicity. My husband and I found the restaurant to seriously lack a relaxing atmosphere, it was very quite and full of people a lot older then ourselves, after a couple of nights dining we felt that we could not face another evening so we ventured out into Sorrento town in the evenings. 5 minute walk from the hotel, fantastic atmosphere, beautiful smelling ingredients everywhere, we found some great eating places.

The bar man at the hotel was very friendly and made sure that we were always served and would bring us our drinks out on the patio. The restaurant staff appeared to give the people staying in the more expensive rooms/suites extra special attention! The breakfast was served on the outside patio area which was simply stunning, what a view. Breakfast was a buffet style with home made breads, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, the cooked breakfast did not look as nice.

We would definately return to this beautiful location Sorrento is truly magical.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,151 reviews
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,246 reviews
Vomero
Your bed
Your bed
#283 of 776 in Naples
18 reviews
Vomero
B&B Floridiana
B&B Floridiana
#67 of 776 in Naples
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Palace Grand Hotel

Address: Via Correale 34/36, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £132 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Palace Grand Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento, behind Lauro square and just 5 minutes walking from the main square of Sorrento: Tasso square. With a panoramic pool overlooking the Gulf of Naples and private beach access, the Europa Palace is an excellent location for banquets and wedding parties. Bar, a la carte restaurant and a snack bar by the swimming pool complete the hotel's offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Palace Grand Sorrento
Hotel Europa Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing