We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay At Hoel Del Mare”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay At Hoel Del Mare”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is a small boutique hotel but big on customer service and very clean, I would certainly go back actually I'm planning a trip for next year. Great location close to shopping, restaurants and on the Grande Marina in Sorrento......just fabulous I certainly recommend it and fairly price good value for your dollar.

Room Tip: Could have better signage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franca49_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    262
    58
    23
    9
See reviews for
173
347
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel rooms were so clean and private balconies were of a good size. Staff were friendly, especially at breakfast as they were very helpful and offered the best advice with how to get places & which were the best places to see during the day. We found that the roof terrace was rarely used by guests also so if you're looking for a quiet place to sunbathe then this is perfect. If you do stay here, the hotel offer a boat trip to Capri. It may seem a bit pricey but it's well worth the money as you're not on a packed ferry with others and the boat is beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony, I think this was a better size than the sea view rooms possibly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ios, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was a great choice for us in Sorrento. The room had plenty of natural light during the day but had an electric blind that completely blocked out any light when we wanted to sleep. The room was clean and comfortable. We even had washing facilities and a washing line at our disposal, which was brilliant after 5 weeks of travel. The staff were helpful, particularly the manager, and organized some great day trips for us. The bathroom and shower is a bit bizarre, but otherwise we were happy with our stay. We could walk down (1 minute) to some nice, reasonably priced restaurants and also to the beach

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is a really nice hotel in excellent location, being just around the corner from the Marina Grande beach and bus stop, if you cannot walk up the hill to the town. The staff are superb and cannot do enough for you. Breakfast in the cellar room was far better than we expected.Nice seating area outside to enjoy a drink from the bar, which is just inside the front door, although by the road there is not much traffic.Fantastic restaurants in Sorrento, which is a lovely place, although very busy when we visited in September.The Currei bus is the cheapest way to get from Naples airport with ease, goes from outside the airport to Sorrento station.A really great few days and would definately go back, and would stay at the Hotel del Mare.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloryhornetboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly, the breakfast was tasty and filling and the room itself was spotless and very comforable.
We really liked the location as the hotel is tucked away near the fishing harbour so it was a quiet area with a number of well-priced restaurants a short stroll away. We loved Trattoria Emilia for their pasta dishes and the friendly staff and also ate at Taverna Azzurra da Gennaro which had great seafood.
There is a steep climb up steps to the main town, but we soon got used to it and it wasn't an issue for us.
We had a family room on the top floor which had a large king bed and two bunks for the kids. The bathroom had a shower, toilet and bidet and plenty of fluffy towels! We had a beautiful view of the harbour from our room and could make use of the sun terrace in the evening when the children were in bed right next door.
If I return to Sorrento, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top two floors overlooking the harbour for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artteachermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We went to Sorrento for a wedding. Much of the wedding party stayed in a grander hotel on the main road, though it was stunning our hotel was great value for money compared to the competition. It was fine for us but only negative was walking up the hill could be tough if not used to walking, however only 10 minutes up to town. Great for a quick stay, keeping it cheap and still seeing the sights of gorgeous sorrento!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boardman, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Del Mare for 3 days in early May, the place is beautiful the staff was very professional. We stayed in hotels in Paris and in Rome and this little place in Sorrento was by far the best. Great breakfast, everything you could want to start the day. Short walk down to the bay and more restaurants and a nice hike up to the town center with a beautiful view on the way up. I would definitly come back again and recommend this great hotel to anyone who was visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
472 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
1,721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Property: Hotel del Mare
Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing