We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #66 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and what a hotel to go to. The hotel was stunning, excellent décor, great food, great staff, fantastic views over the Bay of Naples and a great location.
We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Make sure that you request a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is wonderfully decadent with history and beautiful antiques around every corner.
The staff are truly amazing and work long hours and incredibly hard to make your stay a memorableone.
The food is traditionally italian with a bit of flair and if you are unhappy with the menu they are only too willing to offer an alternative I truly can say there was not a bad dish on the menu all week .
Special mention to Loredana the reservation manager who was amazing and helped to make our stay a special one.
The views are to die for from every vista and the bathing platform is a perfect spot to enjoy the weather and views of the dor renting peninsula ,Naples and Vesuvius.
A special mention to Salvatore the maître de ,all his tremendous waiting staff are formal and friendly and are always attentive but not pushy and we would go as far as to say out of several hotels we have stayed in in Sorrento all of which were brilliant in there own right the Grand Hotel Europa Palace eclipses them all
Please go there you will not be disappointed

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Hagues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel, very clean, excellent facilities, helpful staff and good restaurant.
This is hotel is just what my boyfriend and I were looking for.
One of the oldest hotels in Sorrento, it gives you a true picture of Italy, through food , decor and ambience.
Do not stay at this hotel if you want pizza and chips, they don't serve it !
The food served was delicious, with rabbit fricassee, veal and duck with mango on the menu.
Do not stay at this hotel if you have young children, as I don't think linen tablecloths and a pianist whilst dining make it child friendly. The bathing platform and swimming pool are also not suitable for children, as could be dangerous, especially with steep steps leading down to these areas.
We loved this hotel with it's amazing history , views , food and old splendour !
Our room was beautiful, views amazing, and would definately stay again !

Stay at this hotel if you want decadence, history, splendid views

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor terrace as opposed to a french balcony, with a view of Vesuvius. AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sultrylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wow! What a spectacular hotel. Views were outstanding. Situated just round the corner from the main square of Sorrento and only a few minutes walk to the bus and train station. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived early but the hotel staff were quick to get us in to the room as soon as it was cleaned. The room was very spacious and air conditioned. The bathroom was well equipped but could do with updating. A couple of other guests also weren't to happy with the quality of the bathrooms. My mother and I had a garden room view and were fortunate enough to also have a sea view which was a bonus. Breakfast was very nice, and could be enjoyed on the outside terrace with glorious views. Will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Garden room views are fantastic as the sea can still be viewed from the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I travelled to Italy for our honeymoon and absolutely loved this hotel. It is gorgeous, and the private beach is great. Very clean hotel, great breakfasts on the breath taking terrace. For our first 2 nights, we did however stay in a standard room with a city view that had a very small shower (difficult to fit in and we are not big people), and the bed was very uncomfortable. Our travel agent spoke to the hotel on our behalf and advised that we were on our honeymoon so they gave us a free upgrade to the deluxe suite which included a living room, 2 bathrooms, and 4 balconies overlooking the sea!! I would definetly recommend this hotel and intend on returning one day. Worth the money!! Other hotels in Sorrento looked nice, but this one is right on the water. Loved it!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont stay in a standard room as the bed is uncomfortable and the washrooms are tiny, it is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanlan810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We chose to go with the Europa Palace as the hotel we would stay in when my fiancé and I got married in Sorrento. We went back and forth for ages as to which hotel we would go with and after a while decided on this hotel. We were not disappointed.

The terrace overlooking the bay is exceptional, by far the best place to have breakfast, dinner and sip cocktails throughout the day and evening. Table service is provided all day which makes it an incredible place to relax.

The bedrooms are all pleasant; we saw most variants of the basic room as there were 16 of us in this hotel - they do vary in size somewhat, but even the smallest was a decent size. Some reviews say you should get the sea view rooms - but honestly dont worry. For how much extra they cost, the terrace is so wonderful, why would you want to be stuck on a balcony when you have all the space and ambience of being outside on the terrace.

OK some bits I am sure you want to know which are helpful but arent necessarily mentioned anywhere else...
-The hotel is a 5 min walk from the train & bus station and the town centre. Nicely located that you can be in town very quickly and don't have to lug your bags very far but quiet enough that you dont get too much noise.
- Wifi is free!
- There are hair dryers in the rooms but if you have either very long or very thick hair you may struggle as they are not massively powerful.
- There aren't too many plug sockets in the rooms but you can manage.
- Drinks in the hotel are no more expensive than in town.
- The double rooms are two single beds put together but you wouldnt necessarily know as they manage to make them mould into one big bed!
- There is a massage therapist in the hotel and her prices are very reasonable and does good massages.
- Free safes in every room. The key is given to you on arrival
- Men must wear trousers for dinner, however, jeans are accepted.
-You have to wear swim hats in the pool, although you can buy these from the pool for 80 cents.
- The swimming pool is filled with sea water, however, the access from the jetty into the sea is so nice, it is a shame not to swim in the sea (one side of the jetty is stony and one side is sandy)

Hope this is some help to you. You will be missing out if you dont stay in this beautiful, traditional Italian hotel. The decor is lovely, the staff are simply superb - every single one of them made us feel like family, and the hotel is very safe with good security ensuring that only guests are allowed on site (visitors can come into the hotel, they just have to be met in reception)
Dont miss out on it for another hotel, you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room on the first floor - they have access to a large terrace that the other f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank victoriamason86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This Hotel has a Charm all of its own and if you are lucky to get sea view rooms then be prepared to be stunned by the view across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. The rooms are very spacious and very clean with tall ceilings, the beds very large and comfortable. We found the staff extremely polite and helpful, especially after I had a fall and badly cut my face and arm in the road not far from the hotel and first aid I received from the staff and the concern shown was second to none. and again later in the week when they arranged for my wife to receive emergency dental treatment due to her having an abscess under a tooth. We found the food to be of a high standard and if anything on the menu was not to your liking they were willing to cook you something else. The Restaurant was large and spacious with excellent views over the bay but most meals due to the excellent weather we had were eaten on the terrace again with superb views, should you so desire there are plenty of comfortable armchairs and sofas in other areas in which to relax.
The pool area is clean and tidy with a lot of available sun beds with a snack bar also available, but be prepared for the 290 steps up and down if you are allergic to small lifts.

Room Tip: Well worth paying for sea view we had 206 and 207 which looks across the Bay of Naples and Vesuviu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Woody009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorrento
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,151 reviews
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,245 reviews
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
Vomero
Your bed
Your bed
#259 of 761 in Naples
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Palace Grand Hotel

Address: Via Correale 34/36, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £139 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Palace Grand Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento, behind Lauro square and just 5 minutes walking from the main square of Sorrento: Tasso square. With a panoramic pool overlooking the Gulf of Naples and private beach access, the Europa Palace is an excellent location for banquets and wedding parties. Bar, a la carte restaurant and a snack bar by the swimming pool complete the hotel's offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Palace Grand Sorrento
Hotel Europa Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing