We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grand hotel with beautiful views in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Ranked #61 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely grand hotel with beautiful views in great location”
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Have just returned from one week stay at the Europa Palace Grand Hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel grand in old-fashioned Italian way, lots of marble and heavily patterned furniture but all recently updated. Vernada is nice with lovely views but new furniture needs some cushions...bit hard to sit on. We had a rennovated room overlooking the sea with small balcony, just about seats two facing each other but views lovely in both directions. Bathroom was huge and updated but no shower curtain and no visible extractor fan. Both room and bathroom spotlessly clean. I did not like taking the lift down through the cliffside and then a long walk through a tunnel to get to the pool, we only checked it out once and decided not to go again. Shame the pool is not at hotel level like the Royal next door. However, the hotel is in a great location. Five minutes walk to main bus station and six minutes into centre of town which is full of cafes, great shops and restaurants. Complaints? - not really, only that breakfast was pretty basic, poor selection of fruit and breads, coffee cold most mornings oh, and my husband kept tripping down the step at entrance of the hotel leading into main lobby!. Apart from that we had a lovely holiday and would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssternberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    212
    100
    58
    39
See reviews for
139
389
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Such a disappointing hotel. It must once have been a very grand and fine place to stay but no longer. The hotel seems to run as two businesses - a successful wedding and function side using the impressive reception rooms on the ground floor and what must be a failing hotel on the upper floors using completely outdated bedrooms and awful bathrooms - no showers except some hand held ones attached to the bath taps and the baths are so old there is no enamel left on them, the plumbing needs replacing. The airconditioning is inadequate and as mosquitos can be a problem sleeping with the windows closed is essential. So the rooms are not that comfortable and not in-keeping with the grandeur on the lower floors. The staff are friendly and helpful but the hotel needs massive investment to bring it up to standard. The breakfast was awful too - small and poor selection, horrible fruit juices from cans or concentrate - how this can be needed when the area grows such an abundance of citrus fruit everywhere you look - cereals seemed stale, pastries and croissants not fresh either. Plenty of other hotels in Sorrento so look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We went to the Grand Palace Hotel in Sorrento based on reviews on Tripadviser.
We were not disappointed. The hotel is one of the best we have stayed in. Evening meals were excellent and breakfasts had everything on offer. Rooms were spacious and kept clean. The staff were very polite and helpful. The position of the hotel is ideal for the train, shops and faces the sea! Everybody that we talked to were very pleased with the hotel and said that they would return......and so are we!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We stayed here for a night as part of our honeymoon and we had a beautiful suite with a bathroom (two actually!!) that opened up to a view of the ciffs and the sea. Stunning views and really spacious. The staff made us feel very special as honeymooners and were really friendly and helpful and attentive. It was a shame that it was the off season and the pool was closed, but still it had a traditional charm and style that was warm and elegant. Great location too, and only a 5 minute walk across the park to the station or 5 mins the other way to all the bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHoneymoon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We had a room at the back with lots of street noise...bad sound proofing. Plumbing is ancient, shower is a disaster. Dining room and terrace are lovely with superb views. Bar prices are high at 4 euros for local beer. Breakfast was excellent, with a seductive head waitress who leaned on men's shoulders while offering "You like dopple espresso? Wakea you up?" in a deep alto voice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logimorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Just returned from sorrento. Spent three nights there booked directly with hotel superior double sea view room. Hotel is elegant, but rooms are very DATED. no shower stall, no curtain in tub. No heat or a/c. view is good but definately not worth Euro 170. breakfast hit and miss. Lobby of hotel is nice, spend a little more and stay next door at the Royal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bauru, São Paulo, Brasil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed two nights. Coming from Circunvesuviana station, just walk a block and across the square you will get the Hotel. Splendid view and very helpful staff. Room was clean. Great breakfast. Do not miss a sun bath at the beach - Stairway to (heaven) sea. And at night, walk to downtown to take some sicilian lemmon ice cream.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mft75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,528 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Palace Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Palace Grand Hotel

Property: Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Address: Via Correale 34/36, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Palace Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europa Palace Grand Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento, behind Lauro square and just 5 minutes walking from the main square of Sorrento: Tasso square. With a panoramic pool overlooking the Gulf of Naples and private beach access, the Europa Palace is an excellent location for banquets and wedding parties. Bar, a la carte restaurant and a snack bar by the swimming pool complete the hotel's offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Europa Palace Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Palace Grand Sorrento
Hotel Europa Palace Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing