We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel del Mare, Sorrento”
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I did not like this hotel. My room was the size of a shoe box. The hair-dryer was totally inefficient. I was met by a sarcastic manager who accused me of trying to beat the banks because I refused to provide my credit card details via email, but instead elected to electronically transfer funds from my bank account in the interests of avoiding Internet fraud. I've no idea why it mattered to him how I paid, as long as I paid. It took 3 visits to Reception on check in to acquire what I needed, ie the keys to both the safe and the fridge. These should have been provided at the time of check in. When I asked for the keys to both safe and fridge and was only given one key, I assumed one key served both purposes - not so, I had to,return to Reception to ask for the fridge key.
The hotel is located on Marina Grande which was nice if you didn't mind the walk uptown to where the action was.
The young female Receptionist was very nice and probably the best thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlene2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at the Hotel del Mare. I wish to apologize for the comment passed on how the hotel bill had been paid, it was a bit of Italian humour that perhaps was misunderstood, for this I apologize. I would also like to apologize for the faulty hairdryer (we are in the process of replacing them), the unfortunate mishap regarding the safe and fridge keys which were not given to you at once, usually this is done automatically. We regret that you did not have sufficient time to enjoy other amenities the hotel has to offer, most comments we receive from our guests are considerably more satisfactory.
On the other hand, we are very pleased to read that you found Marina Grande to your liking and one of our Staff very efficient.
Kind regards
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

We are very happy we chose Hotel del Mare for our trip to Sorrento. A minute away from the beach and from a few great places to eat local fish; the room was big, clean and we loved the painted tiles. Best breakfast we had on Amalfi coast. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: For a few more dollars get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. Together with all my Staff I wish to thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hotel del Mare is charming and immaculate. Marianna was particularly helpful with our booking. The hotel is located a block away from the beach which is a small fishing bay. There are several great restaurants right along the waterfront which is barely 5-minute walk downhill from the front door. You can easily walk to the town center of Sorrento through pathways. There is a parking garage ( price extra) which had ample room. It is a bit difficult to find the hotel even when using a GPS but if you phone, you will soon be there! We had a triple room which was tiny but adequate. One small caution, we had extremely hot weather and because of this, we could smell the local sewage treatment plant when outside, we could not dine at the local restaurants and walked to main town. The breakfast and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chickp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

We are overwhelmed by such an accurate review about the Hotel, Marianna who is one of our first class member of our Staff and the location. We have to apologize for the smell that made it difficult for your to enjoy a fine dinner in one of the waterfront restaurants, it is a serious problem and the Town Council are carefully looking into this. Thank you very much once again and ‘arrivederci’.
Kind regards
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stated here for a week in Aug 2013 and really enjoyed it. It's slightly outside of Sorrento but don't let that put you off, it's only a 10/15 min walk into the main square. Also the hotel is in Marina Grande, a beautiful little port village. The scenery is amazing there and I know that if we hadn't stayed there we would never have gone to Marina Grande. (And we would have seriously missed out) gorgeous views and unbelievable food to be had. Delfino's is a restaurant nearby, delicious but expensive. One of our faves was Bagni St. Anne's, they only serve lunch but it's gorgeous! The hotel itself was clean and tidy, our room was small but had everything we needed. The roof terrace is brilliant, I loved it up there. Plus as there aren't really any beaches in Sorrento (bar a few man made ones that get so crowded its not worth it) the terrace was the perfect place to lie out with a good book and a few drinks from the bar. The breakfast was very good, lots of cereal, breads, hams, cheeses, eggs, yogurts, pastries, fruits, etc. plus the ice cream from Il Monazzero was gorgeous! The staff were very helpful, they printed off our boarding passes and gave us a small bottle of Prosecco as it was my boyfriends birthday! When you go into town eat at Ristorante De Giglio (or something like that!) we went back there 3 or 4 times, so good! And visit Taverna Allegra for a great nights fun! Beautiful food, singing and tambourine playing! Go to Sorrento the scenery is magical and Hotel Del Mare is a fantastic place to stay while you're there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you very much for your accurate report on the Hotel del Mare and Marina Grande, I could have not described it more precisely, also the overall description of the town itself and its amenities will certainly help the would-be holiday maker to choose the right place. Thank you immensely again and arrivederci
Best regards
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I visited Sorrento for a week for our 1st wedding anniversary and stayed at Hotel del Mare in a balcony room. As long as you are up for walking (which, if you're visiting this part of Italy, we assume you are!) then this spot is perfect for you. Clean and friendly hotel located right by the small harbour of Marina Grande and a 15 minute walk into the main town of Sorrento where you can easily catch a bus or train to anywhere you wish to go! The restaurants near to the hotel are fantastic, the views out of this world, and the hotel itself a real bargain given the price. We would recommend for anyone to stay here- breakfast was much better than expected given the price, beer and wine at the bar cheap, and everyone willing and able to help- we'll definitely be back some day!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, your views shared by many other guests that visit Sorrento and our Hotel are greatly appreciated and we are very grateful to you. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us on your next visit, we shall be delighted to welcome you again, in the meantime, arrivederci and
Best regards
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Right on the beach, clean, very friendly! You can't go wrong. Less than 3 minute walk to many wonderful seaside restaurants! Included breakfast is of good quality. Staff is very friendly, knowledgeable. Can't recommend it enough. If I'm back in Sorrento, no question, this is where I'll be staying!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you very much for your overwhelming review, we are very grateful to you. Your recommendation will be of great help to those holidaymakers who are planning to come to this part of the world.
Thank you again and arrivederci to your next visit.
Kind regards
Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Del Mare. The room and hotel were very clean and updated. The family room was small but functional and exactly what we expected. Excellent proximity to the beach and the fishing village Breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Air conditioning worked great! Only ding was having to pay to access the room's mini-fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kindness. We are very grateful to you for such an encouraging review. Regarding the mini fridge, the small deposit is refunded on departure, this procedure was enforced after several guests left without returning the keys.
Thank you again and arrivederci
Kind regards
Gianni Galano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £93 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing