We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in cozy Marina Grande” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in cozy Marina Grande”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I really liked this hotel. While the room was OK, I especially liked the location. We had room 106, on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the street. The room was quiet even though it was near the street. The room was small, reasonably priced, immaculate, and well furnished. The breakfast was good. They had the best croissants and pastries of the four hotels we stayed at during our two week trip to Italy. The hotel is one short block away from the beach in the Marina Grande area of Sorrento. My 10 year old daughter went swimming every evening after sightseeing. The water was clean, very different from Jones Beach, NY.
The Marina Grande is a 20 min hike up to the main town. If you like lots of tourist shops, then don't stay here. If you want to stay in a quaint Italian village where Italians come to vacation, then this is the place to stay. There are two great restaurants nearby, the Ristorante Bagni Delfino and Trattoria da Emilia, both on docks overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    250
    56
    23
    9
See reviews for
162
331
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

What a great location for a family holiday, 2 mins from the beach. I could not say anything bad about this hotel. The breakfast was excellent, rooms sooooo clean and comfortable.Ideal actually. It was very hot in July but because of the lovely breeze on the beach in Marina Grande, it saved us.

Room Tip: A sea view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammarsella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend in May, we loved the hotel. Rooms are compact but spotless and comfortable and its in a great location, just minutes from Marina Grande and some lovely restaurants, Its been said before but we found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. I emailed in advance to ask for all our rooms to be close together which they sorted no problem. Breakfast has to be one of the best I have experienced in a hotel of this class, it was fresh, varied and consistantly excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a good base to explore this lovely area. The manager obviously takes a keen interest in the satisfaction of his guests and I personally think he is doing a great job. would definitely return and if you are thinking of booking, go for it!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook a quiet road and get the sun in the AM - these are without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelfoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The Hotel Del Mare is an excellent small hotel with friendly, helpful staff. It is clean and although the rooms are slightly small they are immaculately maintained and cleaned daily. There is a good sun roof with loungers and shades and the hotel is 50 yards from the public beach and several good fish restaurants. Try the hotel trip to Capri on their own boat, with swimming and snorkelling, a great day out. The staff are also willing to book other outings on your behalf. The breakfast area is well presented and managed with great attention to customer service. In short this is one of the best small hotels I have stayed in. Air conditioning included.
The only slight drawback is that it is a long uphill walk to the main centre of Sorrento but there are regular and cheap bus services and taxis.

Room Tip: Sea views are over the roof of the properties in front . Rooms at the back have a balcony but no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel is located near the beach of Grande Marina, it is very charming. Staff is very gentle and friendly. But our room, for 100 euros by night for a couple, was too small, no any place more with a double bed, and the window is not really a real window because it was a view on a other flat just in front of.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Nice family run hotel for people on a budget, the rooms are a bit on the small side but kept very clean and tidy and when we had a problem with our shower windows falling out and smashing (for some on unknow reason!) they moved us to another room with to much fuss.
The hotel is very near to the beach (few minutes away) and lots of nice restaurants on the seafront also a shop to get stuff like milk etc if like us, you bring your own kettle for a cup of rosy lea!
If you won't to go up to the town it is a bit of a track about 15 mins up a load of steps, but there is a regular bus service on the seafront more or less in front of the Del mare, the town it self is very lively with lots of places to eat shops etc.
Went over for wedding fourmost (which was fantastic) but also had a very enjoyable stay at the del mare the staff were very friendly and helpful and breakest was not to bad ether, for the price we payed we were more then happy with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djdelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

My mother, daughter and I were more than pleased with our Sorrento vacation. The beautiful Hotel del Mare and cheerful staff made it an unforgettable experience for us. The location was perfect- quiet, picturesque and surrounded with local culture! We enjoyed our bay view room (very spacious and clean) and sun deck.
Walking to dinner each night was extremely enjoyable. There were so many wonderful options on the beach below us (Marina Grande), just a few seps from the hotel.
One of our favorite experiences was the superb beverage service. We just had to call down to the reception desk and Antonio would be up to the quiet and relaxing sun deck with perseco, snacks and a big smile in no time! One night, we brought pizza in and the gentleman at the desk quickly ran to get us cutlery and plates! We didn't even have to ask. Everyone was so thoughtful and welcoming.
Your breakfast was terrific as well. The choices were abundant and personalized. The wait staff was so friendly and accommodating. Everyone at Hotel del Mare made us feel right at home...5 star service!
Hotel del Mare helped to make my mother's first visit to Italy an exceptional one! We wish we could have stayed longer and look forward to returning with the rest of our family in the future.
(TripAdvisor was instrumental in helping me select this hotel.)
Thank you again to everyone for your incredible hospitality!
Robyn S

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mignon Meuble
Hotel Mignon Meuble
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Property: Hotel del Mare
Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing